We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shelleven Guest House
Ranked #1 of 18 Bangor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Easy to find in a very central area. A five minute walk down to the water. Lovely big rooms, unusual for many B&Bs. Helpful hosts with local directions. We enjoyed a nice breakfast even offered a menu for choice!!!!!!! Parking on site. It was unusually hot so the top floor was quite warm.

Room Tip: If travelling in summer a ground floor room will be cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satified10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 240 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked Shelleven on recommendation from Ennislaire which we really enjoyed but could not get the accomodation needed at short notice. We booked a superior room for 3 nights though it was only available for 2 so accepted a standard room for night 3. Also a twin room for our teenagers for three nights.
The superior room was excellent. Very comfortable beds very clean fantastic views. Breakfast is lovely. Service is good. Shower is excellent and easy to use. This is a well run guest house. The standard room for night 3 was very basic but hosts left us a complimentary bottle of cava and were very apologetic. However it was still clean and bed comfy. Girls room also clean and comfy. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 7 at the back was the standard room we were given due to lack of space at time of booking. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blogirlStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Only stayed one night but would recommend the Shelleven as a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. Nice to have a made to order breakfast rather than the usual buffet. Would recommend the omelette.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed one night only but look forward to returning for a longer stay. The room was spacious and very comfortable with all the amenities needed, including flat screen TV. The breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked, with lots of choice and the dining room was spacious and in keeping with the beautiful house. A bonus was the free wifi as well. Philip & Mary also suggested a restaurant as it was late evening by the time I arrived and it was an excellent recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lerossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was the first time we stayed in a B&B, and it was great. After a long day of driving (for the first time on the left side of the road) it was nice to arrive and settle in. Bangor is a sweet little town, and our room had a nice view of the ocean. We had a sound sleep and the breakfast was yummy. The wifi was a little spotty in the room, but other than that it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannoneparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely family run B&B. my room booked very last min was really nice overlooking the lush garden next door. Breakfast was a real treat with the classic ulster fry. The owners were very friendly and the location is perfect as you can park in front and go for a lovely walk along the Bangor seafront...,.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiMMiami Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a great place to stopover after the long haul from Australia . Early nights due to the jet lag were totally undisturbed and I had a terrific rest in the comfy queen bed. En-suite shower room was immaculate and the heating on those cold nights was never an issue. The guest house is ideally situated for a stroll along the marina and back before tucking into a superb breakfast .
Its also good to have the on site parking , and lets not overlook the free WiFi which is a must these days . Thanks again to Philip & Mary for another flawless stopover

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangor hotels
2.6 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
0.4 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cairn Bay Lodge
The Cairn Bay Lodge
#3 of 18 in Bangor
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
30Seacliff
30Seacliff
#4 of 18 in Bangor
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelleven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelleven Guest House

Address: 61 Princetown Road, Bangor BT20 3TA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bangor
Price Range: $95 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelleven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shelleven Guest House is a Victorian property with great charm and period features throughout, providing luxurious accommodation and dining in a warm relaxed atmosphere. The property Is rated as 4-star accommodation by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board. Situated in a quiet area, close to Bangor Marina, the promenade, and the town centre. Shelleven is set back from the road, with gardens and private parking to the front. The front bedrooms have sea views over the bay and beyond. The 13 bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and an en suite bathroom. Complimentary WiFi is provided throughout the property. The train/bus station is a 5-8 minutes' walk away, with direct links to Dublin, Belfast City centre and Belfast City Airport. Several golf courses are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shelleven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelleven Guest House Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing