We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shelleven Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
$233
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel(Carrickfergus)(Great Value!)
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dobbins Inn Hotel(Carrickfergus)
$91
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rayanne House(Holywood)
$169
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loughshore Hotel(Carrickfergus)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
207
35
10
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
35
10
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersulster fryb bsue paulshort walkpenthouse apartmentlovely guesthousetown centrehelpful ownerspleasure of stayingfriendly welcomeensuite bathroomulster breakfastwonderful hostsplace to staytwo nightsquiet area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 260 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed one night only but look forward to returning for a longer stay. The room was spacious and very comfortable with all the amenities needed, including flat screen TV. The breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked, with lots of choice and the dining room was spacious and in keeping with the beautiful house. A bonus was the free wifi as well. Philip & Mary also suggested a restaurant as it was late evening by the time I arrived and it was an excellent recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lerossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was the first time we stayed in a B&B, and it was great. After a long day of driving (for the first time on the left side of the road) it was nice to arrive and settle in. Bangor is a sweet little town, and our room had a nice view of the ocean. We had a sound sleep and the breakfast was yummy. The wifi was a little spotty in the room, but other than that it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shannoneparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely family run B&B. my room booked very last min was really nice overlooking the lush garden next door. Breakfast was a real treat with the classic ulster fry. The owners were very friendly and the location is perfect as you can park in front and go for a lovely walk along the Bangor seafront...,.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiMMiami Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a great place to stopover after the long haul from Australia . Early nights due to the jet lag were totally undisturbed and I had a terrific rest in the comfy queen bed. En-suite shower room was immaculate and the heating on those cold nights was never an issue. The guest house is ideally situated for a stroll along the marina and back before tucking into a superb breakfast .
Its also good to have the on site parking , and lets not overlook the free WiFi which is a must these days . Thanks again to Philip & Mary for another flawless stopover

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have just stayed with Philip & Mary Weston at their beautiful guest house and can't say that I've stayed anywhere better! The house is beautiful, immaculate, homely and very quiet. The room was spotless and provided everything I needed - comfortable bed, spotless brilliant white bed linen and towels, homely furnishings and lovely view of the back gardens, even the distinct sound of seagulls in the mornings was lovely.

The breakfast menu was first class and I don't think I've ever had such delicious scrambled eggs on toast before (my mother couldn't even have competed!), all served in a beautiful dining room with very low Irish music in the background.

There's also lots of information made readily available about where to go and what to see - but being so close to the beautiful coastal path and marina was enough for me to take in!

I'm originally from Northern Ireland but have been living and working in London for 12 years and don't come home very much. This was a spur of the moment trip to get some quiet time and finish a project and I really couldn't have picked anywhere nicer, more welcoming or more peaceful. Philip and Mary are the perfect hosts and make their guests feel very comfortable. Everyone visiting Bangor should stay here, I know I'll be keeping their number for any future trips! A truly pleasurable trip! Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews