We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the wind surfers”
Review of Ballyholme Beach

Ballyholme Beach
Ranked #8 of 36 things to do in Bangor
Attraction details
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Watch the wind surfers”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a nice beach but quite exposed so does get windy. Hense the Wind Surfers. A nice place for a walk but it would have to be a calm warm day to sit on the beach. Walk along here then stop at the Jamacia Inn for a pint. Perfect.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    48
    13
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful esplanade”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It is uplifting to walk along the esplanade at any time, but my special time is first thing in the morning. Most of us should be able to commit to 20 minutes' walking per day; living in Bangor, this is achievable at Ballyholme esplanade. There are swings and toilet facilities at each end, and advice boards for people using the beach have recently been installed, with information highlighting the lack of lifeguards, the number of the coastguard and the best times to bathe. A beach walk is not just for summer - in our climate, we would never go out - and there is nothing more invigorating than wrapping up well on a winter morning than stepping out along the esplanade, watching the windsurfers, the dog walkers, the ferries out on the lough.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice spot to walk the dog or take the kids”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ballyholme beach is or can be a very different place depending on the tides, by saying that I mean it can be either clean or very unclean. I walk my dog there every week and its a beautiful place to walk along and think, Its nice to get a good bit of weather and see everyone enjoying themselves mostly at the Ballymacormick end of the beach at the car park. Yet again a nice place to visit depending on the weather.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank malcolm1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good for a Nice Walk”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I wouoldn't go swimming here but if you are after a nice walk along the shore, then this is as good a place as any - the beach leads onto some National Trust shore property - I think it's called Ballymacormic Point, If you are luck and it's the right time of year you can see some seals on the rocks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fussyoldme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice sandy beach”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A very enjoyable walk along the beach and path to Groomsport village. It is a pity about dog fouling!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tripandyto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballyholme Beach also viewed

 

Been to Ballyholme Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing