We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“N Down council failing the community!”
Review of Ballyholme Beach

Ballyholme Beach
Ranked #8 of 36 things to do in Bangor
Attraction details
Bangor, Co Down
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“N Down council failing the community!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is potentially a great beach area but is spoiled by the state it is usually in! Seaweed everywhere, dogs running off leads, litter blowing about!
NDBC should be putting enough resource into this local attraction to make it somewhere for local rates payers to enjoy and for seasonal visitors also to appreciate.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    48
    13
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not the place it used to be”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I grew up in this area and spent many happy days on the beach as a child swimming and building sand castles, and later as an adult running along the beach. I agree it is really beautiful as a location and is a fantastic place to walk.
However I agree that the amount of dog fouling is now dreadful though I find Bangor generally seems to have alot of dog poo lying around. Where I live now there are strict rules and signs about implications if you don't pick it(I also have a dog) so people don't seem to chance it.
Family still living here tell me the water is no longer safe for swimming which is a shame as the beach is so lovely but overall still a lovely place ot walk especially on a windy day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank blogirlStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I spend many hours enjoying walks on the beach.It has beautiful views alround.Every day offers a different view.There is so much one can enjoy on the beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nuala727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dog owners”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I do not own a dog now, but I did. I would never have let my dog off its lead when there were people or children around. a lot of fouling. Those who live on the sea front think they have preference for their dogs to run wild.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorianne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Watch the wind surfers”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a nice beach but quite exposed so does get windy. Hense the Wind Surfers. A nice place for a walk but it would have to be a calm warm day to sit on the beach. Walk along here then stop at the Jamacia Inn for a pint. Perfect.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballyholme Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ballyholme Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing