We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic farm holiday”
Review of Higher Lank Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Higher Lank Farm
Ranked #7 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chudleigh Knighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic farm holiday”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just got back from a week at Higher Lank Farm. I've never written a review before but we had such a fabulous time, I wanted to share our experience. My husband and I stayed in Bo Peep cottage with our son (14 months) and my parents. Lucy and Andrew were excellent hosts. Our son was already quite into animals but this experience has made him even more in love with them. He loved feeding all the animals every day, he couldn't wait to get out there in the morning. His confidence grew daily and was quite happy feeding, touching and stroking all the animals. He was so excited to have a pony ride he wanted to get back on again when it finished. The accomodation lovely and was very well equiped which made packing so much easier. There were so many toys our son didn't know which to play with first. Lucy had lots of useful local knowledge that was useful when the weather wasn't so great. My husband and I had a lovely meal at The St Tudy Inn recommended by Lucy, we were lucky enough to get a table and the food was amazing. We will be back soon for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GED1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Higher Lank Farm is the perfect family holiday. Our kids (3 and 18 months) loved feeding the animals in the morning, collecting the eggs for breakfast and heading out on tractor and pony rides. The immaculate cottages are ideally set up for young children with toys galore, safety gates, high chairs and the most wonderful hand-carved 'tree bed'. Andrew and Lucy simply can't do enough for you and were always on hand to help out.

The countryside is stunnning and you're only 30 minutes away from fantastic beaches and lovely towns like Padstow for top-notch sea food. We'd highly recommend it for parents looking for a little haven away from hectic city life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were slightly worried that our 5yr old was at the top end of the suggested age range (the farm is aimed at those 5 and under), however, we needn't worry as we all had a fabulous time. The morning feeding sessions were very well organised by both Andrew and Lucy with plenty of interaction from pigs, lambs, chickens, goats and even an opportunity to hold day old chicks. One day there is a pony ride and another, a pony and trap ride, both very well received.

Breakfast was excellent every day. We didn't make use of the evening meals as we tended to eat out in local pubs most days. For our night of free babysitting we went to the Tudy Inn which is highly recommended.

There is plenty of play areas for the kids at other times, although we spent most of time out exploring cornwall. At the bottom of the (steep) hill by the farm there is the start of the excellent camel trail cycle route. One day we cycled 8 miles or so to an excellent vinyard stopping for lunch at the camel trail tea rooms, and another day we drove to Wadebridge and cycled to Padstow (5 miles each way).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajfvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in Bo Peep cottage in September. Our boys had a great time feeding all the animals each day which was wonderful to see - they even loved just watching farmer Andrew move the tractor around the farm yard in the daily running of the farm.

The welcome tea was superb and the little touches provided by the owners entire family (milk for cups of tea on arrival and fresh eggs in the kitchen) really set the tone. The accomodation was excellent as it is difficult to ever pack enough toys to keep twin toddlers amused for as long as a lunch out let alone a weeks stay somewhere away from home. The huge collection of age appropriate toys in the cottage always ensured they never had a dull moment. The cottage itself was spotlessly clean and well set out with everything you could possiblly want as a home away from home including great touches like stair gates and appropriate furniture for little ones.

We will certainly be booking again to go again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_S772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a wonderful week! On arrival, we were whisked off for a ride in a tractor pulled trailer to bring the cows some hay, before returning for a marvellous high tea, all home made by Lucy. Quite some welcome! Our accommodation was just lovely: clean, very child focused, and well kitted out with high chairs/nappy changing units, stair gates, plenty of farm themed toys, a Three Bears' bedroom for our bigger boys and a nursery for the smallest. We all loved the daily interaction with the farm, and our boys are still full of tales of tractors, hay bales, feeding pigs apples from the orchard, bottle feeding lambs and goats, collecting eggs, feeding chickens... It was a delightful experience and Lucy has a real knack for engaging the children and made sure that aged 6 or aged 2, they all got a fair share of the action. Even our 8 month old went on a pony ride and loved that! There is plenty to do in the beautiful surrounding area, close by and further afield. We enjoyed the Lappa Valley railway, beaches, paddling in the river and a cycle ride starting from the farm. Higher Lank farm really hit the spot for us as a family and we certainly intend to return. Thank you Lucy and Farmer Andrew!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were delighted with our choice. We stayed in Humpty Dumpty cottage for a week along with our 3.5 yr old twins. What beautiful accommodation and a stunning feature bunk bed, hand crafted to look like an oak tree with toadstool steps which the children loved.

We all went out every morning to feed the lambs, pigs, goats and chickens, collect the eggs and take in the fresh air, a beautiful way to start a day and an excellent exposure for the children to farm animals, lovely to see them so excited and participating in all the activities. Loads to do in the area too, from the Eden Project, Newquay Zoo, plenty of National Trust properties, lovely beaches and stunning coastline, you will not be short of things to do, just short of time to fit it all in.

We are already on the verge of booking again for next year. Lucy and Andrew and their family are superb hosts, Lucy's teas are something to behold, well worth it and the hospitality and friendly atmosphere makes it a real pleasure. Highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My family stayed at higher lank farm in humpty dumpty cottage - we have 2 boys aged 20 months and 11 weeks and the cottage was a perfect size for us all.

The place was immaculate cleaned and had all the equipment and toys we needed. Our welcome tea from Lucy was fabulous, and bought to our door in the rain - homemade freshly made scones, sandwiches and beautiful chocolate cupcakes - yum yum!

The daily animal feeding was a joy - our little boy grew in confidence as the week went on and chatted all day about feeding the lambs, collecting the eggs etc. The week was topped of with a tractor and trailer ride to feed the cows!

There are ride on toys doted in various play areas that delighted my little boy no end, and when I mentioned his current obsession with diggers we were bought a whole sack load for him.

Lucy went out of her way to make our stay easy & fun. I would highly recommend this farm to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel_bex22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
245 reviews
15.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Trewint Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berry Lane Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Lank Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Lank Farm

Property: Higher Lank Farm
Address: St Breward, Bodmin PL30 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique farm holidays for families with young children, babies and toddlers in Cornwall.We would love to welcome you and your children to our working farm, for a totally relaxing and happy farm holiday, whatever the weather!We have two fantastic self catering cottages, Bo Peep Cottage sleeps four adults and five children and Humpty Dumpty Cottage is designed to sleep a family of either two adults, three children in beds and three children in cots OR three adults, two children in beds and three children in cots.Tractor rides, animal feeding, pony rides, swimming pool and more fun to be had on the farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Lank Farm Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing