We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for families with small children, and their grandparents!”
Review of Higher Lank Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Higher Lank Farm
Ranked #7 of 42 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Roma, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful for families with small children, and their grandparents!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Excellent cooking, lots of activities with animals, huge numbers of toys, books, and other entertainment, spotlessly clean, very welcoming, an ideal spot for families. My wife and I went as grandparents and were delighted. There are plenty of things to do in the surrounding country, which is very attractive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed for a week at Higher Lank Farm in Garden View, which met our needs perfectly with 2 young children (2 and 4) and was always spotlessly cleaned. The breakfasts every morning were delicious. Some friends of ours stayed at the same time, one of whom required a gluten free diet, and Lucy catered excellently for him, even baking a delicious gluten free cake on our first day for the welcome tea. Lucy and Andrew have thought of everthing to make this a truly relaxing experience for parents and such an exciting experience for children. Our daughters thoroughly enjoyed the pony and tracter rides, the daily animal feeding and the huge selection of indoor and outdoor toys, and are still talking about it now. Our mornings were spent involved in activites on the farm, after a leisurely breakfast we started the animal feeding and egg collecting, led by Farmer Andrew. We then spent the afternoons either exploring Cornwall or enjoying more time playing on the farm. This is by far the best holiday that we have been on with our children, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone, and we would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireandPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We recently returned from a relaxing break in Bodmin at Higher Lank Farm. Despite my having a rotten cold we had a great time as Lucy and Andrew have made it easy on parents by creating a truly child and baby friendly environment.
We stayed in the farmhouse B&B in "Big Meadow" which has a king sized bed for the grown ups and some adorable mini bunk beds for the kids. Lucy even made some alternate arrangements for us as we share a large family bed (sometimes called cosleeping) at home. So they put in an additional single bed alongside the king so we could all bunk together just like home! This is often a real concern for us and as other parents can attest, if you don't get a good nights sleep then no one is happy.
We were travelling with our two boys aged 3 yrs and 8 months and we took advantage of the free nappy laundering service for the baby. This is the first time we have ever been able to travel with cloth nappies and was really pleased not to have to switch to disposables.
The rest of the farmhouse is well stocked with toys and laid out in a very child friendly way. There is a baby kitchen which consists or a sink, fridge and microwave which can be used for washing baby cups etc., storing perishable snacks and baby food.
Our oldest boy adored the animal feeding each morning and this was a real highlight to the day. I would advise that you come prepared to lose a half day to breakfast and animal feeding but who wants to rush around when you have little kids anyway? We headed off to see the sights between 11 and noon most days and the kids were usually asleep in the car enroute to wherever we were headed minutes after getting into the car. This is testament to what a great time they were having each morning!
We had two evening meals with the kids during the week and they were both delicious and well received by all. I do not eat beef or pork so on the second evening when the menfolk were having Spaghetti Bolognese with Lucy and Andrew's own beef mince, I had a truly delicious salmon with red peppers and goats cheese (still waiting on the recipe). Lucy is a great cook and the fresh, wholesome ingredients make for a really nice meal. Breakfast each morning was made to order and consisted of a full English or other varieties thereof as well as cereal and grapefruit. You could get other fresh fruit (or in the case of my son, sliced cucumber) but you had to ask for it. My only comment here is that breakfast got a little repetitive. I would suggest a bowl of whole fruit would be ideal for the kids and maybe some pastries or bagels to make a break from toast.
Overall we had an exceptional time and really enjoyed our stay. We would like to come back again soon!

Room Tip: each room is unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie0op
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

this is a brilliant place for your first holiday away with your toddler, the family provide everything that you could possibly need in the way of toys and facilities, meaning that you don't have to take your kitchen sink with you. The animal feeding activities are tailored to the younger children with friendly animals and everything being timed exactly right. Great beaches nearby to enjoy and great food and hospitality.

Can't rate it highly enough

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckywillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

In fact it is the most looked forward to week of the year with the countdown beginning as soon as we drive away from another perfect week at the farm. Our first holiday was on a bed and breakfast basis when the children were 2. On arrival we were amazed to find a well equipped family home. Not only was the living room filled with toys; the courtyard had tractors, trailers and bikes. And there were animals too! The facilities for adults can't be faulted with three bedrooms which are all clean and light with en suite bathrooms. They are all furnished beautifully with comfort as a priority. The food is either home or locally produced and is delicious. Start the day with a hearty breakfast and finish with an early tea for the children and then a mouth watering menu for adults. We have been visitors at Higher Lank Farm on a regular basis for the past 7 years and can't imagine a time when we have to stop. My daughter and I always holiday with 2 other families and have now progressed onto the barn which has three bedrooms and is fully self catering with its own small garden and courtyard area which is perfect for tractor watching. We love it here. The Finnemore family are the most welcoming hosts you could possibly wish for with Lucy in charge of delicious meals and general spoiling, Andrew in charge of animal feeding and answering of endless questions and the children as perfect role models for the younger visitors. We've watched our children grow with confidence as they let out the chickens and ducks, feed the baby lambs and pigs, ride Billy the pony and sit with timid goats whilst they adjust to new surroundings. I've even been known to let out the geese every once in while rather than running out of the field which is what I would much rather do. The no nonsense yet openly caring approach to farming life draws us in more and more each time we visit. There are beautiful walks across the moors or down the fields to the family stream. The location is perfect. We tend to be creatures of habit with regular trips to Padstow, Lappa Valley Railway, St Ives and always ride hired bikes on the Camelford trail but there is so much more to explore. We still have yet to visit the Eden Project - maybe this year ...

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Yet another great stay at Higher Lank Farm ! Lucy and Andrew made us feel so welcome and the children were quickly at home with toys to play with every way they turned ! Lucy has clearly used her experience as a mum to make sure that her guests (big and little !) have everything that they need during their stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable and it was great to have the children in their own little room off ours. The location of the farm is beautifully rural and peaceful. We enjoyed soaking up the peace whilst the children were happy playing on the pedal tractors and climbing frames.The children loved feeding the animals, particularly the lambs and also collecting eggs. We appreciated the time taken by Lucy and Andrew to talk to and encourage our children creating an even more valuable and memorable experience for them. We found all the staff at Higher Lank Farm to be friendly and helpful. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and found the evening meals to be tasty and excellent value for money. We had some good trips out and found plenty to do with the children. The farm is within easy reach of some stunning sea-side spots. We particularly enjoyed a walk along the beach at Padstow.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Higher Lank Farm is a must if your children love animals. We took our 2 and a half year old there for three nights and she loved every minute of it. From getting up in the morning and playing with the masses of toys in the lounge to donning wellies to feeding the farm animals. There was the opportunity to feed ducks and chickens, to collect their eggs and also to feed the lambs and pigs... The best treat for her was riding the pony at the end of feeding time. Nothing is too much trouble for Lucy and Andrew, they even babysat for us so we could sneak off up to the pub for a few drinks one night. Would definately recommend Higher Lank farm to anybody, well I have already !! The farm is very well equipped for families so you don't have to panic if you forget to take something with you, as most of the things you would need are already provided. The rooms are spacious and cleaned every morning whilst breakfast is being served. All in all a wonderful break for us all and lots of happy memories.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodmin
2.9 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Westberry Hotel
Westberry Hotel
#5 of 9 in Bodmin
245 reviews
15.5 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Trewint Farm Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Paths End B&B
#1 of 1 in Saint Teath
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berry Lane Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Lank Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Lank Farm

Property: Higher Lank Farm
Address: St Breward, Bodmin PL30 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique farm holidays for families with young children, babies and toddlers in Cornwall.We would love to welcome you and your children to our working farm, for a totally relaxing and happy farm holiday, whatever the weather!We have two fantastic self catering cottages, Bo Peep Cottage sleeps four adults and five children and Humpty Dumpty Cottage is designed to sleep a family of either two adults, three children in beds and three children in cots OR three adults, two children in beds and three children in cots.Tractor rides, animal feeding, pony rides, swimming pool and more fun to be had on the farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Higher Lank Farm Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing