We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't recommend !”

Legh Arms Adlington
Ranked #112 of 205 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went today as a family of four. Nice greeting on arrival but went down from there! 15-20 minute wait for drinks. Ordered a children's meal and they forgot it was brought out after I had to ask where it was a further 30 mins later!. Carvery was bland and lacking in choice. Children's meal deal was a con as the waitress later pointed out that advertised fruit shoots are not included but the waiter previously said they were?? No offer to amend the situation after the appalling wait we had. Spent two stressful hours there and most certainly will not be going back. My advice is too avoid!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    43
    36
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bollington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went for a friends wedding! Function room was lovely!! staff nice, food was really good especially as it was a carvery for a large party!! would recommend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Efficient Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Called in for quick lunch. The sandwiches we ordered were filling and carefully made. The beer was excellent. Everywhere is very clean and meals are reasonably priced. The carvery seemed to be very popular. The best part for us was the excellent service from all the staff. They were so cheerful and very willing to oblige. The last time we were there we joined the over 50s Diamond Club and we get a discount on the food. Well worth enquiring about...and when it is your birthday month you get a bottle of wine!
Will certainly go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redcar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Depends what you order”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

have been to this pub on numerous occasions & always chosen the carvery which is consistently good. Last night I chose from the menu & was seriously disappointed. Both the starter & main course I chose did not match their descriptions on the menu & were both missing key ingredients. The Sesame Teriyaki Chicken Skewers had never seen a skewer in their life & were merely chargrilled chicken fillet strips- no sesame or teriyaki flavour. The main course was a cod loin which was supposedly served on a spring onion & bacon mash. It arrived with plain old mashed potato. The pudding wasn't much to write home about either! All in all very disappointing. I'll stick to the carvery if we go again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amg2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
284 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good for Sunday carvery with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have enjoyed the carvery here many times since the renovation a few years ago. It used to be a Wacky Warehouse and was terrible back then. Although it wouldn't be my first choice for a special or romantic meal, it is ideal for meeting up with family or friends at the weekend. I haven't tried the a la carte menu as we tend to go for Sunday lunch where the carvery is reasonable value for money and saves the time and hassle of doing it at home. There is plenty of seating for larger groups and ample parking. The wine list is a bit disappointing and there have been several occasions when they have run out of what we wanted to order. They really should consider offering more variety and including a few higher end wines in the £20-30 range. Overall, it is slightly better than your average pub food and family friendly which keeps us returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TruerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legh Arms Adlington also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Legh Arms Adlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing