We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Fails to Deliver!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
south west
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never Fails to Deliver!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Once again I returned to the Clandeboye Lodge earlier this week as I had business in Northern Ireland to attend. This hotel never fails to deliver. Lovely quiet location but close to commuter links, great rooms with all the extras, friendly professional staff, excellent quality food and service. This stay was made even more special when I received a complimentary upgrade as thankyou for previous vsits. My only fault is I can't go back enough!! Go on treat yourself you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flightqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    149
    48
    17
    9
See reviews for
216
409
29
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Clandeboye Lodge twice this year so far. The standard of accommodation and service has been good on both stays. The location is a good mixture of being in pleasant countryside while not too far from Belfast, Bangor and Newtownards. It's easy to reach by road from George Best Belfast City Airport and road connections in all directions are good. I'd recommend taking a drive down the A20 Portaferry Road, if possible visiting Mount Stewart house (National Trust) for at least a couple of hours. The gardens are magnificent and the house very enjoyable to tour. At the Clandeboye Lodge you'll find the public rooms and bedrooms are decorated and furnished to a good standard and the bathrooms well equipped. The staff at reception are friendly and efficient. The restaurant is also well supplied with attentive staff and the Chefs turn out a good variety of dishes to a high standard. Local produce is used in dishes throughout and is good value for money. The restaurant makes up most of the front of house areas of the hotel but the atmosphere and layout is comfortable and accommodating. The hotel appears to be a Mecca for weddings so don't be surprised to be 'aware' of the celebrations that run on into the night. Especially if you go to bed early! (If you're worried about potential noise, ask for a room on the side away from the weddings venue). The minor noise inconvenience notwithstanding I really like the Clandeboye Lodge and will be booking to stay again in the near future.

Room Tip: For quieter rooms ask to be located away from the wedding venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilotbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of a nights stay at the Clandeboye Lodge last weekend while attending a wedding.
The day began with a beautiful service in beautifully designed quaint surrounding followed by a drinks reception in the gardens as the weather was on our side.
We were able to check into our room with friendly,helpful staff and after a quick espresso complimentary perk of our room we returned for dinner.The meal was fantastic,efficiently served without delay.
The evening followed with a great reception, the bar staff were always there to help again with an attentive service,securing anything we needed.
After a busy day we returned to a clean,spacious,modernly decorated room with a touch of class and enjoyed a Comfortable bed and pillows!
At breakfast we were served by a lovely girl called Asling who made sure we had all we required, Our food was well presented and extremely tasty!
Our checkout was quick and without any stress. My only problem i had was.. i didn't want to leave!
For us it was a the little things that made our stay so enjoyable.The personal welcome note,The well chosen toiletries, The beautiful heart shaped,home made shortbread left in our room, The picturesque views and surrounding of the hotel that were totally separate from any functions.

In my opinion this hotel prides itself on a great team ethic. I cannot wait our next visit in the near future.
Thanks to all at the Clandeboye Lodge for making our stay a night to remember.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn335d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed here on Saturday night as I was at a wedding party. The place itself is lovely, great setting and pleasant staff. The only problem was the price of a drink. £4.05 for a pint is ridiculous and a vodka and ginger is over a fiver. In these days of tight times it was no wonder most girls had big bags with their own supply!!
Other wise it's a nice place and breakfast in the morning was great, well presented and very tasty.
Over all I would recommend it as good value as long as you don't have to buy alcohol.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Night-train88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

we had a lovey night at the clandeyboy hotel on sunday while attending a wedding party , we had a beautiful meal in the restaurant, great service ,spacious rooms , very comfy beds , and a nice breakfast in the morning , friendly and attentive staff , good location , easy parking an well signposted , enjoyed out stay , thank you ,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2012

super hotel with excellent staff and cleanliness is of the highest standard!!!!!!!! we stayed there on an all inclusive break with an off-road driving experience that was flawless from start to finish. food was fantastic and would highly recommend a visit and i will definately return in near future!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed for a one night bed and breakfast offer for my birthday. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by extremely friendly staff. The room was lovely - a nice touch was the complimentary dvd library and the handmade shortbread biscuits in the room! We had dinner straightaway and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I have ever had - we were served by Aisling, a waitress who was very friendly and attentive. Despite there being a wedding in the hotel, we heard no noise and slept well. Breakfast next morning was a lovely leisurely experience and food again, was excellent. The staff at checkout were equally friendly and helpful. I will most definitely be returning, but will treat myself to a junior suite next time - well done!

Room Tip: Throughly recommend - I will be back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssambora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.6 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
946 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
516 reviews
3.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
7.2 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.6 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clandeboye Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clandeboye Lodge Hotel

Property: Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Address: Clandeboye Lodge 10 Estate Road | Clandeboye, Bangor BT19 1UR, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clandeboye Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary design and a cosy atmosphere, Clandeboye Lodge is just 5 minutes’ drive from Bangor. There are beautiful landscaped sculpture gardens and the stylish rooms have free Wi-Fi. The 4-star rooms all have scenic views across the surrounding Clandeboye Estate. Rooms also have an HD TV with Freeview channels and DVDs. Set in extensive grounds, with manicured lawns and designer sculptures, Clandeboye Lodge also features the Coq & Bull brasserie. It has oak floors, iroko tables and stylish design. The contemporary menu includes seasonal, locally sourced produce and an eclectic wine list. You can dine al fresco on the large patio in the summer, or by the open fire in winter. Just 15 minutes’ drive from lively Belfast city centre, Clandeboye is adjacent to Blackwood Golf Centre. There are 8 further golf courses nearby, and Bangor’s picturesque Marina is a 10-minute drive away. Nearby attractions include the Ulster Folk & Transport Museum, and Mount Stewart with its stunning gardens, all within 20 minutes' drive of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clandeboye Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clandeboye Hotel Bangor
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing