We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal for Two”
Review of Egerton Arms

Egerton Arms
Ranked #26 of 206 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Egerton Arms is a traditional country pub with low beams, big fireplaces, bizarre antiques and a long bar with old brass pumps. Having now been revived as a local to the townsfolk of sunny Chelford, the pub features a fully equipped hundred-seater restaurant with friendly table service. All food is sourced locally by our experienced and very serious chefs (serious about food that is). The menu is a selection of classic pub favourites and then the chef goes wild on his specials chopping board.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meal for Two”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In a trip out my partner and I called in to the Egerton for a pub lunch. We noticed when parking that they had won Pub of the Year 2011, car-park relatively quiet though probably due to the holiday season. On entering we were promptly shown to a table, good selection on offer on both the menu and specials board. Great selection of drinks at the bar and real ales. We both fancied something simple and ordered fish & chips and a cheeseburger with all the trimmings. After a relatively short wait the food arrived, the fish was heavenly with a lovely tasty light crispy batter, the cheeseburger the best one I have ever had. The only slight negative were the chips, very pale and probably frozen? Despite this we will definitely be calling in again as we both agreed it was a very enjoyable and good value meal. Hopefully they would have changed their chips for next time and it will be five stars all the way! Briefly spoke with the owner seems a very nice guy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    119
    53
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don`t bother.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After passing this place numerous times in the course of my work,and noting how busy car always
seems to be I rather foolishly expected something better.
My wife,grandson and I arrived at 7.15pm and ordered 1x mixed grill,1xrump steak and sausage and mash.
At 8.15pm the meal finally arrived no explanation as to the delay given,
The mixed grill resembled over cooked road kill with those good old fashioned frozen "home made chips"
Rump steak was nice in its self because that is about all there was just frozen chips and peas to keep it company,no onion ring or tomatoes both stated on menu but not on plate,
Kiddies sausage and mash was ok
Upon paying bill (Best end of £40) gent behind bar kept fishing for compliments and saying hope the wait was worthwhile, well i`am sorry to say fella but you`re deluded all I can say about this place is Overated and Overpriced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Smurfsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really great atmosphere. Very cosy.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Egerton this past weekend for a meal with family. The car park was packed so we were worried everything would take ages to come out but as we had booked a table we were seated straight away. The food selection was great and looked very appetizing. The staff were welcoming and the manager came over to say hi, which I thought was lovely. The roast beef was cooked to order and tasted great but my starter of pate was the show stealer- simply yummy.
The meal was a birthday treat for my boyfriends nan and on the way out the manager gave her a little bottle of pesecco, which made her day. Lovely warm atmosphere, great food cooked to order and all came out hot and together and the service was fab. Top marks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sassyNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Moules and Frites!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Yummy. Good service. Great value. Would go again. Easy to locate and varied menu It is annoying that Trip Advisor is insisting on more text! I have said all I want to say!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Looks a bit dirty in places..but..”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food. Good beers.good service. Deli poor. .bit pricey. .sticky menus and tables..try hard to please...well worth a trip

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suite308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egerton Arms also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Egerton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing