We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Evening”
Review of Balti Kitchen

Balti Kitchen
Ranked #67 of 205 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Was spent at the Balti Kitchen. Thoroughly enjoyable and tasty Indian food. The prices are extremely reasonable for a town centre and the Menu large and varied. Slightly unsure about my "flat" Strongbow being from a bottle but never mind, it was a good night out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow, what a find. Excellent food, fantastic value, brilliant atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Usually, I would never consider going for a curry with friends anywhere but the curry mile in Manchester. But, I was chatting to another friend in Macclesfield who recommended The Balti Kitchen, so we thought we would give it a try.

Stuck away in Park Green, at the end of town, it looks nothing. Once inside , we were immediately welcomed and offered Bombay Mix. Even at 7:30 on a Saturday night, we were found a table within 5 minutes. The place looks small, but actually has 3 rooms, with one very large one at the back (ideal for large groups as we discovered later).

We decided to order from the set menu for 2. £27.90 for poppadoms, chutneys, one veg. Starter, 2 starters (onion Baji etc.), 2 mains (usual fair-madras etc.) ,one rice and one main.

The service was great, very efficient and very friendly. The food was piping hot and absolutely gorgeous. Lots of herbs and spices delicately flavouring it.

Then the whole of Macclesfield Rugby Club arrived to provide the "musical? Entertainment"

A fantastic evening.

We will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BECHESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in Essex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a bargain!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

On our trip to the Peak District we toyed with the idea of going to another Indian restaurant..ranked no.1 but upon arrival it was empty so we decided to look at a few ours and came across Balti Kitchen which was very busy for a Sunday night.

After a small wait we were shown to our table, the staff were attentive and the decor pleasant. There were couples and large groups.

Sunday night meals are £9.95 for five courses, poppadum, starter, main, rice or nan, ice cream and coffee.

Everything arrived piping hot and was tasty, although not spicy. Portions were generous.

There was piped Indian music and the meal finished with an After Eight.

Altogether a lovely meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkytwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely new vibe in the extended Balti Kitchen!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having been in the Balti Kitchen alot in the past, it was always a very nice visit with great food and service, last night 6 of us dropped in to check out the new re-fit extension. The visit was well worth it, the food gets better (if thats possible !) and the new extension adds a great new vibe to the place.
Well done to all the guys at the Balti Kitchen, we will be back again real soon!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quality food, affordable price, excellent service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Yet again the Balti kitchen lives up to its exceedingly high reputation from over 20 years in the business in Macclesfield. The service is second to none, the quality and choice of food exceptional. We were a party of11 dining with varied choices and were all very pleased with the service and quality of food. We chose the special menu at £9.95 having pappadoms, starters, main meal, rice or nan and rounded off with coffee. How they manage such quality at this price is beyond me. The refurb is contemporary and has character of old Macc town, and can't wait for the V.I.P area...here's hoping they let me in that part...well done Pav, Mo and family , looking forward already to our return

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suearmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balti Kitchen also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Balti Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing