We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going Downhill Fast” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Going Downhill Fast”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have used this Hotel 5 or 6 times in the last 6 months, However on our last stay i was asked to Pay the Full £560.00 for 2 rooms for 4 days On Arrival, Then the 2 rooms allocated to us wear
Rite Next to the Air Condisaning Fans that run 24 hours a day, The Rooms recked of Smoke, The Bathrooms wear Dirty, The staff wear very Unhelpfull to the point of being Arrowgant and somewhat Insulting, The Normally Good Breakfast has gone Downhill with Minenute Porsions and Terrable Waiting Staff who keep Circuling round like Vultures Snatching Bowls and Plates away from the Tables befor you have either Finished or Left the Room to whitch we find is a very Ignorant thing to do, The Noise from Nelsons Bar is just Outragess Screeming Shouting Yelling and Breaking Glass all coming from the Side Door at gone 1am and 2am it appears to be that the more You stay at this Hotel The more Complacent the staff become Towords you as you seem to stop being a Returning Paying Guest and you just simple become a Room Number and part of the Decore whitch could also do with a complete makeover, It is also like trying to find your way arround in the Dark with Very Dimly Lit Corradoors as for the Egsorbadant Prices thay Charge you would think thay would be able to Pay there Electric Bills, This is and was also our Last Visit to this Sadly Slipping Hotel,

Room Tip: Should anyone wanting to stay at a Good Hotel in Bangor ! Stay At Another Hotel ! ! ! !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    152
    84
    36
    25
See reviews for
95
191
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had a great time at the marine court. Nice big clean room, looks a bit dated but everything was working, clean bedding, clean bathroom. We had free use of the pool, steam room while there and free breakfast as well fresh cooked. Next door to the rabbit rooms as well and right on the marina.Will stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stay at this hotel a few times a year and have just enjoyed another few days here. As always we had a good clean room and excellent service from all staff. Even had a slight view of the sea this time!!! Many thanks and will be back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

To celebrate our daughter`s 40th birthday we arranged to have a meal for family and friends in the restaurant of the Marine Court Hotel. Right from the outset at the booking stage through to the menu planning and table arrangement we received total cooperation from the restaurant manageress who went out of her way to accommodate our every wish. In addition at the evening meal her staff and in particular one waiter from Turkey by the name of Billy really excelled by their excellent service and attention to detail. I could not recommend this hotel restaurant highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanisuk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Following the Wedding Reception on Sunday 5th May 2013 for daughter Kelly and Graham, I can only say we received amazing service from start to finish,
A special mention to Graham who was the host on the day, also Janice at reception.
Full marks to Kitchen and Waiting staff, the food and service was remarkable.

Bride and Groom, and a few guests stayed in the hotel on the night of the wedding.
I had booked a family room for myself, my partner and grandson. I explained I would prefer a side room for Ben, Janice changed us to 2 double adjoining rooms, truly spectacular service. Ben felt like a king:-)

Thank you to everyone for a wonderful service.

Linda Fox

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Marine Court on my first visit to Bangor. The location is perfect with great views from the front of the hotel over the marina area. It is also very handy for the town centre and only a 10 minute downhill walk from the railway station, there were plenty of taxis for those who don't walk. The hotel has two really good bars, one doubles as a nightclub later in the evening but didn't disturb the rest of the hotel, the bar staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. The health club facilities were also very good. If you don't want to eat at the hotel there appeared to be plenty of restaurants and bars a short walk away, we ate at Donegan's just around the corner which served great food at a decent price, the bar below was also a nice spot. The only slight downside was that the rooms could do with brightening up and made to look a little more modern, but having said that they were perfectly clean and well maintained. I enjoyed my stay at the Marine Court and would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone. .

Room Tip: A view out of the front of the hotel is preferable as there is nothing to look at from the side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

When we got there we went to the restaurant, and got the menu. We order but it took about 30minutes service. The food came and my mum and dad got a dinner. They was only one portion of veg between 2, we have to ask for more. The food was nice and it tasted lovely. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jencodown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
10.0 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
8.4 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#11 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Property: Marine Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing