We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good little b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Church House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Church House Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good little b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

went to a weddin at nearby Hollin hall,and with the bad reviews and dear prices opted for this nearby b&b,we got a nice welcome,had a nice bar snack,the room was on the small side but for what we needed was great,but i wouldnt want to spend a week in it,the cooked breakfast was also spot on ,bit father than i thought from hollin hall,son in law picked us up and got a lift back otherwise it was a taxi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stantheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
30
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Part of a group of eight staying at nearby caravan site, we all had excellent food with no complaints. Our orders were taken at the table because there was a group of us and it did not make sense for us all to be going back & forth to the bar. All staff were attentive and friendly and food was good quality and portion size.
Will call again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding, arriving early and getting ourselves pub lunch which we were not disappointed at! we booked a Single, Twin and Double room which were all spacious and spotless. Overall a great stay, would recommend to friends and family looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Another visit with the family saw us dining sumptuously, we had a couple of Sunday roasts, a lamb shank and pork medallions in a peppercorn sauce. The pork was excellent, do tender it just melted in the mouth, my sons lamb shank vanished in no time whilst silence reigned over the table whilst our good ladies demolished their sunday roasts. Four empty plates signalled the waitress overand we finished with the cheese board and coffee, what an end to a good Sunday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I first had a meal at the Church House Inn in Bollington about 5 years ago. Great honest pub meals, generous helpings of sides/ chips and vegetables . On my most recent visit they had changed the menu and the plates went square! I ordered tuna steak and it was over cooked and the sweet chilli sauce tasted like it had come out of a Jar. There was only a small side dish of vegetables that had to go round four people and chip portions were sparing and stacked in a pretentious pile to one corner. The Bilberry pie dessert wasn't bad though.
The atmosphere in the Church House is pleasant and the service is good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m4nch3ster-r4in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I always go there when I go home and can highly recommend their Chilli as well as their fabulous Sunday lunch. Always really friendly but do book a table otherwise Sundays get booked up! Also good to meet up with old friends......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been searching for a pub which actually serves proper pub food at reasonable prices. The Church House Inn delivers this on both accounts. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. We spoke to local people who go several times a week and they said they had never had a bad meal. We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrean51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
0.5 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West Hotel
1.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Chadwick House Hotel
Chadwick House Hotel
#8 of 8 in Macclesfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church House Inn

Property: Church House Inn
Address: 24 Church Street | Bollington, Macclesfield SK10 5PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Church House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Accommodation. The traditional stone-built Church House Inn, on the edge of the Peak District, dates from Bollington’s origins as a cotton mill village. Now it offers a warm welcome for business or pleasure, corporate or personal, to drinkers and eaters who enjoy ‘olde worlde’ open fires with crackling logs and lively conversation in a cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church House Inn Macclesfield, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing