We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food, Terrible Service. Will not be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor Food, Terrible Service. Will not be back.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Table was booked for 8.30pm. Arrived a little early to have a drink in the bar, which was fine. Probably sat down at the table at apx. 8.40pm.

Service was so slow that Starter arrived at 9.30pm and it seemed like an age in between courses. After having starter, main course, dessert and coffee, it was after midnight. I like a little time between courses to enjoy the wine and chat at the table, but this was ridiculous.

As for the food, my wife and I both had Goats cheese tart for starter - toppings were tasty enough, but the tart itself (base) was burnt and spoiled the whole course.

For main course I had the Lamb Rump, which was just warm enough (on the verge of sending back). My wife had the fish and chips which was served in a wire basket set on a wooden platter. Sounds great, but when the basket slides off the platter almost onto your lap when the waiter tries to set it down, it comes as a bit of a nasty surprise - Fish was also overcooked.

For dessert it was Sticky Toffee Pudding and Chocolate Pot. My wife's chocolate pot was nice, but my pudding was far from sticky, quite bland and I had not expected it to be served cold!

Overall a very disappointing experience from a restaurant which looked and seemed so promising. The dishes sounded fantastic, but I get the feeling that this place is just "batting above its average"

Toilets were not clean and ran out of drying paper half way through the evening, never to be replaced.

We will certainly not be back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gesture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    109
    55
    42
    25
See reviews for
100
179
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Table in the restaurant was booked for 8.30pm but yet we still hadn't received our starters at 9.20pm. Eating desert at 11pm is far too late. All in all a very poor evening - time between courses too long. Burnt pastry on the goats cheese tart and cold mushy peas with the haddock & chips. Toilets needed a clean and hand towel bin was over flowing. I don't mind paying for excellent food and service but I certainly didn't receive that this evening.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 88geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Been a few times before with ok experiences. Tonight started off ok, arrived 30 mins before time table booked, well received and had drink in lounge.

Then it went downhill.

If I have a table booked for 8.30 I do not expect to have to wait till 10.10 for my main course! Wasn't as if the place was overly busy, just very slow service. Starters were fine (overpriced in my opinion) my main course of lamb looked fine but whilst it was tender, was the most bland tasteless lamb I have ever experienced.

To be fair, the staff tried hard and were apologetic, but the problems are obviously in the kitchen/management area.

When we got our bill were were asked if it was ok - our reply was that a bit of discount for the wait would be good but were informed this was not possible. Whilst the service issues were acknowledged by the staff, no one was prepared to make any sort of gesture, even offer of free coffee would have been nice!

It is hard enough in Bangor to enjoy a good dining experience but this is one establishment we are unlikely to frequent again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We found this a relaxing place to spend time and eat. Stayed a few nights enjoyed the atmosphere Food and drink. Locals in for breakfast brought interest and information about the area. Good location for exploring the area. Always a happy helpful staff behind bar and in the restaurant. The accommodation was good.

Room Tip: Harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Beggars belief how they have managed to keep their prices so high for so long. Yet another shocking meal here last month that has signed, sealed and delivered our last ever attempt at getting something enjoyable here. The menu is just trying to be too clever now that Derek Creagh has gone. Soooo expensive for what you get. A fish and chip choice was served in a fryer basket, with no plate. A pint of Guinness took forever to arrive, despite them feeling the need to explain to me (a seasoned Guinness drinker) that the keg needed changing and it'd be a while. Service was plain and simply not there. This would be our last trip and they've had their last chance. Simply too expensive and trying to be too clever with their food. Shame, as the choice in the town s limited anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank postcode70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just recently had meal for my mums 70th...food was great and reasonably priced. The hotel was buzzing and had a great atmosphere.
Great to see a local private owned hotel thriving.
In terms of improving this already great experience put additional bar staff on as they were so busy and drinks were delayed. However this should not put anyone off!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff, food, drink, atmosphere and location are absolutely brilliant and, excellent value for money.

Each and every one of the staff was friendly, courteous, attentive and efficient and, although a cliche, nothing was too much trouble. They all seemed "senior".....almost management like and very helpful.

The restaurant food was delicious and, the "Ulster Fry" breakfasts, set us up for the day.

The bar was lively and the barmen made fantastic cocktails.

The location was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms on front have a brilliant sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
2.9 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.1 mi away
Marine Court Hotel
Marine Court Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bangor
551 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,730 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
Loughshore Hotel
Loughshore Hotel
#2 of 6 in Carrickfergus
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro

Property: The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro
Address: 10-12 Seacliff Road, Bangor BT20 5EY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bangor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old Victorian townhouse that’s been beautifully transformed into a stunning boutique hotel overlooking Bangor’s Marina and the Irish Sea. A perfect retreat from everyday hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, gorgeous rooms and great food will make your stay a memorable one. Committed to fine local produce, our highly skilled, award winning chefs, offer a real alternative to Belfast’s restaurants. Whether you’re visiting North Down’s attractions or want a memorable Bangor night out – The Salty Dog offers accessible, nostalgic food in a relaxed setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Salty Dog Hotel And Bistro
The Salty Dog Hotel & Bistro Bangor, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing