We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Mennabroom B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mennabroom B&B
Ranked #8 of 43 Bodmin B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It is difficult to add anything that hasn't been said in the many other reviews here. Mennabroom is an absolute delight, the immediate surroundings are enchanting, the farmhouse itself is a superb example of it's kind; the owners are fantastic, the rooms warm and comfortable, and the food...oh the food! In our opinion Mennabroom is a perfect combination of remoteness, giving one a refreshing sense of freedom, and the ability to easily access main roads, thereby opening out the rest of what is inarguably the most delightful county in England. Despite us being devoted caravaning folk we will surely be returning to Mennabroom to once again enjoy what the owners rightly describe as 'a little piece of heaven'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poorbloodytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stumbled across the Mennabroom while looking for somewhere to stay local to Bolventor and how lucky we were.

The Mennabroom is tucked away behind the beautiful Colliford Lake it's quite remote down some single track lanes but only 5 minutes off the A30 so easily accessed and the directions are easy to follow as long as you don't lose count of the number of cattle grids you've crossed!

We stayed in the B&B rather than the cottages. The room was excellent, superb huge comfy bed which was a struggle to peel yourself out of even for the delicious breakfast, good shower, freeview tv and free wireless. We stayed in the "pink" room, don't panic if you're not a barbie fan it's not that pink!

Breakfasts are superb with lots of selection from cooked Cornish breakfast, vegetarian, fish, continental, whatever you fancy with cereals, fruits, yoghurts, toast.... Get the idea, you could eat all morning!

Richard and Tanya are excellent hosts who leave you to your own devices but always seem to be magically on hand whenever you need something or have a question. In our case we had some last minute changes to our itinerary and they couldn't have been more helpful.

If you're looking for a get away location, peace and quiet and a base for a bit of investigating around the area we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelllingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I spent two nights at Mennabroom Farmhouse with my mother. We didn't want to leave! We had everything we needed to make our stay mega comfortable. Here's a list: a 13th century lounge complete with fireplace, beamed bedroom with exceptionally sleep inducing mattresses and pillows. Laura Ashley decor, spotlessly clean throughout, luxury toiletries, 5 star tea tray including corkscrew and wine glasses and mini fridge. If you opt for the evening meals you won't be disappointed but make sure you leave room for them! Try the mackrel pate its delicious. We just wished we had room for the full English breakfast where they serve home made sausages. The farm is situated in a beautiful place, it has its own ambience which makes it special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSFarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Richard & Tanya are very friendly and attentive hosts. We were greeted with superb scones, jam & clotted cream and a pot of tea. We stayed in the blue room which was spacious and very well equipped. The bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up!! We're glad we did as breakfast was delicious with homemade sausages.
We also had an evening meal which was cooked to a very high standard and the food was all very fresh and locally sourced.
The B&B seemed to be remote which added to the stay, as you were surrounded by the beautiful Bodmin Moor and the wonderful grounds of the B&B, but really you were very close to the main A38. The peace and quiet and service really was perfect!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in the Shippon cottage at the back of the farm and B&B for 4 nights with our 2 dogs. The cottage was very well equipped and cosy and Richard and Tanya were friendly and helpful when we asked about local(?) eating places. Food is served at the farm if needed.
The farm sits high on top of Bodmin Moor in a beautiful setting but some miles away from any facilities. This is both good and bad, if you want to get away from it all, it is ideal but, if you like to eat out at night or even just go for a drink, it is not easy. Mobile and Internet signals are similar, almost non-existent. Again both good and bad depending how you view it.
We had a great time despite poor weather and, if you are looking to get well away from things, it is ideal, but take plenty of food and drink with you.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank peterw373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania B, Owner at Mennabroom B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was lovely to meet you and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. I agree mobile signal depends on your network and a signal can be usually be found in the grounds around your cottage. As to Internet/wifi this is not advertised as it has still to be installed which will be done in November. As to eating locally we are only just under three miles to our local pub and have seven pubs within eight miles which is not bad for a rural location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Absolutely fab, Great setting, friendly owners, amazing food, homemade sausages with delicious fry up in the morning. They take a real pride in their business and ensure all is right for the customer. So refreshing these days. Easy reach for Eden. Follow their directions not sat nav, as sat nav will take you down lanes you'd rather not go!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a lovely place to stay we had a warm welcome from Tania , Richard and millie the dog. The cream tea in the fridge was a real nice touch. We stayed in the Byre and it had everything you would have at home, The bed is the most comfortable bed ever.The peace and quiet was wonderful. We have 2 large dogs and find it hard to find places to take them but they were most welcome to. The area is lovely and very central for exploring the whole of Cornwall. Would def come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebAndy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bodmin hotels
7.8 mi away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
351 reviews
8.9 mi away
St Benet's Abbey
St Benet's Abbey
#1 of 1 in Lanivet
311 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
1.2 mi away
Cabilla Manor
Cabilla Manor
#3 of 43 in Bodmin
93 reviews
3.9 mi away
Trewint Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mennabroom B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mennabroom B&B

Address: Mennabroom Farm | Nr. Warleggan, Bodmin Moor, Bodmin PL30 4HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Bodmin
Price Range: $107 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mennabroom B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mennabroom is a small country estate with an historic grade II listed farmhouse and three holiday cottages, situated on the southern edge of Bodmin Moor. The farm offers luxury bed and breakfast accommodation in the house and self catering in its three cottages. All have been sympathetically restored, tastefully combining 21st century with 13th to 17th century.The bed and breakfast offers two superking double/twin ensuite rooms and the cottages sleep 2, 4 and 6 people. Aga cooked meals with local or Mennabroom produce is used.Situated close to the A30/A38 makes the farm ideal for touring Cornwall and Devon. Close to N.T. houses, Eden Project, and beaches both north and south. A warm welcome and cream tea awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mennabroom B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mennabroom B&B Bodmin, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing