We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a visit”

Peak View Restaurant & Tearoom
Ranked #9 of 206 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Overlooking the sweeping Peak Park towards the Cheshire plain, the restaurant and tearoom is an ideal place to relax and unwind in a friendly atmosphere. In winter we always have a roaring fire and in summer you can sit outside and soak in the breathtaking views.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

had the supreme cream tea and was well worth the money was at one time thinking of a doggy bag but managed to finish at £7.00 fantastic

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeeman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    33
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great views, atmosphere food, prices and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've stopped for refreshments at Peak View a few times over recent years and have never been disappointed. The staff are clearly well motivated, friendly and courteous, and a genuine welcome is given on arrival. The food is prepared fresh, so be prepared to wait during busy times, but it is well worth the wait. I notice they take bookings, so next time I will take advantage of this. If I lived closer I would definitely return more frequently.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelJWHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H, Owner at Peak View Restaurant & Tearoom, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your visit. I am very proud of my staff, they enjoy what they do and I am happy it comes across to customers. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get nice and warm and cosy by the real fire with a cup of tea and a slice of homemade cake in a lovely cosy tearoom.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been many times to this tearoom and its the best tearoom ive ever been to. And ive been alot of tearooms. If you are a lover of rearooms you must go to this place. Its all nice and cosy inside, with a real log fire and full of homemade cakes in the middle of the room. There are cosy teapots on display. The staff are all really nice and the food is very good quality and very good value for money. And the views are really nice as well. Its on the cat and fiddle road just before the cat and fiddle pub. Once you go here once you will go again and again and tell others its so good. The coffee and walnut cake is the best ive ever had. Xxxx

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monica1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail H, Owner at Peak View Restaurant & Tearoom, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your latest visit here and hope you return soon. I glad you enjoyed the coffee and walnut Cake it is one of our best sellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good value,amazing selection of cakes”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Came upon this little gem of a cafe just by chance. Had soup and sandwich combo. Choice of 2 homemade soups and loads of sandwich choice in thick whole meal bread. Obviously people go regularly as there were a few tables reserved. Lots of choice from snacks to full Sunday lunch. The middle of the room had a long table full of homemade cakes - about 10 different sorts and some desserts. Unfortunately didn't have any as too full after the soup!
The location is fab with fantastic views although a bit blustery when we visited. The cafe itself is very homely and quaint with different quirky salt and pepper pots on each table and loads of sheep ornaments. Homemade crafts also available to buy.
Wish we lived nearer as would visit frequently.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lancashirelass1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place for food, service, views.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have called into the Peak View Tea Rooms on a number of occasions and at various times in the year and each visit we are never ever disappointed. The tea room caters for all appetites, Sunday lunches, cream teas, snacks etc and none disappoint, neither do the choices of homemade cakes which are a delight to both the eye and the taste buds. The atmosphere is welcoming and the service excellent. Do not pass this gem by as you travel between Buxton and Maccelsfield.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arty54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailH268, Owner at Peak View Restaurant & Tearoom, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased you continue to enjoy your visits to our tearoom and hope to see you again soon, Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peak View Restaurant & Tearoom also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Peak View Restaurant & Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing