We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay - Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shelleven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay - Home from Home”
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We are a family of 4 from S Africa. Our family room was beautifully arranged with enough space to move around the room (considering there was 1 double bed and 2 single beds). The bathroom was beautifully decorated and a good size. The breakfast was outstanding. Eveything was clean, fresh and white bath towels were a decent size. Thank you to Phillip and Mary - wonderful hosts !

  • Liked — The overall Ambiance and cleanliness of the B & B
  • Disliked — can't thnik of anything !
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetraSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    25
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
62
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We were put in a small room, with no lovely view. They don't show that room on their website! The heating was off on arrival and seemed to be off most of the time we were there, not very homely! And it was COLD!
And the shower room, (clean enough) had the downside of half empty shampoo/shower bottles and the soap was put back in its packet having been used by the previous room occupants. Perhaps environmentally friendly? Or not?
We had the owners' lecture on keys and how it was important to shut the door behind us. In fact we went out to our car to collect something to bring back in and immediately had the door shut on us, so were locked out and had to ring the doorbell to be let back in!
To end on a positive note - Breakfast was tasty!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank On_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

My partner and I and also my sister stayed at Shelleven House for two nights in February. The guesthouse house was in a fantastic location, just minutes from the marina with great views from the front rooms.

The place was spotless and comfortably furnished with a lovely dining room for breakfast and welcoming lounge area. Philip and Mary who run it are also very friendly and eager to please.

My partner and I had a HUGE double room with fabulous views. We didn't know what to do with all the space! The bed was so comfortable and I slept really well considering I am just about to give birth! My sister's single room was also lovely.

When I go back to Bangor I will definitely be staying at Shelleven again. It is great value for money too!

Nearly forgot to mention the yummy breakfast you get each morning. One day I had full Ulser breakfast and the other day I had the pancakes - both divine! Thanks :-)

  • Liked — Big, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Heating needed turning up
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2008

We spent a few nights there and have no major complaints. The hosts were friendly enough and our room was a good size. There was a good selection to choose from at breakfast and the food was well cooked and served promptly. There was certainly plenty of it.

The hotel overlooks the bay and the walk into town is a pleasant one around the marina.

There were a few niggles. There seemed to be a degree of mean-spiritedness with the supplies in the bathroom. Used soaps put back in boxes for reuse; when the almost empty box of tissues ran out, they were not replaced whilst we were there; bottles of shampoo were not replenished etc.

Also, we had one of those horrible sanilav things which made the most horrendous noise - not just when flushing the toilet - but when emptying the bath or taking a shower. Anyone getting up in the middle of the night will wake the residents in adjoining rooms!

It was a pleasant enough stay although I was personally alienated by the smells in the reception area (some sort of pot pourri which was a bit overpowering). There were very strict instructions about use of the keys and letting people into the house which made us feel like naughty schoolchildren or wayward students - but perhaps that needed to be done, I don't know.

An OK place to stay - nothing particularly to commend it but equally nothing particularly to criticise it for either.

  • Liked — A good sized room with good views
  • Disliked — Its lack of character
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizalilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

My fiancé and I arrived in Bangor on December 29, 2007 by train (from Belfast) and wanted to spend one night there. Most of the hotels and B&B's were full (or closed). Finally we were recommended the Shelleven Guest House and we had a wonderful time!! Our room was spacious, nicely decorated with a big en-suite bathroom. The view was great (room no. 8) and the Guest House is very close to the city center and very quiet at night. The breakfast was absolutely fabulous (the best scrambles eggs I ever ate!). I highly recommend this place.

  • Liked — The house is nice and the rooms lovely.
  • Disliked — A little expensive maybe but worth it.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Smile73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We were told via phone the previous evening that they had vacancies and we would be charged £60.00 for the two of us by the husband..At check out we were charged £75.00 for the room by his wife. I have asked for an explanation twice and the reason being was that it was a superior room. Obviously, they have not stayed in other hotels as it was basic. I have given them time to refund the difference but obviously they prefer to dwindle people. WATCH OUT!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank MrsSykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

The Shelleven is conveniently located to Bangor, and a well located base for anyone wanting to tour North Down. Our room was clean and spacious with a nice ensuite shower room. The service and food at breakfast were excellent. The price was about average and since we were there for a wedding we were pleased there was no curfew. There is ample parking in front of the guest house in a private car park.
Our stay was let down by the rude and unprofessional manner of the host upon departure. We approached him to check-out and were told we would have to wait ten minutes because he was busy and that the sign in the room says to check out the night before if you plan to leave before the 11 am checkout time - a bit hard to do when reception is not open 24 hours and you arrive in the wee small hours! The host then literally slammed the door in our faces, leaving us standing in reception for another ten minutes with the taxi waiting outside before he arrived demanding our payment without so much as a Thanks and Call Again...which we won't because of the experience.

  • Liked — Excellent breakfast menu.
  • Disliked — Hostile host!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
5.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,696 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelleven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelleven Guest House

Property: Shelleven Guest House
Address: 61 Princetown Road, Bangor BT20 3TA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelleven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shelleven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelleven Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing