We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Recently had the pleasure of staying here for a 3 night midweek stay with a small baby. Highly recommend this hotel, it was so family friendly. Staff were extremely accommodating, and very friendly. Claire on reception went out of her way to recommend a restaurant and went as far as ringing the restaurant to book a table for us. Would love to return, nice location just outside of the city of Belfast and on the outskirts of Bangor which is a lovely little town.
Tiny drawback was the lack of air conditioning and weather was quite warm.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, requested as we had a small baby. Room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed recently.Our dining experience was good.Staff are pleasant and helpful.Breakfast was a problem in that the flies around the exposed bread would put most people off this.A simple cloth could cover this and solve this problem. The rooms and public areas are tired.Most dining chairs need recovered.Our shower leaked onto the bathroom floor and it was difficult to control its flow and temperature.Pity about these things in what was sold as a 4star experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rta1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Clandeboye hotel for a week, back in June/July .
The staff were superb, food was fantastic!
Maybe they could switch the menu up a little for daily specials.? Yes, granted, it is a little bit outside of the Bangor area and a rental car or cab is needed to travel. It's very close to Helen's Tower but its a bit dangerous walking on the road to get there.
We just loved how friendly and accommodating the staff are.
We stayed in an executive room and it was very nice indeed! Lovely hotel altogether but the staff really make it special.
Bear in mind that the grounds are small and limited. There is no access to the Estate itself but the pure and natural yoghurt is served with the amazing breakfast and available next door to buy.
Would for sure stay again!

Room Tip: Executive double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Four of us stayed for 3 nights whilst attending a wedding. The wedding was superb and the food was probably the best ever experienced, being hot,fresh, not over cooked and professionally served.
The rooms were spacious and the beds huge!
The staff ere delightful and very accommodating.
My tiny niggle would be- lots of flies in the dining room at breakfast and round potato bread and round flat soda bread. The breakfast itself was varied and again well served.
Well done Clandeboye, would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Bubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Overall we had a fantasic experience at the Clandeboye Lodge Hotel. We had our wedding here and have had dinner a couple of times. The food is fantastic, rooms are great, and the staff go over and beyond to help in any way possible. All guests have raved about the venue and food. Would highly recommend this place based on my stays here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMD280713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a wedding and decided to have 3 nights to have a nice break. There were a few things that needed attention round the hotel. A lose toilet seat, a docking station that kept freezing and not keeping the correct time. No steam iron available. Shower head a little grotty and in need of replacing.

The food was just above average depending on the course. The bar staff were friendly, blond lady on reception was unhelpful and a little dry but everyone else was pleasant. House keeping staff were very thorough.

Room service was only £3 per person, reasonable compared to some. wifi available. Only one sheltered area for smokers.

Function rooms nice, better for those who drive as a little out in the middle of no where. lovely grounds surrounding the hotel. Overall I did enjoy my stay, may go back one day but would not be too gutted if I didn't.

Hotel could really improve by adding leisure facilities and considering smokers a little more around the grounds. Even some non smokers like to sit outside with a cover and heaters when cooler or raining.

Room Tip: Executive room worth the extra for the space not much else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonsie90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

this hotel gets better and better

Been using various times since 2008
However Nov 2012 to Aug 2013 extensive business stays and cannot fault Food/Service
[reception a wee bit tired but being addressed]

came for business but witnessed several weddings , during stay and all seem so special

Would recommend to anyone business or pleasure

Well done on your recent awards
Clandeboye Team

your customer service second to none and food amazing!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,071 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,806 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
4.4 mi away
Rayanne House
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
223 reviews
7.8 mi away
Titanic Hotel Belfast
Titanic Hotel Belfast
#25 of 45 in Belfast
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range: $121 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing