We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freindly service, amazing view okay food”
Review of Hanging Gate Inn

Hanging Gate Inn
Ranked #31 of 205 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are small country pub with outstanding views across the Cheshire Plain, we serve food of the highest standards under the guidance of acclaimed chef patron Ernst van Zyl who moved into the kitchen permanently at the end of October. We serve light bites 12/2:30 Wednesday - Saturday and a lazy lunch menu same days until 2pm. Friday and Saturday lunch and evenings we also offer a 5 course tasting menu with or without wine flight and Wednesday - Saturday evenings our a la carte menu. Sunday is traditional roasts day with a super choice of dishes cooked to order. Our wine list is wonderful with lots of fabulous wines and we always have our hydes original and a guest beer on draft. We close Monday and Tuesday. Look forward to seeing you soon. THG team.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Freindly service, amazing view okay food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to the hanging gate over the bank holiday weekend, i have been several times for the amazing views over the Northwest and for a drink, this was however my first time for a meal.

As you would expect from a pub like this the décor in the restaurant was very traditional. I am sad to say though the first table we sat at was dirty and there was a few stains on the table cloth but we moved without any bother.

The starters were excellent ( i highly recommend the Spicy fish cakes), but the main meal was a bit bland and nothing special.

It was reasonably priced and the owner is very friendly and made us feel welcome, if you haven't been I would recommend going it is well worth it for a lovely pint and and amazing views.

Thanks very much

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    47
    26
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Food and Location are Great the Land Lady can be really rude.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I have known this pub for years. Great food' lovely views over the cheshire plains, an old pub with small snug rooms. The Chief is a great cook and a nice man. This pub could be a real Gold Mine if it was not for his wife who looks after front of office. She can be an an Ogre! But can be sweetness and light somedays. The rule of thumb dont expect a welcome if you are close to time on food. The last time I was in she was busy and we were moved 3 times. She even suggested other pubs for desert. How unwelcoming is that.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank johnikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely for a quick drink”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We were out driving and came across this pub by accident and it was quite quaint. Lovely log fire, lots of walkers and dogs and a beautiful setting with fantastic views. Definitely worth a visit. There is a lovely restaurant as well which by all accounts has a great reputation but we only visited mid afternoon so didn't try it and therefore can't comment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Following on from 'Bunnymummy'(!)”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I think 'Bunnymummy' (the name says what might apparently be in the tin) has missed the point of proper British pubs. This is an excellent, quirky, very old pub on a hillside with stunning views over Cheshire. The bar is small and unique, the rooms 'go down the hill' and are also unique, the beer (Hydes of Manchester) is very well kept, and the food is varied, home cooked, and all locally sourced. There are also real fires. If any of the above does not appeal to other bunnymummies, bunnydaddies etc, then there are plenty of other 'plastic' pubs that will do. All the pubs in this area around the forest have their own character.
We had an excellent meal in here, alongside a large group of walkers who had passed quite a few other pubs to get here, and everyone was very satisfied with the beer and the excellent food on offer.
The landlady can come across as a bit 'pushy' when it comes to telling you what is on offer, but she is only working hard at trying to promote her business in what is, after all, a very out-of-the-way location, and family run, not merely managed. Her husband cooks the food.
If you like 'unique' with all that might entail, this, and other pubs round this area, are for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Real Country Inn!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Called into this TRADITIONAL country inn after a lovely walk around Macc. Forest with our dog, who was made very welcome. What a pleasure :) - These pubs are very few and far between now, we found the Landlady to be extremely friendly, efficient and hardworking, the food was excellent (we had two Roast Beef), don't change a thing (apart from maybe run your own pub & don't work for a brewery who are unwilling it invest in a good thing) - looking forward to calling again soon....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanging Gate Inn also viewed

Kerridge, Bollington
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Hanging Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing