We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Lovely Hotel on the harbour front. We had an upgrade to a sea view room. The room was well kept with good quality bedding and furnishings. I would recommend the breakfast. There was an exellent selection of cold food on the buffet and the hot food was cooked to order.
Staff were friendly and very helpful without being intrusive.
We stayed over the weekend and as the hotel is on the main sea road we found it to be noisy with taxis and people standing around after the pub/club had closed. There was also a function under our room which although was muffled the noise still penetrated through to the room until around 1pm. Perhaps if we had not have had the upgrade it would have been quieter. I would have then rated the hotel as exellent

Room Tip: Any room not sea facing if you prefer quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thanks Spendee, for taking the time to record your positive feedback on Trip. The team are delighted you found our services exceeded your expectations. Indeed our Breakfast has vastly improved in the last year. We are very aware that it is the final dining experience the guest will have. It is also great to hear that you were treated with the utmost courtesy at all times during your stay.
We are sorry that you experienced adverse noise, unfortunately as a town centre location it is not always possible to ensure that you will not suffer a little disturbance at the week-ends. We will look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    154
    87
    37
    24
See reviews for
99
192
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crumlin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I organised this trip for my sisters Hen Party- their deal was amazing and by far the cheapest and Bangor is so handy due to great train links.

We had seen some mixed reviews on the Hotel and its deals, But there was 13 of us ranging in age from 29-60 and we had an amazing time, Cocktails, Dinner, Dancing and lovely Clean rooms. Breakfast was fantastic too- the bacon was so thick and tasty.

All in all Myself and every member of the party would go back this weekend and also recommend it to anybody.

The hotel had another Hen party, a Wedding and a large Christmas Do on, so it was really quite busy but the staff were helpful, witty, funny and friendly without being too over the top. Loved it!!!

My mum also left her phone charger in the room after check-out and when I phoned the receptionist (Laura) was so helpful and offered to pop it in the post for us.

The Hotel may look a bit dated in some areas but it is very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thanks Colstep, for taking the time to post your review. As I had replied to the previous reviewer we have established the hotel as a "Must Experience" destination for Hen celebrations. We are delighted that you found the whole experience was well worth the trip to Bangor. The team here at the hotel appreciate the feedback as it makes the comittment from our team to exceed the expectation all worth while. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Myself and 12 of my friends and family stayed in the Marine Court on Saturday 24 November 2012, for my hen party. Having got the train to Bangor from Moira and Belfast we arrived at the Marine Court at 1.30pm, we decided to walk from the station to the Marine Court and leave the bags off as we could not check in until 3.00pm, however when we arrived we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who checked us all in and told us our rooms where ready and we could head on up, this was great as it gave us the opportunity to get rid of our bags.

The rooms were all clean, fresh and spacious, and as I don't drink tea or coffee the added extra of the hot chocolate meant my needs where catered for too and the beds are so comfy.

We had our cocktail class booked for 4.30pm and we had all looked forward to this for weeks and we where not disappointed, the bar man who was with us was a lovely young lad, who was very pleasant and joined in the banter and the craic with us without being too over the top or cocky. He took his time and didn't rush us out even though another party were booked for 5.30pm, he is a credit to the Marine Court.

We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday evening. The quality and choice of food was great, the portion sizes are excellent. The waiters again were all very pleasant and joined in the banter. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection to suit everyone and again the waiters were really pleasant making sure everyone was happy and had everything they needed.

The DJ in Nelsons Bar played tracks to suit all ages in our party and had 13 very happy ladies bopping on the floor all night.

We did not use the leisure facilities so I can't comment.

The hen party package is excellent value and I will be recommending it to others.

Your hotel is spotless and bright and fresh. And your staff our a credit to the hotel.

Thanks again for a very wonderful and memorable night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmoore06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks KarenMoore06, for posting your inspirational feedback on Trip. Having made the journey from Moira it is terrific to hear that your first impression of the hotel was one of superb hospitality and "Nothing is a problem attitude" from our Front of House Team. The cocktail training was carried out by Aaron, who has become the 'Tom Cruise' of our Bartenders he espouses all that is good from a member of staff and has been mention by previous reviewers.
I attended the service on Saturday evening in the Restaurant and enjoyed the 'craic' from all the 'Hens' I was also in attendance for breakfast on Sunday morning. All the team here at the Hotel deeply appreciate the time taken to record your comments. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were only booked in for one night (Sunday). On arival the lady receptionist was very friendly. We were placed on the 4th floor - first problem - the lift didnt work. I count myself fairly fit but carrying even small bags up 4 flights wasnt the most enjoyable experience! The lift was still broken when we left despite assurances it was going to be looked at just after we arrived.

The room was fine more modern in appearance than I expected given the dated look of reception- a wee bit worn in places but lovely and clean and perfectly pleasing. The downside was we were at the back of the hotel and there was a constant drone of heating boilers (I assume). Not enough to annoy us but I'm sure it would annoy others. The main lamp in the room didnt work but there was enough light from the wall lamps to do fine.

Leisure facilities were fine - gym is a bit rough in places but does the trick. Pool was lovely and clean and staff very friendly.

Breakfast was great - wouldnt pay full price for it but as it was included in the room price I cant fault it. Lovely!

Overall I would go back without hestitation, but try to avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel if possible.

Room Tip: Rear rooms will suffer from boiler noise - we were in room 411 for reference
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueface74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you Blueface74, for recording your comments on Trip in relation to your recent stay at the Marine. We understand your disappointment with regard to being unable to use our guest elevator. We offered porterage to all guests who required assistance to get to their rooms. As you will appreciate we could not legislate for guests being unable to use the facility.
We are delighted that you approved of your accommodation, the disturbance was the hotel extraction which should have been turned off during the evening.Our night team which to be associated with my apologies.Your kind feedback has been passed on to our Oceanis and Breakfast teams. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A last minute call to the Bangor Marine Court Hotel secured a booking for a table of four adults and two children on a busy Sunday afternoon. Offering a four course set menu at £18.95 it was hopefully going to be a sit back, relax and enjoy the afternoon, We were not disappointed, the staff could not be more attentive,organised, polite and friendly and with good humour. The starters, main course and desserts were excellent beyond all expectations and made for a great Sunday dinner with all the trimmings. Full marks to the management and staff for making our last minute booking a great Sunday day out, we will certainly be back for the Christmas festivities and hope to see you all then.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Bailington, for taking the time to post your review. The format of our Sunday lunch has vastly changed in respect of the Menu and style of food served and has been well received by our regular Sunday clientele. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the exceptional hospitality extended from our front of house team, their friendly relaxed demeanour compliments the ambiance of Nelson's. Look forward to welcoming the family circle back at the festive season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

At first glance the hotel looks O.K. Inside is quite dated with a small foyer and reception. There is nothing inviting about it but it's clean and the staff were efficient enough. To the room and this was when we contemplated just going home as the room just looked grubby. It looked like it should have dirty but it wasn't. It just needed a bit of a lift. Absolutely no character or warmth. It's about the worst reaction i've had upon first entering my room. We stayed as we'd already booked for dinner and decided to stick it out until then. The restaurant is on the first floor and had relaxed atmosphere. The staff were friendly enough but all seemed a bit too interested in the minor celeb (no idea who it was, someone from utv) in that night. The food was very tasty. And filling. This was the best thing about our stay. Breakfast was also pretty good so I am definately recommending the restaurant. If your after a relaxing weekend break by the way, this is not the hotel for you. The noise from the local nightlife would make it impossible to sleep, although we were warned of this while booking. It wasn't a problem though as we were there for a night out anyway. All in all, good food but not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Glenn D for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip. We are sorry that your initial reaction was of disappointment in relation to the fabric and furnishings. It is good to see that you afforded us an opportunity to demonstrate our friendly service and excellent food. As a town centre hotel it is not always possible to assure guests that they will not experience some adverse noise during the course of their stay. We do hope that the shortcomings will not deter you from future visits to our Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a fabulous hotel. The wedding went brilliantly and the staff were just so professional, helpful and accommodating. Our disabled room on the 3rd floor was clean and the bed was so comfortable. It was just what we needed after a hectic day. The view was not the best from our room but we did not need it to be. Breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice and it was delivered to our table freshly cooked and really tasty. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I look forward to returning there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dysondeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks Dysondeb, for posting your "Wedding Guest" review your feedback endorses what fellow reviewers repeatedly highlight that our hospitality is evident in all departments. We realise the importance of the breakfast offering it is very often the only dining experience the guest may have. Your comments have been passed on to our Housekeeping and Breakfast team. Look forward to having you back at the Marine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 3 in Holywood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
8.4 mi away
Stormont Hotel
Stormont Hotel
#12 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Property: Marine Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing