We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE PUB FOOD”
Review of The Ryles Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ryles Arms
Ranked #3 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2011

One of several pubs in the area built by local private banker and silk manufacturer John Ryles in the mid 1820s (the best known being the Cat & Fiddle), now more geared towards dining than drinking. Good quality pub food with all the old favourites (plus a few 'contemporary' dishes) all at reasonable prices with good portion sizes. Staff friendly and helpful and a 10% discount for Gold Card Members. Last visited in mid October 2011: my steak was of excellent quality and cooked exactly as requested; the missus was very pleased with the home-made burger which came with all the trimmings. Limited draught beer selection, though the local Winkle Ale was on excellent form and made up for this. Will definitey go again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MAL010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for The Ryles Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

The food & service was first class, with friendly staff, a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We'd heard that the food was good and we had to book in order to get a table but we were unhappy with the experience. Our mixed grills had steak that was unedible and the fillet steak in the Beef Strogonof was too tough to chew! It wasn't expensive, but it still wasn't worth what we paid.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngalton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Me and my husband stayed here June 2011 for our 1st year wedding anniversary ! The loaction is romantic lots of sheep and fields and a nice walk if your energetic (Im not !). When we got there hey asked us if it was our wedding anniversary and we said yes and they said the manager had put is in the suite (Room 6 ) free upgrade!!We were very happy ! We were even happier when we got in ! WOW gorgeous converted barn with beams, massive flat screen telly, a sofa, a dining room table for 6 and fitted kitchen !!!!!!!!!!! It was gorgeous very modern and trendy and clean ! The restaurant was very gastro pub which we love. It was also good that it was busy a very popular great atmosphere inn.Lots of tables and GREAT FOOD!The steak is a must have !!!!!!! the breakfast the next day was also good !!!!! I reccommend for all ages. It was modern, but traditional set in a fab location !!!!!!

Room Tip: We booked with last minute.com
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollywood8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Discovering the Ryles Arms was entirely by chance. I had wanted to stay at another B&B, but they didn't respond to my request. Just as well, I was thrilled with The Ryles. They were fast in responding to my request and were easy to deal with.

I booked in for 4 days, and what a great surprise it was. The location in Higher Sutton is gorgeous, Cheshire countryside is idyllic. The converted barn room that I had was immaculate, with lovely decor. My favourite part was looking out the window into the fields, hearing the birds.. It was lovely. It was worth every penny.

The manager/owner is very efficient..seemed like he was a bit behind the eight ball at times and in need of more employees. Regardless, he was great and the staff that I dealt with were excellent, friendly and fun to deal with.

Foodwise, it was great. I can't eat a lot of heavy food, and this menu is primarily that. Major meat dishes - food that I used to love..! I found my way around it, as I have to do, and was entirely satisfied with the large menu. The Inn restaurant is very popular for locals..and it really hops on the weekend. The breakfast is really good. They'll certainly take care of whatever you want.

If you require wifi, they do have it but it is a rather hit or miss affair. Hopefully they'll attempt to upgrade it, as it can be a tad frustrating if you need to be in the loop.
I also wanted to make some long-distance calls - but they didn't have the facilities for that I was told...? There were phones in the room but....? So, I left that alone and had a very quiet four days of not talking to anyone but the staff. Kind of wonderful really.

If you're looking for a quiet, romantic getaway or just a tiny break - this is the place. There are trails nearby for a wonderful wander, good food and... silence.. lovely countryside... with your neighbours being sheep and cows. This place was an unexpected and lovely discovery.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Last night we went to the Ryles Arms on a whim for diner and thoroughly enjoyed the food which was well presented and tasted great. The exception was the vegetables which were basic and a little tasteless. A shame since the rest was excellent and the service was very friendly and polite. Overall a very good experience and a very reasonable price for starters and main course for 2 with a bottle of good wine. Just over £50!!! Not sure about the décor or what it was trying to be but this is a minor point and took nothing away from the enjoyment of the evening.

Well done to the owners and the chef. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonnanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I only stayed at the Ryles Arms for one night, but enjoyed an outstanding English breakfast, comfortable accommodation (perfect pillow) and a mouth-wateringly exellent aged steak!!!

The staff were so very friendly and helpful and the views and surrounding countryside just breathtaking.

I will certainly stay at the Ryles again on my next visit to the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrCJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
4.9 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,804 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryles Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryles Arms

Address: Hollin Lane | Sutton, Macclesfield SK11 0NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ryles Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The real Taste of Cheshire” Set amidst the rolling hills of the Cheshire countryside. The start/finish of the Gritstone Trail, and other rambling routes. The Ryles Arms has long been established as a venue for home cooked food, that offers a welcoming, friendly and relaxed environment. The Ryles Arms has free, secure car parking and the five bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, tea/coffee making facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, with much of the produce sourced from the local area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ryles Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ryles Arms Hotel Macclesfield
The Ryles Arms Macclesfield, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing