We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place for a family country retreat”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Endless fun for your little ones
Toddler ride-on park
Endless space
Rory has got an itch.
Peace and tranquility.
Local places to explore.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carly H
1 review
“Fantastic place for a family country retreat”
Reviewed February 19, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Perfectly set out, beautiful grounds, excellent facilities, gorgeous cottages & the most wonderful of hosts to Glynn Barton. James & Pippa made sure that our stay was filled with everything that you'd want for 3 children with bags of energy. From starting off the day feeding all the lovely animals, to a game of tennis, play in the soft play for my younger 2, then visiting some lovely surrounding beaches and areas... finishing off with rainy day arts & crafts and a swim in the heated in door pool. Perfect.

Date of stay: February 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2018
Hi Carly,
Thank you for taking the time to review Glynn barton. We are so pleased that you all got so much from the holiday and also enjoy the surrounding Cornish coastlines which are just too gorgeous to miss. It was a treat to have you all here and next time I will dust off my tennis racket. See you soon
Thanks
Pippa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family trip”
Reviewed December 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Our 2 kids loved this place - from feeding the animals in the morning, to playing on the ride-on toys (tractors, cars, etc), to swimming in the pool and enjoying the soft play. The owners have thought of everything for families - stair gates, plug socket protectors, an honesty shop with lots of great meals available, adventure playgrounds, child size maze. One of the most well-thought out child friendly places to stay.

Owners were really friendly & welcoming.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2017
Hi Jon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with Christmas looming and we are delighted that you all had such a great holiday- apologies for the Cornish weather! We look forward to welcoming you back to Glynn Barton next year. Have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannine...
1 review
“Better than Center Parcs and Bluestone for toddlers!”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Booked this trip after someone recommended it on Facebook as great for young kids. They were right! Our almost 2 year old loved feeding the animals, adored the 'ride ons' and the soft play. All the great amenities of a bigger park, like Center Parcs, but on a much smaller, more friendly scale. Bull run was a charming, child friendly cottage, the shop with Cook food was a treat, and not to mention the play room full of dvds, (and videos!)
We stayed a week while the owners were away, and we were a bit anxious about this, but Jess was a fantastic host and we didn't want for anything.
The only slight negative was the mattress was a bit soft for my husband, but I quite liked the change!
We are definitely planning on coming again, maybe next summer. I'd say it was the first holiday my toddler actively enjoyed.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2017
Hi Jeannine,
We are thrilled that you and the family had such a lovely time. The animals are probably even happier and will look forward to next years visit. Jess is fantastic and we are pleased that she contributed to the success of your holiday. Thank you for the feedback on the mattress and we will look into it. Have a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badger777...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place worth a look ”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Glynn Barton cottages are a great place to stay with young children and has facilities equalling and surpassing many places.
Huge play fort / climb on, animal feeding, indoor swimming pool and a trampoline. Small indoor soft play and a games room / ride on area. So it's great.
It's quiet and a good place to stay (narrow country lanes to get there of course Cornwall style). The cottages are done out decently and have most of what you want. Laundry room on site which is very handy.
The only real gripe for us (and I see I'm not the first ) are the really awful beds. We stayed in Bull Run and the double bed was tiny 3ft 6 maybe at best. It was old and very very soft with a mattress beyond its best. As a couple we could barely fit in it and ended up sleeping in separate rooms and putting one of the kids with us. Even the kids made it seem small as they spread out :).
The room could fit a 4.5 foot wide or even a 5ft wide bed really so no need. The kids beds were a bit better but also old creaky springs and worn mattresses.

Grounds were good. Lots of rules but the kids had great fun. It's a decent enough location for a host of great places to visit.
I think we would visit again but please sort the beds out and get firmer mattresses and a bigger bed. These have been there for a long time. We didn't have a single,good nights sleep.
Otherwise it was a great place and we had a great time.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2017
Thank you for your review . On the whole it would appear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and we are sorry to here that you did not find our beds comfortable. All of our 4 star cottages have 4ft 6 beds in them and king size beds in our 5 star cottages with mattresses changed on a regular basis, we always keep spare new ones in stock an are able to change them at a moments notice. Best wishes

Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rj38
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday at Glynn Barton”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Came with family including 19 month old grandson - perfect for him, soft play area, little tykes cars, swings, two adventure forts, playhouse, animals, indoor pool......wonderfully relaxing for us and perfect for our son and daughter in law who were here last summer.

Also very handy for Newquay Zoo (which is great), endless beaches, walks (Cardinham Woods are a couple of miles away, Stick Man trail etc), Lost Gardens, Lanhydrock......and the recommended Indian takeaway in Bodmin is excellent.

Expect we'll return next Spring - even the weather was good.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect for a young family (and the older generation)
Liked least: Roadworks on A30 - not sure the owners have a lot of control over that though.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin M
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting for an exciting family holiday”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I joined our daughter, son in law and two grandchildren for lovely family holiday.
The site is VERY child friendly with lots of things to do.
There is daily animal feeding with the children helping to feed a donkey,sheep, cattle, pigs, goats and chickens and then collecting the eggs.
Lots of place to play, an indoor swimming pool, games room and a big open area with tractors, cars etc.
The owners are very very approachable and friendly.
The cottage we were in had 3 nice bedrooms with excellent facilities.
It is also a good base situated in the middle of Cornwall to visit either coast.
Well worth a visit, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing