We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Surroundings, Good Food, Friendly Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Surroundings, Good Food, Friendly Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

The three nights for two offer is excellent value. My wife and I have used it several times visiting family in Belfast and County Down. There is nothing 'starchy' about this hotel; the staff are friendly without being familiar and it is easy to feel at home. The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent and there is a lovely country smell when you step out in the morning (there is a milking parlour almost next door). We love it - a real taste of Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    149
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
216
410
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Wow! Just love this place. Immaculate room and well furnished. Check in is a breeze and the staff are the friendliest I've encountered. The food is top notch with a very talented chef. Free wifi which is bonus compared to premier inn who charge for such a service. I'll be coming back here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a poor view. The trees are just yards away so you can't see a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for one night recently on a business trip to the Bangor / Newtownards area. Welcoming staff and very comfortable room. Nice and quiet. Room service food was excellent. Good wireless with no extra charge. Would highly recommend and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myleskehoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed with the 'Two's Company' package which included a suite, chocolates and bubbly in the room, dinner and breakfast. The suite was gorgeous, very large comfy bed, huge waterfall shower, lots of little extras such as a Nespresso machine, fresh tea or coffee to the room in the morning, fresh fruit in the room, a DVD player....
The dinner was delicious, I couldn't fault any of the food and the service was brilliant. It is also such a beautiful setting that we were able to go for a walk around the grounds after dinner before settling in front of the fire with a bailey's coffee. Bliss!
The staff were great during our stay and ensured that we had everything we needed.
Highly recommended :-)

Room Tip: The suites are well worth the price if you're looking for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very peaceful break in a quiet hotel. Staff all very friendly and helpful, hotel clean and warm. Food of high standard.
We had booked the 2night autumn break in executive roomwith 1 evening meal and bottle of wine and Irish coffee on arrival . This worked out as a great deal
. On the Friday night we opted for quiet night in which was food to room along with wine or beer and choice of DVD, this was a real relaxing evening
All Niall a really lovely relaxing weekend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

arrived after midnight. Excellent service, decor and room size among best that i have stayed in. Breakfast was a treat with good healthy food selection. Greta value and location is in woodland near a dual carriageway with short drive times to city airport and Belfast

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donegaljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were staying at Clandeboye Lodge to attend our son's wedding on the above date. On arrival, we were greeted by the reception staff as if we were long lost friends. They made us so welcome. This continued throughout our 5 night stay. The staff were so helpful.

The Wedding on Sunday 8 September 2013 was a wonderful experience. The hotel could not have done more for us. The venue was stunning, the food was excellent and beautifully prepared and the whole day was fabulous from beginning to end. Everything ran to time and there was no standing about waiting for things to happen. The hotel was extremely organised.

All in all, we have nothing negative to say about this hotel and would highly recommend it. It is well situated for visiting the area, which is an area of great beauty. What is there not to enjoy?

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing