We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect all round!”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning period home with a modern twist
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning period home with a modern twist
Delightful bright lounge Modern art throuhout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Stunning period home with a modern twist
Delightful bright lounge
Modern art throuhout
Safe off road parking and so close to Ballyholme Beach
Relax in the kitchen snug
Relax in the kitchen snug
Gas hob with two electric ovens and grill
Period features and the personal touch
Modern bathroom upstairs - bath
Modern bathroom upstairs - bath
Modern bathroom upstairs - toilet
Modern bathroom upstairs - double shower
Feature stained glass window
Downstairs cloakroom
Downstairs cloakroom
Superb landscaped back  garden - gas BBQ & solid teak furniture
So peaceful - relax and enjoy
King Size Bed at rear - cosy feel!
Front bedroom - fresh feel!
King size bed at front
Fine dining - we even provide crystal!
Dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Poppet6
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect all round!”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent communication from Paula from the day of booking to arriving at Tinamara, she is always just an email away and very friendly and helpful. The house is located in an extremely quiet residential street with ample off road parking. There are shops and beautiful beaches a 5 minute walk away, the location is fantastic! The house was immaculate when we arrived with absolutely everything you need and more besides! Paula left very clear written instructions on how to use everything. The décor is lovely and the garden is fab if you have the weather! We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 days here and will definitely be booking here for our next visit to Northern Ireland! Would recommend to anyone wanting easy comfortable home from home accommodation in Bangor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and location
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polyesthe...
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is the second time we have stayed here. Great wee spot - so handy to the beach and shops. Excellent facilities - so well equipped and to a very high standard. Would recommend this 100%.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogues35
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“perfectly set up”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Tinamara for a week and the overall impression was definitely 5-star. The house is detached, in a quiet area within easy reach of Bangor and Belfast and the picturesque costal towns around. Everything is provided, from towels to toaster. Laura is a very professional host and there are clear written instructions on how to use everything, laundry, heating, tv etc. And it's all very easy.
The best thing about this house is that you don't really have to think about it at all; it's all so clear, clean and easy to use, you can get on with your trip with no worries! It's really a model home for holiday letting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ease of use
Liked least: small living room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wonderful experience from booking of the property, communication with Paula and our stay there. It is a beautiful property and was such comfortable stay with close proximity to the local shops and the beach. Will definitely be staying again in the future.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorati...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great base for a Northern Ireland family holiday”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 weeks during Christmas and January at Tinamara, and will definitely be returning. We were delighted with our welcome - the heaters had been turned on ensuring we were cosy from the minute we arrived; and the chocolates and prosecco were a nice touch. Christmas lights and baubles helped get us in the Christmas spirit, and when the owner heard we were planning to cook Christmas dinner at the house, she dropped around a new electric carving knife for us. I loved the soft large towels, the linen that smelt of lavender, a very well-equipped kitchen and crockery and glassware that was stylish and matching, not the odd pieces we have encountered in many holiday rentals. We have stayed in a few places in Bangor, and Tinamara is by far the best we have encountered, both in terms of quality and the ease of arranging the stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dot C
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful N Ireland holiday experience by the sea in Bangor.”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We arrived tired after our sea voyage to find a fabulously equipped five star home near Ballyholme in Bangor. The rooms were all prepared to a high standard of cleanliness and a lot of thought had been put into the décor, furnishings and fittings. The house was well prepared and welcoming lights had been lit for us. A good range of basic provisions had also been provided. Each bedroom had plenty of storage space and beds were large and very comfortable. The extensive kitchen had every luxury appliance, it made cooking a joy - we made very good use of the chilled water and ice!! It was lovely to relax in the kitchen after a day's sightseeing. The dining room was a great place to linger over a meal - the local Thai restaurant providing some fabulous dishes. The Wi-fi was great for the teenager to keep in touch with friends etc. Huge bathroom with both large walk-in shower and separate bath was a luxury!! We spent most evenings curled up on the lounge sofa in front of a gorgeous fire watching our favourite DVDs. The driveway fits 2 cars easily for off road parking. To the rear was a lovely relaxing space - decked, with water feature - lovely for that morning coffee - always sunny (when the sun shone!) The laundry room was also well used after those wet returns from Ballyholme beach - just a 5 mins walk away - we went before breakfast most days.
All in all it was the perfect break for us (3 generations with teenager!!) - very quiet but within 5 mins walk of every convenience and that all important beach!! Suffice to say that we have already booked it for next July and we are all really looking forward to another wonderful Tinamara experience!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of everything in the house and closeness of the beach.
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireTho...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly formed, wonderfully located, home from home.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay at this fab house was perfectly co-ordinated by the owner Paula from beginning to end......
Communication was easy, nothing was too much trouble and there was great flexibility in Paula's approach. Both from accepting paypal for deposit payment, putting an extra bed in the second bedroom, to posting our son's accidentally abandoned, but adored cuddly toy home first class post. What more could we ask for?
Well read on....
On arrival we discovered an extremely stylish and well appointed property. The kitchen was spacious comfortable and very well equipped. Even the most demanding of guests would be hard pushed to find something missing or wrong. Top notch appliances and definitely not the feeling of second class rental property exuded.... this was not someone's cast offs but definitely the best of the best.
The décor was well planned and executed with real charm and elegance. I especially liked the eclectic mix of contemporary versus antique. Antique mirrors, windows, and interesting and varied artwork.

One particularly welcome surprise (as a mum of two - oh the glamour!), was the wash room at the back of the garage. A place to have the washing machine whirring away, out of earshot. Plenty of space and light to iron and hang out clothes to dry with the creative use of the extendable drying line both inside and out!

The outdoor space was so tranquil. Water feature, Wow... Paula I will be in touch when I am in a position to add one of these to my own garden to find out where it's from!! This is a relaxing space. So well planned and surprisingly private. A triumph.

The living spaces are small but perfectly formed. Gas fire, plenty of comfortable seating, coasters, TV.s in all rooms. A downstairs cloakroom with hooks for all number of guests.

The bedrooms are just what every guest hopes for in a base.. a comfortable bed and enough storage.

The main bathroom offered a twin aspect. So bright, yet not uncomfortably clinical, offered warm water all day long (turn up the boiler thermostat if having a bath) and plenty of soft towels and storage.

The local area musts;

Ba Won; I discovered this accidentally and what an absolute find! Satay Chicken is to die for!

Ballyholme Beach.... so beautiful. Less than 5 minutes walk.

Centra... top of Windmill Road - a handy shop for cheap essentials.

Plenty of amenities within walking distance; off sales, pharmacist, dry cleaners, café, newsagents.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing