We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”
Review of Church House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Church House Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Four of us stopped off here for a meal on a Saturday evening while staying locally. We were not disappointed, all the food we had was extremely good! Excellent beers at the bar for the guys and the ladies shared a bottle of lovely Viognier which was so good I am searching for it on line!
The waitress was a great laugh and the whole place has a very comfortable, welcoming atmosphere. When we're in this part of the country again we we will certainly eat here, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Church House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a meal while visiting my dad with my son. I had the lamb and it just melted in the mouth. The service was well good and the atmosphere was lovely sat in front of a lovely coal/log fire. I highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jules3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After hearing about the Church House in Bollington, we decided to try a late Sunday lunch. The day was crisp and cold but we were met by a roaring log fire and a very tempting menu. I tried the black pudding starter whilst my companion had a hearty bowl of soup du jour, having been given enough time to chat after our first course, a very pleasant waitress arrived with two plates one of steaming beef and the other lamb, both smothered in a rich gravy accompanied by a couple of dishes of vegetables. I asked for more gravy and it was brought quickly and without fuss. We ate our late lunch amidst the warmth and chat that the more successful eating houses tend to have. Our plates emptied (well nearly anyway) we tucked into crumble and apple pie served with lip licking delicious custard followed by coffee. We sat back and drank our coffee knowing that all the good things we had been told about the Church House were true. Its not all that often you can say that all courses that were placed in front of you at a particular eating house were excellent but on this day I can say they were.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night last weekend, whilst visiting our son. We had the double bed room. Everything was absolutely spotless and very well looked after. The room is small but perfectly fine. It did feel cold in the room even though the heating was on was , but this is a really old building (fabulous character with amazingly thick walls!)- and it heated up very quickly with the additional heater, so not a problem at all.The only negative I have (hence very good, not excellent rating ) was the pillows- which were really hard and flat (I do acknowledge that I am a bit pillow obsessive, but even so they were really solid). Breakfast was very nice- I had the vegetarian version without pre- ordering this; plenty of juice and coffee. All the staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. We would love to return on our next visit and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Booked for just one night as seeing a band in the locality. Staff pleasant and friendly. Had a very nice meal on arrival, which was tastey and plentiful. Our room wasn't very big but nice and adequate and everywhere clean. However, the room and bathroom were chilly but an electric fire is provided in the room.Unfortunately, the TV in the room wasn't good as we could barely see the picture but this wasn't too bad given the short time we were there. However we had a fabulous cooked breakfast, including a vegitarian one that we only requested that morning. Bollington is a lovely area and only 10 minutes from Macclesfield town centre, which is good for shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

There was barely any space to move around our double bed. However, the staff was very helpful. Chris, the bartender went above and beyond with helping us get cash to setting us up with cabs. The breakfast was a plentiful traditional English breakfast...egg, toast, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, tomato and beans. Also, a selection of cereals and OJ and coffee or tea. The pub down stairs is bustling with locals for lunch, dinner and evening hours. It was a memorable stay.

Room Tip: If you are a couple traveling and would like more space, ask for the room with two twin beds over th...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had been for walk to White Nancy a landmark in the hills nearby earlier in the summer and popped in for a glass of wine on the way home, we saw people eating and commented how delicious the meals looked so decided to go back for a meal which we did last week. I had salmon with tarragon sauce with dauphinoise potatoes and i can truly say it was delicious, all freshly cooked, and you could tell it was by the taste the veg were cooked to perfection, my partner had the chicken pie in shortcrust pastry with veg and home made chips he said it was really delicious too. The service was quick and the staff are very friendly indeed from the bar staff to the waiting on staff, we were very impressed, it is not pretentious just a very pleasant country pub with good restaurant class food, oh and the food was presented beautifully too, we hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravenchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macclesfield
0.5 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
2.5 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
320 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church House Inn

Address: 24 Church Street | Bollington, Macclesfield SK10 5PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range: $77 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Accommodation. The traditional stone-built Church House Inn, on the edge of the Peak District, dates from Bollington’s origins as a cotton mill village. Now it offers a warm welcome for business or pleasure, corporate or personal, to drinkers and eaters who enjoy ‘olde worlde’ open fires with crackling logs and lively conversation in a cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Church House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church House Inn Macclesfield, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing