We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Meal / Super atmosphere”

Church House Inn Restaurant
Ranked #74 of 204 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Meal / Super atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

You could run out of superlatives for this gourmet pub. Great service as ever and excellent meal. Even though the owners were away on a short vacation, the staff maintained the high standards expected.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank blobby8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Genuine Pub with Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have eaten at the Church House many times. It offers consistently good, well cooked and presented food in a homely, friendly atmosphere. Real fire in the winter, locals at the bar, and a warm welcome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzygirlMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were staying in the nearby Shrigley Hall Hotel and had eaten in the hotel restaurant already so fancied some good 'pub grub'. We did a quick search of the local area and this place looked quite nice - even though it only had the one review (check out their own website for more detailed information).

From the moment we arrived at the pub we were warmly greeted and well looked after the whole time we were there. The food was delicious and exactly what we wanted plus the had some great drinks on draught and bottled. The food was really well priced and good sized portions.

Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cracking roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were taken here by friends who have recently moved to Bollington. The pub came recommended and those recommendations came true. All 4 of us had the set menu for the roast. Loads of veg, 2 types of pots and all the trimmings.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosamund_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old School Pub and Fine New Friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were traveling at random with our trusty GPS in the hills of Cardiff, Wales looking for a neighborhood Pub. As we approached a dead-end street we saw a hundreds of years-old church on the right and what seemed like a "dead' pub on the left. To our surprise, the reason there were no cars is because the locals walk on over every Friday night. As we got about 5 feet from the door we heard uproarious laughter and singing. We looked incredulously at each other and opened the door.
This was the highlight of our 3 weeks in the UK! The owners Hilary and Neil had an amazing Pub and the patrons were singing along with the Beach Boys, Mamas and Papas, and just about any song Hilary could pick up on her computer.
It turns out my maiden name is the same as theirs and the "boys" from the hood are in the Welsh choir! These older gentlemen (and wives) come every Friday night for a pint and we found ourselves immersed and welcomed into a very lovely old traditional environment. We sang along with them and had the time of our lives. Our wishes and dreams came true to be able to partake in hearing someone sing us a song in Welsh! With a GPS one could never get lost going to or from this beautiful place called the Church House Pub.
The Hahns from San Diego

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retriremesandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church House Inn Restaurant also viewed

Sutton, Greater London
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Bollington, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Church House Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing