We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A beautiful treasure

Walking down from the car park this National Trust property really has the wow factor on first... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
MarioBricks
,
Walsall, United Kingdom
A must visit!

As an avid National Trust member from North Nottinghamshire, I knew I had to visit Lanhydrock... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
KayHB12
Read all 2,659 reviews
  
Reviews (2,659)
Filter reviews
2,514 results
Traveler rating
1,907
503
69
25
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,907
503
69
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust car park long gallery servants quarters nt members nt property the kitchen lanhydrock house formal gardens golf buggy downton abbey buggy service long walk well worth a visit second hand bookshop extensive grounds first world war
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,514 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Walking down from the car park this National Trust property really has the wow factor on first sight. A truly stunning house and beautifully kept grounds, it is packed full of information about the people that lived there many years ago.

Really interesting throughout and very well kept and everything in fantastic condition. I enjoyed reading about how particular areas of the property were used and what would happen on a typical day.

Dogs are not allowed in the house but this isn't a problem at all, the grounds are extensive and stunning and I took the dogs for a long walk while my wife looked around the house. We then swapped over and she sat and read while I went round.

A lovely day out with plenty to see, all in lovely condition, a credit to the National Trust.

Thank MarioBricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

As an avid National Trust member from North Nottinghamshire, I knew I had to visit Lanhydrock during a break to Cornwall. At first I was apprehensive and didn't really know what to expect, but I ended up being very pleasantly surprised. The house is beautiful and far bigger than I imagined from the outside. The kitchens had fresh fruit and produce within them to really give you an interactive and genuine feel for how the place would've smelt when the service staff would've been working for the family. The house staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly but still keep their distance if like me you wish to look around in peace. The house is crammed full of history and information everywhere you look, allowing you to gain a full insight into the house and it's past. The greatest part for me was the final large room at the top of the house. I thought the music was being played through a sound system but alas no, it was a guy actually playing the piano! The grounds were beautiful to walk around on a bright Autumn day and I will recommend this place to everyone I know who visits the area. It is definitely one of my favourite National Trust places within the country.

Thank KayHB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What really struck me about this property was the family story connected to it. The house was full of personal memorablelia and there was lots of information about the real people who had lived here over 100 years ago. Lots to see and experience. Good cafe by the gate too.

Thank Sueondartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic house and grounds. Beautiful walk down to the house from the car park. The house is full of history and information my girls really enjoyed exploring and doing the children’s trail spotting all the items. The kitchens were their favourite. We took a picnic and sat in the gardens to eat it. We didn’t full explore the gardens as I was heavily pregnant and they’re so big. We also didn’t cycle any of the paths but will be going back to hire bikes and explore them too. There’s a big play area/ Park by the carpark for all ages to enjoy.The restaurants were both busy so as we were leaving the information centre had nearby national trust beaches and how many miles away. We picked the nearest and went exploring further for a hot drink.

Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing place. We had a rainy day and tired legs so decided on a gentler day. The parking is well sign posted and you simply ignore the "Sat Nav". Found the disabled parking and whilst getting my elderly parents out of the car aladyarrived with the buggy and asked if they wanted a lift. Very good service taken directly to the gatehouse. Then went round the house, there is a simple explanation of the rooms to be visited and staff will explain if you ask plus there are books in each room about the rooms and the previous owners. We could have spent the whole day there reading about the history of the house. The house is a remarkable testament to the National Trust and a wonderful insight to a Victorian house. The gardens were very well presented even in October and must have been a sight in full bloom. There are some negative comments but these seem petty or do not grasp what to expect from a Victorian house. If you take very young children they will be bored. Taking dogs expect assistance dogs into a house seems to miss the point that you can't take them into most places.

However, the house is a real gem and after visiting many other houses this is one of the best and the efforts to present the house as it would have been are a wonderful representation.

Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Plenty of parking, national trust property. Lovely gardens and house, lots to look at. Little cafe. Does have a little walk before getting to the house but they do have motor that can drop you down if need be.

Thank rebpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time visitors and we were blown away. Lovely walk to the house, cattle grazing freely, autumn trees and their colours gorgeous. Lovely play areas for children. Cycle routes for you to try. We had lunch in the café/restaurant, service and food lovely with top ups offered for the teapot. Highlights the kitchen, the long gallery, the church and the WW1 display in the entrance building. So moving and gave life to the family who used to live there. Staff very knowledgeable and happy to talk. Will be going back even if its just to walk around the gardens or try the cycle trails.

Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The gardens are well-kept with huge trees being pruned using a crane. Inside many volunteer guides, some in costume, encouraging children. A gentleman playing the grand piano invited a child to play with him. Pleasant tea rooms with food and drink.

Thank Elga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As trust member we visit lots of gardens and houses. Lanhydrock was beautiful and the gardens well kept. The woodland was lovely but not well signposted down at the bottom. The footpaths weren't easy to follow to do a circular walk. Inside the house was lovely but the staff weren't forthcoming with information to make the experience more enjoyable. Some sat reading a paper and didn't acknowledge people entering. Usually trust staff are really helpful and enjoy talking about the property. The cafe prices were reasonable and lots of seating available. Toilets ok but not the cleanest.
Would like to visit again in a different season to see more colour in the gardens .

Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Bike hire, playground, amazing house with numerous fun filled and fact packed information. Helpful staff and a lovely church, topped off with cows roaming free qnd amazing gardens and grounds. Simply stunning. Ages 8, 12, baby and various adults. Great day

Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews