We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable visit”
Review of Capesthorne Hall

Capesthorne Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An enjoyable visit”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I visited Capesthorne with my young grandson and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. We were there on a Monday, so paid only £4.50 for the car which gave us access to the grounds, chapel and tearoom and then an extra £2 to visit the house. I thought this was very good value, compared to the prices one pays elsewhere. We arrived just after noon and the house doesn't open until 1.30pm but we had brought a picnic and had a walk down to the lake. The gardens looked lovely and very well-kept.

The guides in the house were very pleasant, asking my grandson his name and pointing out things which might be of particular interest to a child. There aren't a great many rooms open, considering the size of the house, but we especially liked the child's room and the box room!

We went into the tearoom for an ice cream; the choice of sandwiches and cakes seemed rather limited but everything looked fresh and the seating area was very clean and comfortable.

All-in-all, a very pleasant afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireLilyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    15
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not enough to see.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We paid £7.50 each to view the hall and garden's but I was disappointed by the amount of rooms that were open for viewing. Also the guide books on offer for sale were not very impressive.

Also, I was surprised that the taking of photographs were not allowed inside the house even though it is used as a wedding venue, so if you want to take your own images for recommendation on where to hold a family wedding then you will be refused.

We sampled an afternoon tea and the lemon drizzle cake was delicious.

The garden's were the best value in this visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LindiManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Must rate as one of the best Campsites in Cheshire”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Capesthorne Hall campsite for 2 nights. Great facilities, almost brand new toilet block, put into place in Sept 2013.
The site was quiet and well maintained, good pitches with nearly all of them with power. Approx 3/4 of them are hard standing.
While we were there a car show was staged on the main lawns and grounds, a great addition to a wonderful long weekend.

Although the price per night was quite high - £30, We will definitely be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PLW5056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Staying at the Big House”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had planned to do a bit of trout fishing at Westlowe Mere with a friend of mine from Bridgnorth, as its a bit of a drag down to Congleton from our places we thought we might as well make a weekend of it and let the ladies catch up as well, we booked into the recently opened Caravan site at Capesthorne Hall, a very plush, and beautifully manicured site, with the poshest loo block I've seen in a longtime. A phone call saw us booked onto the site, but Unfortunately work intruded into the planned friday getaway, but a quick phone call to Capesthorne saw us dropping off the van on the thursday, this summed the service up, a proper upstairs /downstairs service with no problems or obstacles allowed to get in the way of your enjoyment. The only downside was having to strike camp and dissapear on the Sunday before the hall opened at 12pm I would have loved to have had the guided tour of the house and gardens. 10/10 for service and surroundings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth the £2 entry fee”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Where can you go seriously and only pay £2 admission fee. Well worth the money. Knowledgable Guides, pleasant staff. Great Cafe area, Butlers Pantry for snacks. Lovely walk around the lake and gardens. Disappointed with the 'Festival of Cars Vehicles' weekend. Went specifically to see VW's and Jaguars ...hmmm, none turned up! The Hall was definitely a bonus.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBAMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capesthorne Hall also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Capesthorne Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing