We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more can I say!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
south west
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What more can I say!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

This was the second time I have stayed at the Clandeboye Lodge Hotel and yet again it was perfect. Staying here ensures you get a really good nights sleep as it is so peaceful. Rooms are lovely with all the extras included. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the food extremely good. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flightqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    149
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
216
407
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

This was my second stay here after a great visit last year. This is probably the best hotel I have stayed in during the past 12 months when I have been travelling for work. It just ticks all the boxes. Rooms are a good size and clean and the bathroom is spotless and well equipped with towels, bath goodies, shoe shine, needle kit etc. TV and good quality iron available in room - essential for me. Free wifi which worked at high speed. Located in the Belfast countryside, the grounds are peaceful and relaxing. They have the largest hotel car park I have ever seen. Service everywhere (desk, bar, restaurant) is outstanding. Restaurant food is great and breakfast varied and of a high quality. I completed the hotel comment card with similar praise and found it difficult to find a criticism. The one, however, which I came up with was that the bedroom doors did not close quietly if left to shut themselves. However, these never disturbed me, so a minor comment.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdboy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

My second visit on visit to Belfast, convenient for Ikea and the Belfast Ferry. Quiet country setting, parking no problem. Hard to fault

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkmanBantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

I had the pleasure of attending an awards dinner at the hotel on 21.5.09. The staff had gone to great lenghts to make the venue look great and from the welcome received at the door we knew it was going to be a good night. The level of service was second to none and the food for an event with approx 400 people was the best I have ever had. Slick and friendly service was a refreshing chance from some other hotels.

Well done to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Lovely hotel, no complaints at all.

Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Bar/restaurant staff were also very friendly and helpful. 3 course meal was absolutely superb - the melted chocolate fondue pudding is to die for! Breakfast was great - choice of cereals, fruit, toast etc and then a cooked breakfast as well. They even did fresh juices, which seemed like they had just been freshly made - the Power Packer was great!

The room was very spacious, comfy firm bed, TV, tea/coffee, hairdryer, really reasonable bathroom.

It is about a 15 min drive from the George Belfast City Airport (and not much further from the main City Centre). Bangor is about a 15 min drive away as well.

We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel and only stayed for one night but the short time we did spend there was very pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sa_mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

I travel a lot on business and stay in a lot of hotels, this has been my second visit and I think it is one of the nicest hotels in the Belfast area. Gorgeous rooms, on my first stay I stayed an elegant and comfortable room, extremely comfortable beds and the room had a tv in front of the bath, perfect for relaxing. Great food to suit every taste. Staff were attentive, very friendly and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel as a must to stay in for anyone travelling to Belfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vervanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

I browsed Trip Advisor looking for somewhere nice for a one night stay (a birthday treat). This hotel came up as top rated time and again, and now I know why. From the minute you drive in to the minute you leave - the lovely clean, tranquil surroundings, the pleasant, polite staff who look after your every need. Relaxing in the bar area, beside the fire was a pleasure, again the staff were so nice, attending to us at our table without prompting. The food in the restaurant was excellent, sevice was fantastic without being over bearing - no loitering right by your side making you feel 'watched'. Prices were so reasonable considering the standards which are adhered to, and portions were generous. The bedroom was clean, comfortable - that bed!! What a night's sleep we had, it was difficult to prise myself out of the comfort in the morning, but the breakfast made it worthwhile.
This is a small hotel by some standards, but perhaps that is its secret - the staff are able to offer very high standards of care making your stay feel so special. The management must be very proud of their staff - they attend to customers in a polite, pleasant, natural manner, on hand but not suffocating. I will most definately be back again!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maidsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many small hotels in the Greater Belfast area but the Clandeboye Lodge - with its cosy and comfortable ambiance, contemporary design and exceptional service levels - is amongst those privileged to be recognised by both independent travellers and the AA as one of Northern Ireland’s top 4* hotels. Whatever your reason to stay, you can look forward to a well-deserved break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing