We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Sunday Roast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Whilst a roaring Log fire in a quaint Pub would be lovely there are very few such places in North Cornwall. The Roast here simply knocks the socks of everywhere else we have been to. Staff are really efficient and my goodness, they need to be with the amount of diners! No wonder, this is simply the best Roast in Cornwall. A carvery can often be dry but this is constantly topped up and the selection of vegetables is second to none. I don't eat red meat but my companions tell me it's superb and I can vouch for the succulent Turkey! Choice of vegetables is amazing. Faultless service and many other Pubs/Restaurants should take a leaf out of Lanhydrocks book. ~They have made a Sunday Roast quite simply the best there is. Consistantly perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    123
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
76
142
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

the rooms might be brown and beige but they are comfortable and have a modern feeling, I wouldn't say it is motel style as another reviewer mentioned. Breakfast was very good, it is true that it was dried up on the buffet once but we arrived there 5 minutes before breakfast closing time so I was not surprised. This happens. The staff was very friendly in a normal, down to earth way. It seemed honest and genuine. The shower is nice, rain shower. The executive rooms face the golf course, it was quiet despite the motorway. You could here some noise of the cars in the very distance but it is not disturbing at all. The location is actually quite good, a good place for day trips up to Padstow, down to Polperro or for visiting Bodmin Moor. We would have liked to stay longer and even returned there for one night at the end of our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Don't get the wrong impression, it may be a golf club but this is a brilliant place to relax.
This is my second stay the first time was in the summer which of course gives you a better opportunity to enjoy the fabulous countryside.
Very nice staff and a very nice place to stay.
the food is very good especially the breakfast.

Room Tip: for a brilliant view you want a room looking on the 18th hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for three nights in a Executive Room. Furnishing in the rooms are beige and brown and reminiscent of a motorway budget hotel. Remotes to TV complicated and needed replacing due to wear and tear and freeview box was placed on shelf near to floor. To access tv programmes had to sit on edge of bed and point remote downwards. Wifi was sometimes slow to connect.
We were looking forward to 'Award Winning Breakfast' but were disappointed by lack of attention to tables by staff, had to ask for fresh fruit and the butter twice which resulted in me running around trying to find waiting staff. The worst was the dried up hot buffet not being refilled. I went to reception after waiting ten minutes or so for some fresh hot food but by the time the reception staff visited the kitchen it had been filled and the receptionist did not believe me.
This happened on two out of three occasions but by the Friday morning - when the hotel was busier things had improved and there was plenty of hot food on offer. It appears that during mid week less staff are on duty.
I tried to make a formal complaint about the breakfast service but was told there is no complaints policy for guests. I have since had correspondence with the hotel over this but they appear not to be interested in the points I made.
We ate in the bistro/bar area for three nights and on the whole were also disappointed with the meals we ordered, piles of chips and salad (and waited over an hour for the meal to turn up) . As the hotel is remote there really is no choice but to eat there.
This hotel appears to be more interested in the golfing side with hotel guests interests being sidelined and some attention to detail would be appreciated.

Room Tip: Visit for an overpriced room, budget hotel style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZ940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Took my family here for a Carvery on a Sunday lunchtime, was not disappointed! The selection of meats and veg are second to none, we sat in the restaurant but the bar is just as nice, booking is recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meds85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This room was nicer than the 5 * room we stated in recently. French doors to a cafe table overlooking the 18th. The 9 hole twilight was good value and a very interesting course.( my husband says) but that leads me to a point which means I did not give 5 *. Until the gym is finished later this year there is nothing to do for a non golfer - and then only an active non golfer. I was happy to read on the patio. The hotel was not busy so the atmosphere was a little flat and the staff were falling over themselves to serve! The food was pretty good both the breakfast and evening meals. We had the bar menu and the steak and blue cheese ciabatta with homemade chips is highly recommended,

Room Tip: Book direct and negotiate an executive upgrade if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and myself were fortunate to stay at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club courtesy of a competition win. Lovely room (with probably the most luxurious bathroom we've ever had in a hotel), excellent evening meal, bar snack menu and breakfast and so friendly and helpful staff on Reception. Great golf course - although it was very wet the greens were in excellent condition - even if we did lose one or two balls in the water! Would definitely recommend staying there for a golf break - would have to be at least 2 nights though next time as we live nearly 300 miles away.

Room Tip: Request Luxury Double Room with view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.6 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bodmin Hotel
1.3 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Property: Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Golf Course in Bodmin, North Cornwall The acclaimed Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club is a luxury hotel in Cornwall, located on the outskirts of the old county town of Bodmin in the heart of the county. Easily accessible via the A30/A38, Lanhydrock is only one hour's drive from Exeter and boasts one of the finest golf courses in Cornwall along with a brand new purpose built Fitness Suite. Our central location makes an ideal base for holidays and short breaks in Cornwall. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Eden Project and within easy driving distance of the coast, moor and several great Cornwall attractions. UK golf hotel in a tranquil corner of Cornwall Owned and managed by the Bond Family, who created the Jack Nicklaus Course at St Mellion, Lanhydrock provides a beautiful 18 hole course which is set in mature parkland complemented by contemporary 44 bedroom accommodation with conference and function facilities. The area provides fantastic and varied attractions including the nearby Lanhydrock National Trust House, Eden Project and Fowey. Padstow and Truro are also only a short drive away. We are also very close to the Camel Trail, a popular cycling and recreational route that links Bodmin with Padstow, predmoniantly along a disused railway line and taking in the beautiful Camel Estuary. If you plan a golfing holiday, business or leisure break in a Cornwall hotel, Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club in Bodmin, north Cornwall, is the place for you. A picturesque wedding venue in Cornwall Lanhydrock Hotel hosts a range of stylish and friendly weddings throughout the year. We specialise in provising a personlised, attentive service to every couple, ensuring that your day goes smoothly and you have everything you need. Whether a ceremony or reception, we offer beautiful photo opportunities, delicious food and spacious wedding suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanhydrock Hotel Bodmin
Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing