We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service :-D” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salt Bar

The Salt Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Salt Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 204 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Salt Bar is less than a five minute walk from Macclesfield Train station, on the historic cobbles of the Castle Quarter. We serve Scandinavian style food and drink, local real ales, good wine, tea and coffee in an intimate and cosy atmosphere. Open for lunch Tuesday-Friday 11:30-14:00, Saturday 11:30-17:00, Treacle Sunday 10:00-15:00 Open for dinner Tuesday-Friday 17:30-21:00 & Saturday 17:00-21:30.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service :-D”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food was delicious my mother and I would highly recommend, we went in fot lunch and will be booking in for an evening with friends as it is the perfect place for a dinner. Elvis was a great waiter, very friendly and made us feel very welcome :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amybrookes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    92
    28
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I don't normally leave reviews but a recent trip to Salt has changed that. Not only was the food of a consistently high standard throughout (I recommend the traditional Meat Balls by the way-yum!) but the service from Elvis made myself and my partner feel most at home, important and very very special. His recommendation of a Scandinavian Pop Cocktail was spot on and set the whole evening up on the right foot.

Bravo Salt-a new venture-would definitely recommend a trip there

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Bar and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely Food, lovely atmosphere and Lovely staff especially Elvis who looked after our every need. Well worth a visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maccbean, Owner at The Salt Bar, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Elvis is a star, who loves to engage with the customers. He'll appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I live locally but I have waited a while to visit. Had a lovely lunch today and the food is really good. I'm looking forward to going back. I had meatballs on toast with cheese and beet root salad (double yum) and then Apple pie which was the best I've tasted! Also really great coffee and nice attentive service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maccbean, Owner at The Salt Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. The meatballs on toast is my personal favourite, it's such a colourful dish. Glad you enjoyed the coffee too, as it's Illy and we think its the best you can buy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Came across this place one Sunday afternoon and thought it a bit quirky and different so went in. Quiet, but good atmosphere, friendly waiting/ bar staff. So far so good. Families enjoying a sunday afternoon treat....that's good too. Local beers on sale...excellent. We chose the traditional meatballs. Nothing spectacular, and the plates were cold. The food soon became cold as well so we had to wolf our food down! When I say the plates should be warm, I don't mean skin blisteringly so (health and safety) but slightly warmer than a scandanavian winter would have done the job! It was all down hill from there. With the arrival of more clients, it soon became cliquey, as they took over the bar braying loudly to the owner/manager. I didn't like the way the owner/manager spoke to a member of staff, so we paid up and left. A shame because 1st impressions were obviously deceiving. I don't think we'll be going back! Average rating due to the fact that it is a new business and a poor rating might do damage.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maccbean, Owner at The Salt Bar, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm sorry that your meals were served on cold plates. I think the day you came was Treacle Market and whilst we expected it to be busy, it took us completely by surprise at how busy it would be. Consequently they were not able to heat the plates up as quickly as they should. I will of course, pass your comments onto our chef to avoid this happening again.

I only have the utmost respect for my staff who are extremely hardworking which I appreciate. I can only assume that what you heard was banter between colleagues. It certainly wouldn't have been anything else.

The group of people at the bar have been in a couple of times and were being friendly. Salt is not a formal restaurant, it's a bar with food. Why, as a bar owner, would I not encourage people to come and have a good time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salt Bar also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Salt Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing