We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Accommodation and Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakwood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodation and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and could not fault our stay. Our hosts were most welcoming and the food was fantastic. We paid just over £70 for a 3 course meal for 4 people which included wine and aperitifs. It must be the best value meal we've had for years. The bedroom was spacious with very comfortable beds, the shower room was on the small side but was quite adequate for our needs. Thank you Wendy and Katrina for a lovely short break - we shall return very soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
37
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
newbury
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is another great place to stay when travelling Hadrian's Wall. Wendy and Katrina give a great welcome and great service. Katrina drove us back on the Wall for our next day's walk. The food was really good too. It's a huge house with big bedrooms in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have just spent a night at the Oakwood Park Hotel and I can't speak highly enough of our stay. Wendy and her daughter were the perfect hosts. Staying in the house felt like being in one of Agatha Christie's novels - in setting and period only (luckily there were no murders!). Bedroom was very comfortable with all amenities and having read reviews we opted to dine here too. On the night we dined, Wendy and her daughter had to cook for 8 people, including 2 rather seemingly fussy children, and they delivered above expectations. Food was perfect and portions enormous - I particularly enjoyed berry crumble. Wendy's daughter even gave us a lift to the station in the morning. Wonderful stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My son and I were on a bike trek across northern England on Hadrian's cycleway. What an outstanding end to our long day cycling to arrive at this beautiful guest house. The rooms were exquisite! I only wished we arrived on a day that they were serving dinners, the comments about the food were very complimentary. The breakfast was wonderful, and the setting breathtaking, definitely a highlight of our 8 day trek.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franceyburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

After a 16km section of Hadrian's Wall I got the taxi suggested by the owners of this small hotel. I say small, because they don't have more than three or four rooms, but the place is a big Victorian pile that has been maintained well with suitable fixtures and fittings. If you like Victoriana this is for you.

Welcome and service great, and the roast duck was superb, with potatoes crisp as I like them.

Lift provided to the station. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewzeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I wish there were more than 5 stars! wonderful house, wonderful hostesses the dinner was the best food I have eaten in a good many years. I loved it so much I am tempted to drive the 300 odd miles from home just to stay here again! I will certainly return

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Beautiful house set in wonderful grounds and gardens. A warm welcome awaits. This house has a very interesting history. We felt very comfortable in our huge room (more like a suite) and enjoyed our breakfast which certainly set us up well for the start of our Hadrian's Wall walk. The owner was very informative about the area and the part of the walk we were doing. Would happily return anytime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2happywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brampton
2.9 mi away
Farlam Hall Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
8.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scotch Arms Mews
Scotch Arms Mews
#5 of 27 in Brampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Park Hotel

Property: Oakwood Park Hotel
Address: Longtown Road, Brampton CA8 2AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Brampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious mid-Victorian house, set in its own parkland, offering bed and breakfast accommodation, and evening meals to residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakwood Park Hotel Brampton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing