We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelleven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Styed here in connection with a wedding we were attending - guests of the groom filled the establishment for the week prior to the wedding - Mary and Philip could not have been better hosts - they actually hosted a champagne reception for the guests who were not participating in the rehearsal dinner - breakfast was substantial and very tasty - we highly recommend the pancakes which are more like crepes - wonderful - location is very close to the center of Bangor as well as the bus station - so Belfast is within easy access - place is immaculate and very quiet - they have a wide range of rooms - ours was fairly small and we could have used more drawer space - but all in all, we were very pleased with the Shelleven and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 235 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2009

I had to organize bringing nearly twenty family and friends to Northern Ireland from the U.S. for my son's wedding in November. At least for a couple of days, our party occupied the whole house. From the very first time I met Mary in March, she was very helpful, and patient with ever-changing arrival and departure dates on the part of those numerous guests. Upon arrival, nothing could have exceeded the welcome. Phillip and Mary graciously made accomodation for the elderly grandparents who were part of the group and coordinated the room cleaning on the day of the wedding, so that we could all get ready on time. They even helped us box up part of the groom's cake to take back to the U.S. as carry-on and got up early on a Sunday to serve us breakfast before we left, which we did not expect. They rooms were immaculate, the breakfast portions were more than we could eat and extremely good, and the location was within easy walking distance of downtown Bangor. We had a wonderful time, and everyone in our party was very complimentary about the choice of accomodations. My husband and I look forward to returning under less hectic circumstances!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotmomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We just stayed at the Shelleven for 4 nights, in connection with a wedding in the area. In fact, I think the place may have been full or nearly full with our extended group, but Phillip and Mary could not have been better hosts. They are gracious and efficient. Their very generous breakfasts are wonderfully prepared, and you even get to choose from a menu when you sit down. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The entire place is spotless, and despite the full house, the hot water did not ever run out! We unequivocally recommend this guest house, and would like to thank Phillip & Mary for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xalbguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Philip and Mary run the guesthouse, brilliantly, the breakfast is "the best ever" the rooms are immaculately clean, and there hospitality and helpfulness is makes these guesthouses popular. Looked after like family, my partner has been there for 7 weeks whilst working, I don't know how I will ever get him back home * * * * * (5 stars)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

The location of the Hotel was perfect for us to look around Bangor. The position was lovely and quiet but only a few minutes walk from the water front - it couldn't have been better situated. It was also easy to find. The interior of the hotel was nicely decorated and it was exceptionally clean. The rooms were very good and had plenty of space, the bed linen was of great quality the sheets being nice and crisp. We originally booked in for two nights at the beginning of our visit to Northern Ireland and stayed in a twin room at the rear of the hotel which had a really nice feel to it. At the end of our holiday when we travelled from Derry to Dublin to catch the ferry we decided to stay again to break up the journey, it was a good decision, this time we had a double room at the front - and it was so comfortable. The Hosts were excellent and so welcoming, they just could not do enough for us., and the breakfasts (what they call an Ulster fry) was first rate quality which set us up for the day. This was our first trip to Bangor ( we usually spend time in the south of Ireland) and the hospitality we enjoyed at Shelleven and its Hosts will certainly make sure we go back again. I would recommended this Hotel to everyone. You wont be disappointed.... PS the prices were also very good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rootfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Shelleven is a fine big B&B in a good location a short walk from Bangor seafront. Great home-style breakfast like you'd have at your Auntie's. My room was a good size. I wasn't bothered about whether there was a view or not, as I was only there to sleep! Service was fine, and the landlord seemed to be quite a cheery chappie even early in the morning. My only complaint was that the room was too hot for my liking as I hate sleeping in a hot room, but that was easily remedied by just turning down both radiators which were practically hopping off the wall! The bathroom was spotless, even if the shower was a bit weak for my decadent tastes. Bangor is a very pretty town. If you get a chance, take a walk along the path by the seafront. It just seems to go on forever -- don't forget that you'll need to turn back so don't walk too far!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaVereda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We recently had the pleasure of spending 2 nights in the Shelleven in Bangor, Co Down when we attended a family event in Belfast. The Shelleven is a beautiful house within a few minutes walk from Bangor's beautiful sea front. The owners, Mary and Phillip Weston, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Our bedroom was very clean, cozy and comfortable. The owners had set up a cot for our one year old son in advance and had a high chair for the dining room. They made us feel very relaxed during our stay, which is not always the case when travelling with a small child. The breakfast was out of this world! And Phillip was extremely attentive and helpful while serving breakfast. Overall, I would highly recommend a stay at the Shelleven - a real home from home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyMaloneGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.4 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,046 reviews
5.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cairn Bay Lodge
The Cairn Bay Lodge
#3 of 18 in Bangor
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelleven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelleven Guest House

Address: 61 Princetown Road, Bangor BT20 3TA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range: $88 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelleven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelleven Guest House is a Victorian property with great charm and period features throughout, providing luxurious accommodation and dining in a warm relaxed atmosphere. The property Is rated as 4-star accommodation by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board. Situated in a quiet area, close to Bangor Marina, the promenade, and the town centre. Shelleven is set back from the road, with gardens and private parking to the front. The front bedrooms have sea views over the bay and beyond. The 13 bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and an en suite bathroom. Complimentary WiFi is provided throughout the property. The train/bus station is a 5-8 minutes' walk away, with direct links to Dublin, Belfast City centre and Belfast City Airport. Several golf courses are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shelleven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelleven Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing