We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The biggest rack of ribs!”
Review of Pesto at the Davenport Arms - CLOSED

Pesto at the Davenport Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: An Independent Country Inn serving only freshly cooked and prepared food alongside Real Cask Ales with a good selection on the wine list. Cosy and comfortable bar with log burner, settles, leather winged chairs and candles! Through to the restaurant for slightly more formal....(But not very!)Dining. Daily Chefs Specials and Home made desserts. Well known for our Famous Fish and chips and Giant Rack of succulent Ribs! Large garden with patio, decking and summer house.
Wilmslow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The biggest rack of ribs!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had a lovely meal with my wife and 2 daughters on 19th February. Service was very good but not intrusive. The menu had a wide selection that would surely meet most tastes. Presentation was 1st class and everything was beautifully cooked. Top marks!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank braidwick9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    66
    19
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy little pub with excellent atmosphere”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I visited the Davenport Arms in July for a birthday lunch with a number of friends.
Both the choice and quality of food was excellent and the pub was fully booked and for a mid week lunchtime this speaks volumes for it's popularity.
The staff were very pleasant, however the only slight let down (and what stops it being 5 out of 5) was that we found the service to be quite slow once we had been seated. We also found, at times, that the 2 waiting staff seemed to be struggling to cope with the amount of customers and seemed to be a little flustered at certain intervals.
All in all a very nice pub and one that I will no doubt be visiting in the future.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kelleybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Good choice beautifully cooked for a fair price. Outside seating area too.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank ESHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A warm cosy pub with outstanding food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Fantastic menu that caters for all tastes! Children's play area is well equipped for hours of fun. The staff are very polite and friendly as are the locals. A must stop if you are ever passing through Marton

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vk_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great local beers, warm fire, warm welcome.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It would be fair to say we regard this pub as our local now, even though its about 5 miles from our house and a much closer pub. Why do we keep coming back (every week nearly), well because of the atmosphere, service, food, beer and great landlords !
There is always a local beer or two available, an excellent blonde ale from a brewery in Glossop at the last visit, Congleton Brewery and Storm Brewery ales also feature regularly.
For food you can either sit in the main restaurant, or in the main bar area, we sit in the bar normally where there are a variety of chairs, sofas and benches, and a nice warm fire in the winter ! There is a regular menu and a daily specials menu, plus also a curry night on Tuesday nights (i think). Food quality is always high and whilst not the cheapest pub food around it is streets ahead of the Chef & Brewer/Wetherspoons type of pubs.
The landlord and landlady (we must ask their names one day !) are excellent hosts, and the staff are attentive and well trained.
The pub is on the main A34 but you don't hear anything unless the windows are open, anyway its a 30mph limit so passing traffic is not too noticeable. In the summer there is an excellent beer garden out back and the owners keep some small animals further down the garden. There is also a field for anyone wanting to camp.
This could be the perfect country pub, no piped music, no slot machines, no games machines, just good food, great beer and a great English pub atmosphere. Perhaps it is perfect ?

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoom6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesto at the Davenport Arms also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing