We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Maliwan

Maliwan
Ranked #60 of 205 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The service i received from the owner was hideous, he embarrassed me in front of around 15 diners. I was left feeling rather upset and humiliated. Such a shame as i have always enjoyed eating there before....but thats really put me off.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank layla k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    38
    11
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai curries - book in advance!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The staters were slightly above average but what really stood out was their curry. The Penang curry was very good and I very much recommend this as a main. We will be going again. The outside looks old and uninviting but the food is definitely worth getting past that if you can get a table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BazM_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Restaurant Delicious Food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Maliwan may not look that inviting to view from the street, but you know what they saw about judging books by their covers.

This is a lovely small restaurant with a great atmosphere, enhanced by the enthusiasm of the owner and the delicious fresh food.

It is always a real treat to eat here and is truly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelsBells74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lin, Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic food at excellent price”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Amazingly authentic food, well very similar to our experience in Thailand! Unprepossessing exterior belies the food within, but if your priority is the food you must pay a visit. Fish in tamarind and ginger fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Simple, tasty good Thai food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to dine at Maliwan late on a Friday evening. There is only one room and itbwas was full of people enjoying themselves, in a lively atmosphere, all seemed to be enjoying their food. We chose easily from a manageable and attractive simple menu. Each course was perfect, very good quality Thai dishes, and plenty of it. The manager Mark makes time to chat to all his guests. We are certain to go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maliwan also viewed

 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Maliwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing