We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedknobs, Bodmin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hornchurch
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bedknobs, Bodmin”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've stayed at Bedknobs several times now, just for a couple or three days en route to West Cornwall and the quality of our stays has never varied. The house is a lovely old one, slowly being renovated by Gill and Kim as time and guests permit. The rooms are excellent and have all the things travellers expect now (tea and coffee making facilities, small refrigerator with contents at reasonable prices if you wish, etc. Nothing is ever too much trouble and information about the surrounding countryside and beyond is readily available. All the rooms are quiet and peaceful. Breakfasts are excellent and Gill will readily prepare snacks if required. Altogether superlative!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Photofiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
215
32
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This B&B was more than very comfortable. Every detail was considered for a great stay. The whole character of the property is lovingly cared for by the owners who have a great appreciation for the designer William Morris and all things Arts and Craft.
The facilites were some of the best I have come across in a B&B including the white and rose wine chilling in the refridgerator and fresh milk for a cup of tea/coffee.
A very comfortable bed, excellent ensuite and ambient lighting, I can thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moffat269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have just returned home after a lovely few days at Bedknobs. We had a lovely clean comfortable spacious room with a lovely bathroom. The locally made tolitries were fabulous as was the tea/coffee and biscuits. There is a fridge in the room with proper milk left in it, not the disgusting longlife stuff you normally get. It's the little things that make this place and the effort put in by the wonderful hosts Gill and Kim. The house is beautiful and you are made so welcome. We will definantly go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

When working away on business I don't normally stay in B&B's preferring hotels with a restaurant and a bar, however Cornwall in August can get very busy and with no hotels available locally at all I had to look elsewhere. Using Google I found Bedknobs and what a superb find! If you are willing to remove your shoes on entry you will find a supremely clean and tidy B&B. With a personal welcome I was shown to my room, individually decorated, comfy bed and with better facilities found in some top class hotels, big flat screen TV with Freesat, DVD / I pod player (Good selection of DVD's provided to choose from) and fast FREE Wi-Fi along with a mini bar and honesty box. My bathroom whilst not en-suite was private and just across from my room. Excellent shower and if I had had the time a whirlpool bath, with the softest towels ever!
Bedknobs is just a few minutes walk from Bodmin centre with a good selection of restaurants and pubs to choose from, although the walk back is mostly uphill.
Breakfast was very good with a single communal table, not something I would normally look out for but makes a change from the anonymous breakfast tables elsewhere.
Finally for the environmentally friendly amongst you, Electric car charging points are available (not sure on the cost) as well as other energy and environmental saving ideas.
Whilst the B&B is probably more suited to couples, next time when I'm in the area, if rooms are available I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halle1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a fantastic week in Conwall using Bedknobs as our base. We left the car at home and travelled around by train, bus and on foot along the Camel Trail. Gill and Kim made us so welcome even collecting and returning us to Bodmin Parkway Station. Our room, Beeches, was lovely with a really comfortable bed and super bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast, served by Basil (Kim) and prepared by Gill was delicious. I can recommend the porridge ! I liked the idea of everyone sitting at the large table for breakfast. It got us all talking and sharing experiences of places we'd visited . Kim and Gill were a fount of local knowledge and made suggestions about places to eat locally and places to visit.The house itself was a really interesting place, beautifully furnished, and Kim enjoyed telling us all about it and taking us on a tour of the gardens to discover the old Victorian hot house and kitchen garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had yet another wonderful weekend at Bedknobs Bed & Breakfast. Gill and Kim gave us a warm welcome and we hope to return again before too long.
Our room was lovely - spacious, comfortable, very clean and tidy. The food is great and Gill makes delicious scrambled eggs. We thoroughly enjoyed their "Champagne" breakfast which uses the local Camel Valley Vineyard's wine.
Bedknobs is an excellent base for getting out on the Camel Trail for either cycling or walking. It is also just a 5 minute stroll to the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

There's nowhere better to stay for a wet and windy week in Bodmin than Bedknobs. My room was spacious, but cosy, and very warm -- and dry. And Gill and Kim were extremely welcoming and hospitable. Which is more than can be said for the weather in this part of Cornwall when I stayed this "Spring". That said, my hosts were hugely helpful at helping me make the most of my stay, recommending things to do and places to go in my spare time. I had gone equipped with maps and walking boots for my time between business commitments -- Gill and Kim advised me on my planned route, and where the wind would sweep me off my feet, and I admitted defeat and took up their suggestions instead, which worked out excellently. As hosts, their attention to detail is excellent, even to the point of realising that you have overslept, and producing a sumotuous breakfast in double-quick time, and facilitating a swift departure to the railway station, so that you can board an impossible train. I'll be back next Spring -- with a better alarm clock, and the hope of some sunshine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
0.2 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
245 reviews
3.2 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
186 reviews
2.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#7 of 9 in Bodmin
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast
Address: Polgwyn Castle Street, Bodmin PL31 2DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Victorian Villa set in secluded woodland gardens close to Bodmin Town centre and A30 is a perfect base for exploring Cornwall. Spacious well-appointed bedrooms with fully en-suite bathrooms and home-comforts in abundance. Delicious full-cooked or Continental breakfast included. Romantic Champagne Breakfast, an optional extra. Special Breaks in Winter offer up to 2 nights free. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. At Bedknobs award-winning B&B, we are wholly committed to our local community, our environment and Sustainable Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bedknobs Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedknobs Bed And Breakfast Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing