We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get what you pay for”

Chadwick House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chadwick House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Macclesfield
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 16th nov. Paid £59 for b & b for two of us. Room was very basic but clean but no hair dryer which booking.com said it had. Parked on nearby street as couldn't find car park. Plus side was a very good breakfast. Only in the room for an hour in total so suited us fine.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
7
23
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was very good value for money, very clean and the owners were welcoming and highly efficient. Parking perfectly fine and owners came out to advise as we were arriving.

We have stayed in hotels of all specifications and in lots of areas and countries and you sometimes get what you paid for. In the Chadwick House Hotel we felt we had what we paid for and more. It is a traditional, decent place to stay which focuses on what it needs to provide Thank you.

We would definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Clean but tired room. No shower. Facing a busy, noisy street.
Poor breakfast.
Over priced.
Overall this was not the best part of our weekend away.
I'll book the Travelodge next time we are in Macclesfield.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken-out-of-Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Macclesfield hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Hotel very clean. Excellent breakfast. Very helpful owners. Walking distance from Macclesfield
town centre. Only drawback very limited parking facilities and no space in nearby streets.
However there is a large public car park within walking distance and is free all day on Sundays.
Weekday parking rates also reasonable at this site and plenty of spaces.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaux, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I went here some months ago, the owners were very nice.
I came for only one night! room was nice!none smoking, so no smell
A nice english breakfast waited me in the morning, it was included in the price!
I think I will come back here next travel in Macclesfield!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AURELIEN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy,rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The owners are really nice and helpful. We stayed one night and the room was ideal for what we needed with an extremely comfortable bed. I would definitely recommend staying here if you plan on looking around Macclesfield and surrounding areas as it very central.

Only suggestion is to have a shower installed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy111111111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Oh dear..... If I was charging £49 a night for a very tatty room, with no add-ons at all (hairdryer, radio alarm, wi-fi) I would be really friendly and helpful, so that I could compete on customer service and charm.

The male owner was unfriendly and unhelpful to the point of rudeness, but the room was even less pleasant. After 3 flights of stairs I opened the door to find a shower cubicle with black mould on the ceiling, a toilet in a cupboard that was so small you couldn't shut the door while sitting on the loo (how could this possibly be sold as an en suite room!?), and really shabby furniture and carpets, with a sagging bed.

The male proprietor should either not be allowed to hand out the keys, or should go on a customer service or anger management course.

To give a balanced review though, the room was as clean as it could be (given the age of the fixtures and fittings and grubbiness of the decor), and the owner's wife, who served a really good breakfast in a spotless and nicely decorated dining room was lovely.

In short, just don't - go to the Premier Inn about half a mile away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
3.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
5.0 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chadwick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chadwick House Hotel

Property: Chadwick House Hotel
Address: 55 Beech Lane, Macclesfield SK10 2DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chadwick House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chadwick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chadwick Hotel Macclesfield
Chadwick House Hotel Macclesfield, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing