We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
202
170
112
67
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
202
170
112
67
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wowcher deal cream tea evening meal afternoon tea glass of prosecco lovely building entrance hall scones buffet style night break white nancy a living social deal compliments to the chef the main house country house hotel new owners christmas decorations
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 591 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night break with meal and breakfasts, the hotel is nice place to stay with lots of history.The bedrooms could do with a refit but still pleasant to be in. We had an issue with ordering food from the bar the last night but was sorted out straight away by Tony the owner.My only suggestion is it would have been nice to see the staff in a nice uniform for the type of place it is. Would I stay and recommend this hotel yes 100% look forward to coming back

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

We have just stayed on a 1night bed and breakfast stay with cream tea, Prosecco and 3 course evening meal and I can honestly say we have had the most pleasant stay. The evening meal was to die for! The pan fried sesame salmon was so tasty and the baked Alaska to share, WOW! I have never tasted a dessert like it! I will be back for more! Thank you so much Hollin Hall, your location is spot on, lovely walks and pubs on your doorstep and the hospitality of your staff was a delight. Your warm cosy fires are very inviting too! Looking forward to returning soon.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sallyhewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollinMgt, Owner at Hollin Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Dear Sally,

How uplifting a review. Many thanks for taking the time and I am delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay.

Best Regards
Tony Biddlecombe
Director
Hollin Hall Hotel Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

MY WIFE AND I[AND OUR LITTLE DOG BEX] Have just returned from a 2 night Wowcher Deal stay at The Hollins Hall, as the name suggests this is an old stately home type establishment that has many great original features and is full of character. On the whole i have to agree with previous reviewers that there are few areas which require attention, IE, Some internal decor and furnishings , i would add that this is a very well visited establishment which consequently will always need some kind of decor/updating etc, something which is difficult to do if bookings are high and constant. Prior to our visit i obviously checked reviews on here and found a couple of very poor reviews[along with many very good reviews]one in particular which concentrated mainly on the staff at the hotel,i can honestly say i found all the staff to be V V good and tried very hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, we had particular contact with LEE and Pedro who worked front of house in the restaurant and bar/lounge area, both these guys were extremely pleasant and professional giving me great service during my stay.We did have issues in the restaurant with regards to service, this i feel was definitely down to a shortage of staff at PEAK periods[VALENTINES NIGHT, AND BREAKFAST]When those on duty were really trying to 'juggle' to many tasks at once, non the less they gave it a pretty good try and i commend them for that. We had a very pleasant stay, in a room which was spacious and clean with comfy bed and a pleasant view over the Valley, plenty of parking space and easy access to our room and other parts of the hotel, i did have issues with some points during my stay which i pointed out to the young lady on reception, if she has noted them as promised i no doubt may get some form of reply from the management. All in all i would still say this hotel offers good value for money and hopefully will use again when visiting friends who live close to the Hall. Surrounding area is very picturesque and well worth a visit. Hopefully my review is helpful to both future residents and hotel management, once again thanks for looking after us on our stay and look forward to seeing you again, Allen, Chris and Bex.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollinMgt, Owner at Hollin Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Dear Chris and Bex,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. It is really appreciated. Our efforts need to be directed towards maintaining a consistently good experience. Reviewers sometimes give us a 1 star review so we are clearly not everyone's cup of tea and clearly to generate a 1 star we must have made mistakes. So it is this consistency that is needed, coupled with staff training and development.

All the best
Tony Biddlecombe
Director
Hollin Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019 via mobile

Booked the wowcher deal and it was well worth it! Had a great time here with my husband for Valentine’s Day!
We had a nice easy friendly check in service and then had our cream tea with Prosecco
The rooms were spacious the only thing we was upset about was that we didn’t get a nice view from our bedroom window that we were expecting from a country hotel, just a brick wall but didn’t bother us that much.
The room was clean and tidy and well presented... it was nice just to chill and relax in the bar area by the fire and have a couple of drinks to be served by the friendly gentleman in the bar area (didn’t get his name) and Pedro.
After this, we went into the restaurant and had food which was well presented, cooked to perfection but we could of had more, it was delicious! The service was excellent especially from Tom who took extra care and worked really hard.
The beds were comfortable and had a good night sleep.
Woke up the next morning, went to the restaurant and had buffet breakfast which again was lovely! The service we received from the lady in restaurant was a bit shocking, she was miserable and wasn’t very friendly or attentive and looked as though she didn’t want to be there. However, Tom was there offering his excellent service to make up.
Checked out of our room and Hannah was on reception who was very friendly and made checking out quick and easy.
Overall, I think the wowcher deal was worth what we paid. However, I think the strain on employees during busy times is evident to see but they work really hard which was really appreciated. Keep up the good work!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Mallika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollinMgt, Owner at Hollin Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Dear Mallika W,

Many thanks for your review and comments it is really appreciated.

Best wishes
Tony Biddlecombe
Director
Hollin Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

to reach the hotel via satellite navigation is confusing for post code only, use jackson lane and post code to avoid confusion. when we finally found the hotel it is lovely with attentive and lovely staff specially to the friendly women in the front desk with the lovely accent ( we did know her name) Thank you so much. upon arrival the lovely women show us to lounge then they give us our cream tea (which delicious) with tea and a glass of proseco. lounge area is cosy with comfy chair. Our room has a decent size but no view is doesn't bother us because we only stay a night for my husband birthday celebration. we have a 3 courses for dinner and buffet breakfast which is lovely and plentiful. I recommend this hotel and we were happy about the service. thank you to all the staff. xxx

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pradamary_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews