We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming suite in a beautiful setting”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Uninterrupted views from apartment Demelza Cottage, apartment on second floor, situated on quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Uninterrupted views from apartment
Demelza Cottage, apartment on second floor, situated on quiet country lane
A warm welcome awaits you from the owners of Demelza Cottage
View
Lounge
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Meet Demelza Duck and her friends
If you're lucky we may have hatching eggs
Feed the chickens and collect their eggs
Lovely walks nearby
Access via spiral staircase
Dining area
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
View from lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Murza K
Langley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming suite in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family of 4 recently had the pleasure of staying at Demelza Cottage. We immediately all loved the views from every window - the windows themselves are beautiful leaded glass. It was warm and comfortable on the rainy days we had there and not a sound was heard from the family below. The house is fully equipped and we all had plenty of room. The owner is very helpful and let the kids gather eggs and play with the lambs - fun even at 15 & 20! A peaceful farm setting, about an hour's drive to Land's End, so a great base to explore Cornwall and Devon. A car is a must, stairs could be a challenge for some. Hope to visit again :)

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, silence, windows, kitchen, owner
Liked least: Mattress, shower (shower will soon be upgraded as per owner)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2016
Thank you Murza. It was a pleasure to host you at Demelza Cottage and I hope to welcome you back in the future. I'm glad you appreciated the countryside surroundings, the lambs still like to give our guests a noisy welcome!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Cornwall.”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Great accommodation, clean, great views, very quiet.
Spirial staircase a little difficult for mature guests.
Cake was great.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reporterb...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Calm Country Cottage”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I recently stayed with friends at Demelza Cottage and I only wish I'd brought my children. The sheep in the fields belonging to Demelza Cottage had just lambed and the sight of these lambs gambolling up the gently sloping hills that reached to truly spectacular views would have been very much appreciated by my children. There are also chickens and ducks for children to see.

The cottage is clean and spacious and as also mentioned, the views spectacular, the location is certainly tranquil, but with the added advantage of being close to Padstow and Port Isaac. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stylish_1...
woodley
1 review
“Comfortable , homely,”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lovely tidy clean apartment
Not ideal if disabled , as a spiral staircase.
Lovely views. Car a must
Friendly people

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markrS991...
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic rural retreat!”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed at the delightful Demelza Cottage for a weekend, comfy homely, retreat.
Beautiful walks, very central to all areas of Cornwall, The Eden only a short drive.
The Grey's welcome you with open arms and allow you the freedom you'd expect with some guidance on local amenities etc
Will be back!!

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojo1112
Bisham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just home from a fantastic break at demelza cottage.
This is a hidden gem, tucked away in a picturesque hamlet only passing traffic is the occasional tractor.
The apartment was fantastic, clean and warm.
I do advise doing a food shop before you arrive - but there is a co op 10 mins away of needed.
There are ducks and chickens in the gardens and a pony in the field.
The family make you welcome - but the set up also makes you feel you have your own space.
Great location for the Eden project, close to the beaches (own transport is a must) watergate bay is a defiante to visit especially at low tide.
All in all a great few days away with my kids. Will defiantly go back.

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra K
Top of the World, California, United States
1 review
“Peaceful Cornwall”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stuart and Kim made us very welcome. Lovely and peaceful, fantastic views.Need to return to do Eden project.

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing