We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Westberry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westberry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel was lovely & clean. Bedroom was huge & had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent & all the staff were lovely & very helpful. Will definitely book again and would recommend this hotel.

Lorraine Glossop
Leeds

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glossyleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    106
    31
    8
    10
See reviews for
45
107
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
helston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

One night stay , excellent service and friendly attetative staff, can't find any reason not to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janthebatteryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is clearly, a hotel that has seen better days. Although the decor gave an air of quiet competence, I couldn't help but sense that the staff and management seemed a little put out by guests turning up. Comparisons with Fawlty Towers would be unfair, but there was definitely a feeling that guests were a bit of a hinderance.
The room, though clean, was, if I were being kind, small. "Barely room to swing a cat" is perhaps, an exaggeration but certainly, the way we had to manouvre ourselves to avoid each other was quite comical. The bed had experienced better days - I think some of the springs had given up! And, there were no biscuits with the tea and coffee.
Having stayed at another establishment, it was difficult not to make comparisons but, comparisons inevitably, will be made and this hotel came off second.
The restaurant, however, was outstanding. The food was of the highest quality and, although the service could have been better, this experience helped to restore some gloss to our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneE1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Westberry Hotel restuarant is befitting of this historic county town. The decor is classy, the gorgeous scent of the fresh lillies arranged on the foyer table provide a warm welcome, the extensive Steak and Thai menu and service was first rate. My party of 6 ate every morsel. We could park the car outside which was useful on the very rainy night that passed for midsummer! This hotel has been at the heart of Bodmin for so long as I can remember and has survived the tests of time. I thoroughly recommend the Westberry Steak and Thai.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrenwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

9 of us (from different parts of the world), stayed in this hotel for 4 nights at the end of April in order to take part in a biking event. The hotel is very well maintained, the cleaning services first class and the Thai food in the restaurant outstanding. Sadly the staff were very unwelcoming and unforthcoming. I asked the manager if he could fill my water bottle up in the kitchen and this request was met with eyes to the heavens and was obviously an inconvenience. If you aren't bothered about a warm reception it is a very comfortable place to stay. a real shame its let down by the management.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main hotel; plumbing in the annex is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImpressmeEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorsington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2012

my husband and i stayed at the Westberry Hotel, Bodmin, on the 15th June, 2012.
We found it very clean and friendly. The bed was a little hard but the room was clean and tidy.
A large flat screen tv on the wall at the foot of the bed, tea and coffee making facilities, nice to see it was Tetley teabags, and a generous amount of milks etc.
the walls are a bit thin but we found the hotel very good for its 2 star rating, i think it deserves to be a 3 star.
The breakfast was superb, nice to get a proper cafetiere of coffee too, we had a full english and it was scrumptious. We got toast with it, and there was cereal and orange juice set out if you want that too.
we would highly recommend the westberry, very affordable and if you turn up, without a reservation, and its late they are up for a discussion on the price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great hotel; good accommodation, food, cleanliness and especially good staff. They've even got a snooker table for residents and a real ale on the bar (if you like Doombar)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobjay190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.7 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
0.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#7 of 9 in Bodmin
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
191 reviews
3.0 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
298 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Fowey Valley
Best Western Fowey Valley
#1 of 3 in Lostwithiel
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westberry Hotel

Property: Westberry Hotel
Address: Rhind Street, Bodmin PL31 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Westberry Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westberry Hotel & Restaurant is AA 2-star rated and offers an elegant balcony restaurant with adjoining lounge and bar. The hotel also offers a premier dining room and function suite with bar, suitable for both family and business events up to around 120 persons. All of our 21 bedrooms are en-suite, offering Sky television, radio, ironing facilities, telephone, free wireless internet access and tea/coffee-making facilities. A full breakfast (English, continental or speciality) is included in cost of every room, and in the evening our elegant panoramic Terrace restaurant overlooking the town serves a carefully chosen selection of local, English, European and Oriental dishes. We are also open for Sunday lunch from 12:00 to 14:30 offering an "eat as much as you like" Oriental buffet during summer months and a filling carvery selection during the winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Westberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westberry Hotel Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing