We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Do Better!!”
Review of Marine Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marine Court Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can Do Better!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. This is a very friendly hotel with clean and tidy rooms. The staff at reception are exceptionally nice and helpful. The breakfast experience is something else. Poor quality of food overcooked or undercooked. Poor service and attitude from some of the staff made breakfast unpleasant. It is unfortunate that the hotel's standards have dropped thanks to the dining area.

Room Tip: Be aware wedding guests can be very noisy during the night, all night. Check if there is a wedding o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you ScotlandTravelbug, for posting your recent review on Trip. Our teams at reception and Housekeeping, appreciate the comments in relation to the excellent housekeeping and hospitality experienced on your visit. It is regrettable that breakfast and service did not reflect the high standard you encountered around the rest of the hotel. Rest assured we have taken your views on board and the corrective action is taken to ensure that there is no repetition of the unfortunate aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    161
    96
    38
    24
See reviews for
103
197
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having stayed here before I looked forwards to the excellent service and food (particularly breakfast). Alas this was not the case. The first morning we were directed to a table in a walkway of tables seated side by side. I asked for a table where I could sit facing my wife and was told that was not possible as the table was not set up. The restaurant was over half empty but we were asked to wait whilst a table was prepared. After a few minutes we were directed to a tiny table behind a pillar. This was cramped and uninviting and not even made up properly. The side plates and knives were missing and the curled butter had been used by a separate diner. Unlike his name the waiters attitude was not sunny; he moaned that there was little room for the tea and coffee. We tried in vain to cut the toast but it was like rubber (not fresh at all) Perhaps if he had directed us to one of the many empty 4 seated tables adjacent to us there would have been more room. The next day was worse, my wife decided that she couldn't face breakfast as she was so disappointed; another small table and the breakfast was appalling, rubber toast; bacon left so long it had the consistancy of wood; sausages cooked on the outside but undercooked inside. I never knew you could ruin soda bread but it was cooked on outside and mush inside. I took the opportunity to talk to reception (very nice) and Manager. Next day was as it should have been; as we had experienced on our previous visits. Sadly standards fell away over the next two days with poorly prepared food and missing cutlery. I noted that there was a policy to sit couples in the smaller tables (two seats) and business people were given 4 seater tables even if dining alone. The dining room was never busy so this was quite unexcusable. The impression was that the staff were just too lazy to make the effort. A shame really, as we decided that standards had dropped so low we wouldn't eat in the restaurant for dinner. It used to be excellent but so did the breakfast. I wonder how many people ate elsewhere after the mediocre breakfast.
The room was nice and well cleaned. The TV was ancient but did work after a fashion; we assumed poor reception in the Bangor area.
Reception staff were very pleasant and although thy could be busy I found them both attentive and efficient.
Overall the hotel is a little old and in some ways tired but it has a certain charm.
Please note this is a wedding hotel so can be very roudy at night.
The breakfast was included in the room rate; a pity as I would have prefered to dine elsewhere.
This is a hotel that is cutting costs as apparent by the single reception person but the service and food quality in the restaurant will effectively cut the number of return visits to a once wonderful hotel experience.
A once great hotel: Now a tired mediocre hotel certainly not 3 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you PSBGlasgow, for taking the time to post your comprehensive feedback. I'm somewhat bewildered by your comments in relation to our breakfast service as it was noted on the guest comment card that you had concerns after the first day with regard to the seating arrangements. I'm aware that we endeavoured to facilitate your request on subsequent mornings. As you will note our breakfast consistently recieves high praise from fellow reviewers. Breakfast Chef Paul has cooked for the past seventeen years and we have worked tirelessly at the front of house to improve. It is disappointing to learn that the progress is not evident by your comments. As a previous guest I do hope you will afford us a further opportunity to restore your confidence in our ability to deliver on the high standards you have become accustomed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlerock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

our daughter got married on sat 1st september and i have to say it was outstanding
the staff at this hotel are brilliant.reception,housekeeping breakfast staff,bar staff well versed on looking after the customer. it may say 3 star on the door but we definately found 4 star quality. i will be back and my family will be back. thank you for making such a special day for daughter and her new huband

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beallen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks beallen123 for your "Wedding Delight" review your appreciation is valued and most welcome. I know I speak on behalf of all the team here at the hotel to say it was a privilege to be a part of your daughters special day. As you are aware it takes a team effort to deliver on the expectation of all the guests that attended on the day. We have always taken the view that it is better to be a very good 3 star than a very average 4 star! we are constantly reminded that our hospitality is evident from breakfast to dinner. We look forward to having the family circle back in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here are a good size and clean and tidy. They have everything you need. The nightclub downstairs is a bit of a dive and it can be quite boisterous outside as pubs and clubs are in abundance all Around. Breakfast was ok bit thrown together but edible and warm. It is in a great location though and depends what you are looking for in a hotel

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thanks GrahamBD80 for taking the time to record your feedback on Trip. We appreciate your candid view on what we have to offer here at the Hotel. As you have noted the town centre location of the Hotel can sometimes be disruptive. However most of our guests highlight the convenience for shopping and the Marina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here in August 2012 on business. Last minute booking due to the festival in Belfast nothing was available in the centre.

It's a really dark hotel doesn't have a modern clean feeling at all. The room was massive and the bed comfortable. The shower felt a little dirty with a couple cracked tiles. All the carpets are dark, there is a tired old furiniture on the landings.

Never visited the pool but the jacuzzi was out of order during my whole stay.

Breakfast was good and staff in that area very helpful. reception staff never said hello to me once during my stay when walking through the lobby except when i checked in and out. They were forever locked in their computer screens didn't feel very warm.

The area is nice and lots of places to eat. My wife and i went to a local Indian restaurant which was fantastic would highly recommend. Also the chinese takeaway just around the corner on the hill get massive portions for cheap prices.

Don't think i would have chose this hotel if i had a choice again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you kingsleyp, for taking the time to record your recent review on Trip. We have noted your feedback in relation to the fabric and furnishings around the hotel. However we are somewhat bewildered at your comments re a cracked tile makes the en-suite unclean, as numerous previous reviewers have repeatedly remarked the high standard of housekeeping around the hotel. We are sorry you where unable to use the jacuzzi due to repair work.
Our reception team have taken note of your comments re the hospitality at the desk.Once again your observations are at odds with your fellow reviewers who consistently remark that our reception team epitomise the ethos of a professional friendly, helpful demeanour at all times as you will appreciate this has to be balanced with the pratical running of a busy reception. We are delighted that you found the choice of restaurants around the hotel to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Marine Court Sept 10 and 11 as part of a "mini break" offer through NIR (included our train fare to Bangor from Belfast, 2 nights stay, one dinner for 2 and 2 breakfasts). Upon entering the hotel the poor receptionist was busy not only taking phone reservations but also checking in quests. Not a great first impression. Yes the hotel is "quaint" however I was put off by the stuffy, hot room over looking an ugly yard (room 212). I called requesting another room with a nicer view but was told none were available.The room was dated, TV was not very modern nor was the signal very good for BBC1. I could not believe the rooms were opened by a key not a security card and there was not security chain. Also, everytime we left hotel we had t hand in the key. My overall impression - I was in Fawlty Towers and awaited Basil Fawlty's arrival. We were stunned that face cloths were not a staple but rather a charge of 1.50 GBP each. We enquired about this and were told that NO hotel in Northern Ireland offered face cloths. We did eat at the hotel and can not fault the quality or quantity of food. We would not stay here again. Feel the hotel needs to step up their game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LREA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank LREA, for taking the time to record your value comments on Trip. I know I speak on behalf of all the team here at the hotel that we are genuinely sorry you did not enjoy your break here at the hotel. We have taken on board your constructive feedback in relation to the facecloth charge and they are now provided. Your room location alas' is something that is evident in most town centre hotels the vista cannot be assured. However as you can note from fellow reviewers our hospitality more than compensates for the flaw in the product mix. We are pleased that you enjoyed the dining experience. I can assure you that we will endeavour to address some of the shortcomings you highlighted on your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on business and found this to be a lovely hotel. The service was exceptional, room was slightly dated but huge with a super king bed and very clean. Did not eat dinner here but breakfast (Salty Dog round the corner - excellent food!) was scrumptious! Would definately return here, great hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank R A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bren428, General Manager at Marine Court Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thanks RAC , for taking the time to record you valued comments on Trip. We do our utmost to exceed the guest expectation as a corporate resident it is sometimes difficult to find the right blend that offers a first class friendly service, our housekeeping team will really value your "spotless clean" comment. Perhaps the next time you stay with us you will experience the cuisine that Nelson's has to offer. We would agree that the Saltly Dog is a fine alternative on our doorstep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
0.1 mi away
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,703 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
5.0 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Court Hotel

Property: Marine Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Quay Street, Bangor BT20 5ED, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Court Hotel is situated right in the heart of Bangor, Co. Down, just minutes from Belfast, overlooking the beautiful marina. We offer 51 spacious and tastefully decorated bedrooms, with excellent sea views and all the usual in-room amenities. You can enjoy a relaxing evening in Nelson’s Restaurant with our fresh, locally sourced food while enjoying the views over the bay. As a guest at the Marine Court Hotel, you are welcome to use our luxurious Health and Fitness Club, Oceanis at no extra cost. Private car parking and WiFi is available to all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marine Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Court Bangor
Hotel Marine Court
Marine Court Hotel Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing