We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“saturday night dinner date :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makhulu 5

Makhulu 5
Ranked #50 of 157 Restaurants in Bangor
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“saturday night dinner date :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

i really like this place. i love their roast honey glazed ham with gravy and mash. i love the surroundings its soo chilled. the strawberry dacs are so beaut too. my bf liked his burger. they said they were really busy and we didnt booked and fitted us in. my bf felt we waited a wee quite for food and drinks but i didnt mind. i love when its someones birthday and the zebra comes out with a candle haha i am a big kid!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sasa51188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    39
    27
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, service made it :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here for an evening meal last month. We decided to go off their meal deal 4courses for £35per couple. Unbelievable value for money every course portion size was huge, food cooked to perfection we are big eaters so this was great.
Our waitor, peter was fantastic he was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. He seemed to be on quite a big section on his own but managed to not forget us.
We love the food and the service and more importantly the deal great value for money will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadow8819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food delish but way too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Only reason I came to this restaurant was to try some african animal...was informed upon arrival that all the springbok in africa had been wiped out due to disease andthat blesbok was unavailable due to a birdflu outbreak...blesbok Iisnt even a bird its an antelope!! How stupid do they think we are?! Food turned out v tasty but v overpriced. Restaurant uncomfortably loud and staff running about like headless sheep dear help them! Although they were very pleasant considering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ihatetomatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but Pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went here with my girlfriend and got wine and steaks. Definitely the best steak in Bangor, so if you're a hardcore carnivore- you'll love it. Only downside is the quite high prices- certainly not cheap for what you get. Waiters were also slightly braindead- mucked up our desserts twice and didn't seem to know what whipped cream was. I'd say most of the staff were teenagers. Still, nice ambiance and a unique menu for sure. All in all- pretty good, but pretty dear!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jameslewendonwriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Last night was our first visit to Makhula 5 ... and it will not be our last. Fantastic food and super service from the friendly, attentive staff (even though the place was extremely busy). We had a really enjoyable evening ... a definate return trip is in order!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makhulu 5 also viewed

 
Bangor, County Down
 

Been to Makhulu 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing