We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tytherington Club

The Tytherington Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover one of the finest golf clubs in the North West. The Tytherington Club boasts an impressive array of facilities and is the perfect venue for your family to relax and undwind. With the lush backdrop of the Pennines, our 18 Hole Championship Golf Course is set within gently rolling parkland, and features over 100 bunkers and eight water features - a true test of skill for any calibre of golfer. Our state-of-the-art health & fitness gym, along with the unique personalised service provided by our Wellness Team, are unrivalled in the industry. Our team promise to create and monitor tailor-made programmes to meet your bespoke goals. The Tytherington Club boasts a beautiful Swimming Pool and Relaxation Spa area, and a timetable of Studio classes for Group Exercise. Our elegant Clubhouse is the perfect place to wind down after a workout or round of Golf, and its vibrant and friendly environment is the perfect place to meet new golf partners, bring your Families, and meet new like-minded friends in exquisite surroundings. Our experienced Events Team can help you plan and organise your wedding, engagement, christening, birthday party, anniversary, school prom, charity event, or just an intimate dinner party with champagne...no task is too big or too small! With excellent food and drinks packages we can tailor your event to suit your own individual style and requirements. We are dedicated to ensure we provide an excellent service in exceptional facilities to make your event a night to remember! The Tytherington Club - A Way of Life.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“always good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been to all sorts of events and social gatherings at the club and the food, drinks and service are consitantly good

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventsTeam A, Events Coordinator at The Tytherington Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our club and for your great comments. We hope to see you at more of our social events soon, kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    4
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Golf Course, Disappointing Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited The Tytherington Club accompanied by 30+ on our golf club annual outing. The course met my full expectations and despite my handicap, I managed a respectful round!

Whilst the club building itself is impressive, the staff are most dispassionate and impersonal and, frankly, let the whole club down.

Upon our arrival, the breakfast took an age to be served by the one waiter allocated to our group, who eventually 'plonked' the food in front of us without finesse. This was followed by the golf and our meal thereafter.

Again, our group was allocated just the one (different) waiter who was again clearly disinterested in any customer service and responded to requestes for dinner to be hurried bluntly and brusquely, almost to the point of rudeness.

The food - pie, chips and veg - was very average - certainly not what you would expect from a venue that markets itself in the 5* class and we were offered one dessert, which if you didn't care or like it - tough!

So all-in-all, would I return - not in a hurry as there are too many other courses to explore and The Tytherington certainly didn't command me to consider a return and it doesn't appear that they actually cared or were bothered whether I or my group returned.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank G_r_i_n_t_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventsTeam A, Events Coordinator at The Tytherington Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Tytherington Club after your annual golf club outing. We're very sorry to hear that you didn't receive the service we expect from our staff and we can only apologise for this. We've taken your comments on-board and have recently put in place new practices to ensure all golf days receive a more welcoming, personal experience with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and elitist”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is more of a members venue. It is very expensive for what it is, and a lot of the people who frequent this venue look down on those they don't see as well off. The golf course is very pretty, and the firework displays they do are fantastic but unless something like this is on,it is not worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calluna28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventsTeam A, Events Coordinator at The Tytherington Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We work hard to try and create a friendly and warm atmosphere for all visitors throughout the Club and are sorry you haven’t experienced this with us. We hope to welcome you back soon to improve your opinion. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wedding reception was the icing on the (wedding) cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We held our wedding reception at Tytherington club and everyone really enjoyed it.
We had to arrange our wedding at very short notice due to emigration and the staff I dealt with were very helpful and professional in helping us swiftly decide what we wanted.
The reception was for 65 guests and a small number of children, which was about the right number for the room we were in. The tables were beautifully laid.
We were also able to get the room hire at half price which was a bonus.
We didn't decorate the room but it didn't detract from the event at all.
We opted for the inclusive fork buffet option which consisted of salmon, cold meats, beautiful salads, new potatoes, savoury tart, breads and dressings, with one hot dish of meat and potato pie with red cabbage, followed by a selection of chocolate and fruit slices.
The pie was DELICIOUS and all the buffet dishes went down well with plenty left for everyone to have seconds.
The serving staff were always present, efficient, attentive, friendly and very helpful, we wanted for nothing and for once in my life I had absolutely no complaints!
The venue is ideal for Macclesfield-based weddings as it is easy to find and has its own car park.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jannyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventsTeam A, Events Coordinator at The Tytherington Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful review and kind comments. We're glad you had a lovely wedding day with us and wish you all the best for the future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice venue but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

The venue was very nice and contemporary however the drinks menu was steeply expensive and the bar staff were uninterested and tried to charge different prices

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Layla-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EventsTeam A, Events Coordinator at The Tytherington Club, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review The Tytherington Club. We value our customers and we're sorry to hear that you didn't receive the service we would expect. We hope to welcome you back in the future for an improved experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tytherington Club also viewed

 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Tytherington Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing