We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem, but perhaps a bit too little.”
Review of The Treacle Tap

The Treacle Tap
Ranked #50 of 205 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Small cosy European-style bar a stones throw from Macclesfield railway station, serving coffee, teas, fine wine, world beers but main specialities are local real ale and fabulous pies!
Macclesfield
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little gem, but perhaps a bit too little.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, lively little establishment. Sells an excellent variety of bottles and a few hand pumps on. Service is always very good and everyone made to feel welcome. It can be expensive that's the only really down side and apart from the size. Could do with doubling it and I think with the right location, the same staff the same atmosphere can be achieved. So come on get it sorted and revive my custom more often. When this place is quiet or half full it's very relaxing and chilled out but when full a nightmare. But I will say well done and keep up the hard work just need a little bit more space.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Ah! We thought the same, that's why we opened a bigger one :). Check out The Young Pretender in Congleton. Thanks for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrow
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant Micro pub”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Small bar converted from a shop. A very friendly conversational atmosphere, with excellent service from very knowledgable bar staff. The pub has a good range of real ales which are constantly changed as one runs out, so you get to try lots of different beers if you want. The bar has a great range of craft beers on draught and a large continental bottle range, so something for everybody. Didn't eat here but the Pie (several varieties) and peas looked good and was good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnClementHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review; much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great little pub!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

great little pub with large choice of bottled beers and a small number of draught real ales. Pies looked good but we did not eat on the night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank msykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for the positive review, we are always delighted to get them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How great little pubs should be done”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Great little pub with a lively atmosphere and massive selection of world beers. 'nuff said, perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonWhite82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for the review and the five stars, always gratefully received!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great if you're an Ale/Beer fanatic but a bit small and cramped”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is usually my starting place when i go out as i like the relaxed feel and the customers are a bit more my age or older (31). It is just a bit small and fills up very quickly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicklepickle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BNJR, Owner at The Treacle Tap, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for the positive review! If you like the beer selection but want bit more space, do check out our sister bar The Young Pretender in Congleton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Treacle Tap also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to The Treacle Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing