We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cat and Fiddle inn - CLOSED

Cat and Fiddle inn
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The Cat and Fiddle is the second highest pub in England, highest in Cheshire. The pub has been recently taken over by the Snowgoose Live team from Macclesfield, looking to bring live music and a fresh atmosphere to the vintage building. With a new chef, using the best ingredients & cooking fresh local produce every day for a more extensive menu, feel free to put your feet up in front of our log fires and take in the panoramic views of the entire Derbyshire Dales right the way to the Welsh Hills. Cozy, warm and welcoming, the pub has been littered with various cruios, puzzles and books to wile away a rainy afternoon & keep the kids entertained. The pub is popular with cyclist and walkers who use the trails around us, and bikers who love the winding run from Buxton to Macclesfield, as well as families and parties; the Cat and Fiddle can cater to all.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited Wed lunchtime. Have heard a lot about the Cat & Fiddle so had to call in when passing. Very disappointed. The pub wasn't very busy but took ages to get served. Food menu very limited and service was slow.
Pub not very clean and not somewhere I would go again. OK if desperate but not recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ifachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatandFiddle P, Public Relations Manager at Cat and Fiddle inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Ifachef,

I'm sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your visit to The Cat & Fiddle Inn. The slow service is something we can only apologise for and make it a priority to get this sorted with the bar/waiting staff. I also apologise that you felt the menu was limited, our chef provides three menus throughout the day; breakfast, lunch & dinner, as well as a Daily Specials board, and I'm sorry you felt this wasn't extensive enough, are there any specific dishes you would like to see? Finally, I can assure you that the pub is cleaned thoroughly morning and night, as well as general cleaning throughout the day, but of course we can always be better and we will strive to address these issues.
Thank-you for your feedback,

Best wishes,

The Cat & Fiddle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    47
    22
    28
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“expected so much more from here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have driven past the cat and fiddle so many times over the years, we thought yesterday we'd stop for lunch, we expected it to be a bit of a destination pub with good standards.....
I have to say that the sandwiches we had were ok, good quality ham etc.
The whole place needs refurbing, its dirty, carpets filthy, the radiator by our table covered in food stains and splashes etc., if you want a tea you are given it at the bar and told 'the milk is on the table behind you', you then find a large jug of milk just sat there, could've been there hours souring away.
We also saw a member of staff bring some food from the kitchen, she spilt a little on her finger and promptly licked her finger and continued!!! also i was given a knife and fork to eat my soup! when i got a spoon it was filthy, and i got a dirty look when i asked for a clean one!

We were thoroughly disappointed, as rather than getting bums on seats by providing quality, they rely on people going just because its the cat and fiddle!
I would advise anyone to carry on and have a meal in buxton or macclesfield!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tonymawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatandFiddle P, Public Relations Manager at Cat and Fiddle inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Tonymawr,

Sorry to hear your expectations were not met on your visit to The Cat & Fiddle. Firstly, I would like to let you know that the new landlords are currently in the process of refurbing/redecorating the whole pub, which is going to take some time so please bear with us :) We clean the pub throroughly every day, but thank-you for bringing to our attention some things that are clearly being overlooked. The tea and coffee stations in each room are to aid quicker bar service, checked on at regular intervals, and the milk jugs are washed and refreshed at least once an hour, so please don't be concerned that we leave them unattended for hours. The staff remmeber you from your visit, and would like to assure you they did not intend to appear hostile or hassled, and apologise if you got that impression. Finally, the new landlords are eager to bring The Cat & Fiddle back to life, and their No.1 interest is to provide quality and not just coast on the pubs reputation. Once again, sorry your visit wasn't up to scratch, and I hope if you choose to visit again you find these issues rectified,
Thank-you for your feedback,

Best wishes,

The Cat & Fiddle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited the cat and fiddle recently for a lunch time meal. The pub was lovely inside and the staff were very welcoming. Ordered some drinks which were well priced.

Looked at the menu which gave a good choice for all. We ordered food and this was delicious and also well priced. Portion size was good and quality was fantastic. I highly recommend the Thai curry and roast dinner!

The location was lovely - we visited on an average day but I imagine in the Summer the views would be stunning. I would definately recommend this place to others and will be returning myself. All in all, a fanstastic place to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatandFiddle P, Guest Relations Manager at Cat and Fiddle inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi Gillian R,

Thank-you so much for your gleaming review of The Cat & Fiddle Inn. We are so glad you found everything to your liking, the Thai Curry was such a popular special! Looking forward to seeing you again,

Best wishes,

The Cat & Fiddle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

ordered two bacon butties and teas at an incredible cost of £10.00 Slow service and poorly presented. Only saving grace was the bread. Fresh and soft but not worth a fiver a piece. Won't be going there again. its a real shame because the views are outstanding. Oh and shame there are average speed cameras on the road but that's not the pubs fault!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a drink as we had never been before decided to stay for a bite to eat we had 3 beef baguettes they where ok but the chips bin the dirty pint glasses where horrible and greasy but on a plus note the beautiful labrador Joy was the sweetest dog and would return just to see the dog

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyhunter20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat and Fiddle inn also viewed

 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Adlington, Macclesfield
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing