We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Superb Downton Abbey Experience!”

Lanhydrock House and Garden
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This 19th-century high-Victorian country house is one of the most fascinating in England. Colourful gardens, riverside walks and family friendly cycle trails.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A Superb Downton Abbey Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Liked everything about this. Great full day out with plenty to do and see. A must-see if in the area. How the other half lived!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Academical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,446
    378
    50
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“One of the best NT properties!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have been to quite a few now, but this is one of the best places. It looks spectacular when you walk down the drive and it comes into view, and it is a very large property. Everything has been laid out really well, and although there were an awful lot of parked cars and we thought it was going to be packed it actually turned out that the place is so big you don't notice it. Some of the ladies were dressed in period costume, which added to the atmosphere, but apart from the size of the building it was one of those places that you felt you could live in. We were at the end of a week's holiday and didn't have the energy to enjoy all of the grounds, so we hope to return one day and do that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank maureen2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

As others have said Lanhydrock is one of the best NT properties we've visited. It's a lovely setting and the house is magnificent, especially the downstairs/servants parts in my opinion. The preservation is amazing and the day we went many of the staff/volunteers were in period dress which was fantastic.

Note it's a bit of a trek to get down the hilly drive from the car park but there is a shuttle cart or closer parking for those that need it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelTidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“amazing kitchens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went to visit this house, and were blown away by the kitchens and cookers. The whole house was lovely, we spent several hours there. The gardens were beautiful as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vsdallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a magnificent house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I visited Lanhydrock house whilst on holiday in Cornwall. It is steeped in history. The house ranks as my favourite and I have visited plenty of "National Trust houses" in my time. My only regret is that owing to the wet weather I have not been able to walk around the gardens. The house is magnificent, one can wander around at will, no time limit. One part of the house has been turned into a history hall, if you visit this house you must visit this hall. Whilst in the house visit the great hall/library, wonderful. My wife and I never get tired of visiting this grand old house

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kennethjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanhydrock House and Garden also viewed

 

Been to Lanhydrock House and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing