We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic people, fantastic house.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shelleven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic people, fantastic house.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our stay here was fairly surprising. The Hosts here very friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. The rooms are adequate but spotless! The beds are fantastic, we really did not want to get out of them in the morning. The location is great just a short stroll from the beautiful marina and a large array of shops , pubs and eateries.

Only slight downside is the breakfast, although tasty, could be doing with some bean's as it was a tad dry. It isn't really the B&B's fault all the same as it was an Ulster fry they'd served.

Will definitely return :)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the house, I gather they are not a spacious but less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donegal_costa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    26
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
65
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

House Saturday night 10/26/2013 Belfast jammed..
From net found Shelleven House in Bangor - close enough and little waterfron area.
Area with many closed storefronts. Limited eating other than hotels.
Rooms - we had two nice king beds with open view in one twin bed in other - smaller twins than we experienced in Ireland. Clean and neat
Cooked to order breakfsast.
Overall ok

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

the bed was one of the most comfy i have ever slept in .lovely sheets and good mattress . nice clean hotel breakfast was very good ,plenty of it . friendly host . cant think of any problems (the only little thing would be to have some baked beans with breakfast !)really nice walks along the coast .great views .nice little coastal town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Export, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you are searching for an excellent B & B for your trip to Bangor, stay at the Shelleven Guest House. The owners, Philip and Mary, are classy four star people. For any questions we had about the area, they knew or found the answers. We were treated very specially, but were given our space in the guest house.
Breakfasts were served elegantly in the cozy dining area ---any breakfast and beverage could be had on any morning.
The guest house is located on a quiet road, well decorated, and extremely clean.
We stayed at Shelleven for fifteen nights, so our opinion is true.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the BAY !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here for 2 nights with work and had early starts so I would be missing breakfast, so the lady had made me and my mate some sandwiches up for the day. The rooms were very clean and made up each day. All in all a great little place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draykill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quaama, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Took the superior double option and got a lovely, large and sunny room with a view. Easy walking access to the marina, coast walk and town centre. Our hosts, Mary and Phillip congenial, friendly and helpful with advice about booking and the like. Wifi was a bit hit and miss in the room, but good signal downstairs.

Room Tip: Get the superior double room, space and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed overnight and had a pleasant stay. Room was very nice and clean. Bathroom was spotless with lovely white towels. Breakfast was excelllent. Lots of lovely things to look at in the rooom. Staff were very efficient. Only thing was as i was on my own i had a bit of trouble with key to front door. After couple of tries i rang bell and the man who came to the door gave me a lesson on how to use the key to open the door. As i was going up to my room he was still talking. I apologised and am glad it was only 8,30pm.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
992 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,719 reviews
8.1 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#10 of 44 in Belfast
1,017 reviews
6.5 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelleven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelleven Guest House

Property: Shelleven Guest House
Address: 61 Princetown Road, Bangor BT20 3TA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelleven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shelleven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelleven Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing