We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Stay Once Again !!!!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Kerriers Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kerriers Barn Kerriers Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Kerriers Barn
Kerriers Barn
Barn living Room
Barn Living Room
Barn Bathroom
Barn Double Bedroom
Barn Twin Bedroom
Barn Private Garden
Barn Hot Tub
Studio
Studio
Studio
Studio
Studio private garden & Hot Tub
Barn exterior from Studio end
Studio front entrance
Front garden
Front garden from parking area
Ruin/parking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bodmin, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NotebookS...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Stay Once Again !!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Have stayed here on a few occasions due to its tranquil setting. This time travelling alone I enjoyed both scones and cream left by the owner Sarah. All bits and pieces there too - tea bags, milk etc to allow you to settle into the place should you have had to travel some distance to get there as I did. I always think of this place as my bolt hole and being spotlessly clean and contemporary its ideal.
The owners are not only charming and friendly but also very knowledgeable of the area. They also give you the privacy I enjoy when vacationing. Should you need any assistance or help they are just across the way in their cottage. The garden is fenced and private and the hot tub is to die for.
Will be back again with my fiancé when time allows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulbrook...
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect.”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Where shall i start, Location, perfect as a base to explore Cornwall, centrally located and very easy to find, secluded and quiet with lovely mature well kept gardens, our kids loved playing and exploring here.On arrival we were greeted with a lovely surprise in the Kitchen(I wont give it away!!) The barn was spotlessly clean and well turned out. We soon met the lovely lady Linda who made us feel very welcome and at home, she was a regular smiling face in the mornings when checking the Hot Tub levels (very professional). we soon got round to checking the place out and to be honest the pictures don't do it justice, the Barn is amazing, perfect, more spacious and open than the pic show and the kitchen fully equipped with a big table and chairs that we could all sit round in the morning handy with 3 kids in tow. The bedrooms were great, Spacious, Oak King size bed with a perfect mattress and more than enough cupboard space for the clothes, the kids room just as well equipped they loved it, with views of the gardens as well, couldn't of asked for more. the bathroom more than big enough no hassle with the kids in the mornings!! with the stone wall adding character it was great.
The Hot tub....the kids absolutely loved it and so did the wife and myself after a hard day on the beach eating pasties and cream scones ha ha !! with the table & chairs in the garden as well it was lovely to sit out there and have dinner in piece & quiet and watch the buzzards every now & then.
The lovely little village of Roche just down the road which had a Co-Op which had everything you could need very handy.
I would recommend the Barn to everybody, it suits all types of holiday goers to Cornwall.
I had a sneaky peek in the window of the Studio as well and Wow, it was just as perfect as the Barn and again the pics don't do it justice, it's so nice, spacious & light also a King Size Bed!! and more than enough room for a couple, the Wife and I are planning a trip down to stay in the Studio.
I have read a review from This July for the studio left by "Bride west", which is so far from the truth it's unbelievable this person is obviously just one of those people!!! you know the ones, please pay no attention to this review its absolute RUBBISH!!!!! book book book!!
We were lucky on the day we were leaving we met Sarah the owner she was great and we couldn't thank her enough. Would love to go again, recommend to All.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kerriers was perfect
Liked least: Leaving to go home.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris w
1 review
“MORE THAN HAPPY, BEEN HERE TWICE NOW, WILL RETURN”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Having just read the previous review I am amazed they are talking about the same place!! - we have visited Kerriers two years running and with two young boys this is the ideal base to explore Cornwall and return to at the end of the day. It is a safe and secluded retreat which is so well equipped with hot tub, kids play area etc. The views from the hot tub are across sprwaling fields and you really do feel you are miles from anywhere. The owners are always on hand and helpful but not intrusive in any way and always keen to recommend places to visit locally or those beaches that only the locals might know about. They are more than accomodating. There is no issue with the bedrooms or beds - I am 6ft and slept like a log!! The accomodation is spotless and immaculately presented. The rooms are all of a good size and the kitchen area is more than spacious and well equipped with everything you would need. This year we took my parents and they stayed in the studio next door which isnt as big as the studio but perfect again in terms of spec and attention to detail. I cannot understand how anyone could fault this in terms of location, hospitality or ammenities - book up, you will return as we have done without a doubt - thanks Sarah for making our holidays so memorable!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrideWest...
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Paid in full, didn't stay, no refund:-small bed, pokey and musty-no view other than fence panels”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we booked and paid for this accommodation in good faith and with expectations of a King Size bed as a first and last priority. We should have been forewarned when we called the tel no provided, the owners were away and we were to be met by Linda, well, Linda didn't seem to have a scooby doo who we were or what we wanted when we called and didn't even pretend to be interested or try to help. Still we finally got in; for a start the bed was SMALL-only a height challenged individual could describe this as king size. My husband is 6'5, we have a King Size bed (UK) as well as Super King size bed so we are well aware what a king size bed looks like-and this is NOT king sized! For cosy - read pokey, only one person could just about squeeze into the minute kitchen, possibly 5 feet by 3, certainly not adequate for two adults to prepare a proper cooked meal. The lounge area is immediately in front of the bedroom and has no doors. Effectively it is one room, with a tiny section of wall across half of the minuscule kitchen. And then there was the smell-eau de musty; not a great introduction along with the other issues. So, maybe things were better outside? Err, well, indeed there is a small garden (actually it was probably bigger than the entire accommodation!), and, yes, it does have a hot tub on the deck, but that is it-it is surrounded by a new fence on all sides with no plants that I noticed-call me picky but I don't call THAT an attractive view. As for the area, the immediate vicinity (meaning the lovely old house in the grounds)-well that was lovely, however, I think it suffice to say that having departed to find somewhere else pleasant in which to spend our weeks holiday and having mentioned the location to people, without exception they did that 'teeth sucking' motion followed by 'oh, dear!', and various forms of 'it's pretty grim up there'.... and it WAS grim-I challenge anyone to go to Roche and say it was anything other than dire. Despite all these little nuances I would have put up with the smell and the terrible view, however the bed was non negotiable, and indeed, it WAS non negotiable-the owners stated that it was a king size bed and that was the end of THAT conversation. No apology or compromise, in fact John Richards was stroppy and arrogant-basically we had to like it or lump it. We had paid in full including a £100 security deposit, this deposit should have been refunded on our departure but we have not received it to date, even though we checked right in and out immediately. Happily we found a wonderful place to stay, Hoburne at Doublebois, So, if you are a single blind dwarf with an eating disorder and a stuffy nose cold this will be perfect for you. Of it's kind it is the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: leaving
Liked least: arriving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2014
Firstly, we take this complaint very seriously. This is a family run business and we live on the premises, manage, clean and maintain the property ourselves. We were on our annual holiday when this customer arrived. The Studio was left open for them and they were given the phone number of our cleaning lady Linda who was operating as a keyholder and contact for any queries. Unfortunately this complaint centres around some confusion about the size of a 'King Size' bed. The double beds in Kerriers Barn are UK 'King Size'. That is 150cm x 200cm (5' x 6'6" approx). The bed in the Studio (where this customer booked) is UK King Size. It is a solid Oak double bed with a Dunlopillo mattress which is King Size (150cm x 200cm).The size of our beds is mentioned in all our advertisements and on our own website. This customer insisted that the bed was too small and not acceptable.

The husband stated on the telephone that 'it is a lovely place and we would like to stay but the bed is simply too small.' We tried to persuade them to stay but they left after only spending a few minutes at the property. There was little that we could do except readvertise the property and refund the customer if we were able to get a booking. We did this but unfortunately we did not receive any enquiries.

The rest of the review is frankly sour grapes. Our lets are thoroughly cleaned every week so the only way that we can explain the complaint about a musty smell is that this is a very old building made of cob and lime plaster. It probably does smell a little differently to a modern 5 star hotel. But, it is clean and free of damp. We do not promise views of the open countryside in our advertising but, it is a pretty location. Regarding Roche and the immediate area. We like Roche very much. It is a simple/plain but very friendly Cornish Clay mining Village with good amenities including: a well stocked medium sized Co-Op supermarket, 2 take-aways, a post office, a good butcher (excellent pasties) a pharmacy, a service station, and 2 pubs. Roche Rock (ancient monument) is well worth a visit (it's free!) and the world famous Eden Project is just 5 miles down the road.

We would ask potential customers to take a little time and view some of the many other reviews we have received from our customers. We don't pretend to be a 5 star luxury resort but, we do try very hard to provide high quality reasonably priced holiday accommodation in what we consider a beautiful location. No Supersized beds and no views of wildebeest roaming across the plains!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise034
Worcester, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquility at the end of a Track....”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I booked Kerriers Barn for a week as a surprise for my husbands birthday. I was confident from the website & reviews it would be great, but no picture captures it fully. He and the children were all "wowed" especially when Sarah said would you like to see the hot tub!!!
It is a beautiful barn conversion, so much character, so clean, so cosy and so well equipped. Very pretty and tranquil location, the children loved the freedom of the garden, the deer we saw was a real treat! The hot tub was divine after very chilly, windy days on the beach. Love, love, loved it. Heartily recommend a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the1techi
Newbury, Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Perfect Holiday at Kerriers Barn”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Kerriers Barn was quite simply fantastic.
We arrived after a long journey and were greeted by Sarah who was incredibly friendly and gave us some useful information about the local area.

The barn was very cosy and homely and included everything we needed to live comfortably and more! As mentioned by a lot of other reviewers, the hot tub is fantastic! Very clean, very comfortable and I would definitely recommend to everyone.

The barn is in a perfect location with all attractions and amenities a very short drive away. We were able to visit the most popular attractions all within 30 minutes so no really early starts. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Reviewed November 7, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing