We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A country pub with winning ways”
Review of Leather's Smithy

Leather's Smithy
Ranked #23 of 205 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This is a traditional pub in a lovely waterside setting on the edge of Macclesfield forest. Excellent food is served lunchtime and evening. A standard menu is supplemented by a daily "blackboard" of "specials" which features the best of local produce. The pub have a range of traditional ales including guest beers. In the winter real fires warm the stone floored bar area as well as the more formal dining area of the pub. Very popular and booking is essential at weekends. As residents of the area we aware of what the competition has to offer and feel that Leather's Smithy provides excellent food of consistent quality at a very fair price.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A country pub with winning ways”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Leather's Smithy. It was a special occasion - the first time I'd taken my wife out for a meal, following her sustaining a very nasty injury from a fall. We had an instant good feeling about the place, when we we're greeted with a smile from behind the bar. The atmosphere was what you always hope for from a country pub - stone walls with a blazing open fire and friendly, helpful staff. There was an a la carte printed menu and an extensive chalk board menu, leaving you literally spoilt for choice. Good quality home cooked food and plenty of it. All reasonably priced too. I don't know how they cook their chips, but they are to die for! We visited after dark, but the views must be stunning in daylight, as the pub sits on the edge of Macclesfield Forest, right by a reservoir.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xraydiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    75
    17
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk and good food”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Interesting menu that regularly changes around but never fails to deliver in taste and food quality. Great service and a perfect location right on the edge of Macclesfield forest only adds to the experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyWylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chalk Board Menu is a real corker!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Real home cooked food, proper man size portions. Genuine locally sourced meats cooked by one great chef. Guest beers are great too, my only comment to the Smithy is maybe find a better Vanilla Ice cream, yours is a bit supermarket and lacked real vanilla flavouring.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good pub, good food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

A friendly pub with a good atmosphere and very popular with hikers. We booked a table for about 5pm on a Saturday afternoon and when we arrived our table was there with a reserved sign and close to the real log fire. Food was good and reasonably priced. Fish and chips great, a nice big fish. Mrs had the Duck which was also good. No room for desserts. Wouldn't think twice about eating here again.

Helpful?
Thank cDaveMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Honest Grub In A Friendly Environment”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We normally eat here once a month & are always guaranteed good food. I wouldn't recommend the steak if your preference is for rare to medium as they tend to be a little on the well done side, but the pies ect are spot on. The staff are always friendly & give good banter.

Great setting also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spudster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leather's Smithy also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Leather's Smithy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing