We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruthern Valley Holidays
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We somehow managed to get what we considered a 'too good to be true' price for a 4 night stay at the end of August so we weren't expecting much from the lodge but it was fantastic.. very clean, comfortable, spacious and provided everything we needed. We enjoyed barbecuing on the lawn outside the lodge for 2 of the nights we stayed watching the sun go down - we recommend the sausages and burgers from the onsite shop! It was a very relaxing and peaceful setting and the highlight of our stay was seeing a hedgehog on our terrace one night :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller8708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    27
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
78
69
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in a wigwam at the weekend for a bit of glamping, which we used it as a base for the Eden Project. The site was very quiet and all of our fellow campers were incredibly considerate, even the youngsters staying in the other wigwams.

I will say I was slightly disappointed that the wigwams were so close together and I had hoped for a little more privacy. The photo on the website is a little misleading. BUT that didn't spoil our stay. As I said the other campers were very considerate.

The Wigwam itself was very comfortable. Much more comfortable than a tent! The fridge, microwave and kettle were handy too. I think they must be well insulated because we didn't hear a sound all night, only my husband snoring.

Very family friendly, a nice play area for the kids. We didn't explore very much as we were only there for one night and left early in the morning. I'm sad that we didn't find the animals, maybe next time. The toilets were clean and well lit. Didn't use the showers. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, and the shop was useful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruthern, Owner at Ruthern Valley Holidays, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
We have taken your comments on board, it had also been mentioned by a few other people and have now moved the wigwam so that they are now further apart.
Kind regards,
Andrew & Nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We (1 adult, 2 kids) spent 2 nights in a wigwam at Ruthern Valley. It's a very pretty area and the site itself was tranquil and well laid out. This is the third wigwam holiday we have been on and the wigwam was identical to the other sites but with the addition of a microwave. The other sites offered a full indoor kitchen with seating area for campers rather than providing individual facilities. Thankfully the weather was nice for this trip and we were able to eat and cook outdoors. If the weather had been bad I would have preferred the option of a campers kitchen as offered elsewhere.

The other sites also offered kids play areas undercover - again with the fine weather this was not a problem but may be a consideration if we decide to go back again. The outdoor play area was really great with football goals and big play equipment. The kids were in heaven and the safe wooded area was great for exploring.

The washing up area was clean, showers and toilets were clean and well kept. The campsite felt quite spacious although the wigwams (of which there are 4) were arranged in twos so the outdoor areas where close to each other. The neighbours were nice so this didn't cause us any problems but definitely not as far apart as we have had previously.

The owners were very nice and helpful. Lots to do in the local area and not that far from some great beaches. The on site shop was a real bonus with freshly cooked pan au chocolat in the morning (be warned they sell out quickly!).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KatS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

An absolute gem of a site. This is the second time we have stayed and will certainly be back. It's a reasonbly small site but you're not crammed in. Facilities are spotless and the shop well stocked and prices aren't overly inflated.

The additional perks such as the park and secure wooded area were great for the kids. They fell in love with the animals too.

Being so close to the Camel trail is a bonus and it is quicker to cycle to Wadebridge than drive (and thats with children too).

The hosts are most welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just come back from a delightful bank holiday camping weekend at Ruthern Valley. The site has a relaxing and laid back feel and we all felt the holiday pace kick in as soon as we arrived. The beaches nearby are outstanding, as are the cycle paths and there are some family theme park type things to do nearby as well (we ended up karting). One of the nicest things for us as a family was the chance to kick back and spend time together. We have three boys who are great at most of the outdoorsy stuff but who also like their laptop time/x boxes and we found the thing they liked doing most was meeting other children and hanging out in the play area, woods and dens. Children don't always get enough time outside these days, we live on a busy road and it isn't always easy to give them the freedom they need to go out and make their own fun but this is what they can do in buckets at Ruthern Valley, they are out being physically active (good exercise and it tires them out) and making friends and memories. Andy and Nicky are amazing at what they do, they offer an amazingly warm welcome. And if you are desperate for WIFI it is always available near the shop and often further across the site.......but personally, we were grateful our three boys had a break from all that and got on with the real business of being children......playing, hide and seeking, torches in the woods in the dark, chatting, chasing, laughing, running and getting up to all kinds of great mischief!

Room Tip: We have camped here and the camp site itself is great, clean and well managed facilities with roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you want a relaxing family friendly break then definitely come here. We stayed in a lodge which had everything you need away from home. The play area was great with plenty of room for a game of footy and with swings and woods to explore and with chickens, sheep and a pig for the kids to get to know farmyard animals it was perfect. We found Wadebridge town delightful and the coast could be reached in about 25 mins by car. The site shop stocked everything you could need (have the sausages..gorgeous). Come here you wont be disappointed, thanks Nicky and Andrew.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from an excellent holiday in Cornwall. We stayed with Ruther Valley Holidays in Ruthernbridge, which we can highly recommend. Easy to find, good clean and comfortable accomodation and facilities and wonderfully frielndly hosts. WiFi worked really well (if your into working when your on holiday - Boring!) and there was plenty for the kids to do when not out touring the region. Wetsuit and bodyboard hire was excellent as it saved faffing around at the beach and there was a good shop for all your holiday essentails. We will be back again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
4.5 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
186 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
343 reviews
6.9 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
Meadow Lakes Holiday Park
#10 of 37 in St Austell
179 reviews
11.4 mi away
Pine Green Valley Caravan Park
25.0 mi away
Widemouth Fields
Widemouth Fields
#1 of 4 in Widemouth Bay
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruthern Valley Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruthern Valley Holidays

Property: Ruthern Valley Holidays
Address: Ruthernbridge, Bodmin PL30 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful wooded valley near Bodmin Moor, this is a holiday site that offers a selection of accommodation types, camping, camping pods, 8 timber cabins, 4 cedar bungalows and 6 static caravans. Ideal for families (a well equipped play area away from the lodges and tents), groups of friends and couples who wish to stay where there is no bar, no disco, no bingo. A quiet, peaceful get back to nature site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Ruthern Valley Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruthern Valley Holidays Hotel Bodmin
Ruthern Valley Holidays Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing