We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Oliver at Bollington green - CLOSED

Oliver at Bollington green
Price range: $3 - $33
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving great quality, homemade food, on small plates with great drinks to go with it! Small plates Bar nibbles Wine Beer Cocktails
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Writing a review cannot justify how excellent this restaurant is. The new menu is amazing with something for everyone. The staff are extremely welcoming and attentive but not overboard to make you feel uncomfortable. All the little touches really do make this restaurant stand out. I would recommend Oliver's to anyone. We will defiantly becoming back for more delicious home made caramelised onion bread bread rolls!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Manager at Oliver at Bollington green, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for leaving a positive review.

It was very pleasing to read.

I have passed your positive comments to the kitchen team who were very satisfied to read that the new menu is being well received.

We do hope you visit us again soon, even if it is just for our bread!

Kind Regards,

Jaydean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    45
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oh what a disappointment !”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have eaten here a few times and were very impressed with quality and the service.
Oh how things change. Gone is the wide choice of imaginative dishes to be replaced with a short choice of fussy over-wordy descriptions. The food was equally fussy. There is far too much going onthe plate now. The taste is not of the meat or fish which is at the heart of the dish but an almost inedible strength mixture of far too many herbs and citrus to the point that the basic food cannot be tasted.
The prices have been hiked but the food on plate is poor.
We cannot now recommend this restaurant t

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Manager at Oliver at Bollington green, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
From serving on the evening of your visit, I can only recall one issue that you expressed to us, an issue with a dressing on your main course.

I was shocked and upset to read such a negative review especially in regards to price, atmosphere, and service, none of this being apparent on the night.

Firstly, the price of our food has remained within the same price bracket since your last visit and the feedback from our customers tells us the quality has remained the same also, high and consistent.

There has always been 6 starters, 6 mains and 6 desserts, although now we do have 7 desserts.

With regards to your meal, you did tell us at the end of your main course, that you felt the flavour of the dressing was far too strong. As we explained on the evening, we passed these comments on to the chef but he felt it was personal preference, as the dish you had chosen, had been ordered by a large number of customers throughout January and February, with only positive comments.

We did also check up on your table throughout your main course and would hope that if you felt the food was so bad, you would have mentioned it at the time, in order for us to try and resolve any issues.

With regards to the atmosphere, the restaurant was full, on the evening, of your visit with what other guests commented as a very pleasant and enjoyable atmosphere.

I feel it is a shame that you have responded so negatively about your visit to our restaurant, especially when you only passed on a comment regarding the dressing on your dish, after eating it. As I mentioned before, had you expressed your disappointment in regards to every aspect of your evening, we would have tried our very best to rectify any issues that we could. When we asked your table if they enjoyed their meal, the response was positive and appeared that minus the dressing issue, the rest of the food was well received, as well as being satisfied with our response to your issue.


Jaydean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch indeed”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

What a gem of a place this is.

Four of us came here for lunch a week or so ago. Food was imaginative and extremely well cooked, my only criticism is that it was just the limited lunch menu and we would have liked to have had a little more choice.

Excellent service and we will probably return..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Manager at Oliver at Bollington green, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to leave a positive review for our restaurant.

We appreciate your comments regarding the quality of of food and your constructive criticism in recommending we have more of an extensive menu.

We have always offered a smaller lunch menu, due to the size of our restaurant and the importance of freshness and quality.

I have passed your comments on, and the kitchen team will take them into account.

I do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jaydean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“serious food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We went for lunch on Saturday. Had set menu 3 courses. Starters excellent. Main course good. Pudding (sticky toffee) excellent.
I would say that there are plenty of restaurants around Manchester where things look good but the food is middling. This place is better than that. For the same price the food here is seriously good. The chef here can really cook. My only disappointment was the pop music played in the background which seemed quite loud to me. We would have preferred quiet. Service was good. I am glad we tried it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidL187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Manager at Oliver at Bollington green, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your positive review.

We were very pleased to read your review and appreciate your comments in regards to food, service and value.

We always try and please our customers, and feel satisfied in knowing you enjoyed your first visit.

The kitchen have been made aware of your comments regarding the food and once again want to thank you.

Hopefully you can visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Jaydean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely little establishment”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a super little restaurant and a Wednesday menu is a bargain.
The only thing I would suggest is possibly providing more menu choices for vegetarians or changing them more often. When we visited (three times within 3 months) the only veggie main course remained the same. Although to be fair on one occasion the very nice waitress did offer to make us something else off the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisyboo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott O, Manager at Oliver at Bollington green, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our restaurant.

We do appreciate your comments regarding our choices, although the set price menu is a shorter menu than our A La Carte but we do agree that perhaps it might be an idea to offer an alternative vegetarian option for regular customers, which is why you will have been offered an alternative.

We do pride ourselves on quality and freshness, therefore feel 4 choices per course is an adequate amount for the set price menu.

We do hope you will visit us again and hopefully we can accommodate any further vegetarian requests.

Thanks again.

Regards,

Jaydean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver at Bollington green also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Kerridge, Bollington
 
Bollington, Cheshire
Bosley, Macclesfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing